All teen and kid member reviews for Because of Winn-Dixie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byaddie2011 January 21, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMisty waterfall January 4, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

its a dog book

I LOVE DOG BOOKS. Give me a book with a dog in it and i will probaly read it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written byEricadinardo November 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This Amazing book ....

This was an amazing book it tells the story of a girl by the name of Opal who has really no one to talk to but when Winn-Dixie comes into her life she starts to make friends and it was all because of Winn-Dixie.At the end of the book she says to her self she doesnt care about her mom as much as she did I loved that I will never forget Winn-Dixie and how good this book was .They say hell and retard and they do some things that might distribute others but if you 10+ you will love this book and it makes you think about life .

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byGertie1999 May 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Wonderful, Wonderful, book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a wonderful, good written, Book. I Recommend it to anyone. It is a very good story. Plus, the movie was very good to. I love this book. I'm sure many people after reading this book will think differently of the Winn Dixie stores

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old November 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

some language

theres an instant of H--L and R------d theres some drinking and mentions of going to jail

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old Written byIloveWinnDixie101 January 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

For any age 8 and up

I loved the book "Because of Winn-Dixie". It is a amazing book, about this one girl who finds true friends that become family, and finds a amazing dog that changes her whole life. It really taught me a lot of things, like trust and friendship. It also may help you too.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bynad0728 May 19, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great for all age about 8.

i love it because it a very good book you should read it to your class one day!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byTheBookWorm101 January 27, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very, very good book!

I love this book! I was really sad when I was done reading it. It's about a girl who finds a dog in the supermarket and names him Winn-Dixie. He helps her find alot of friends but theres a whole other point to the story. You have to read it!

What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byarmenia08 August 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

th coolest book i read this summer!

i like this book its a real good book i read it in the summer its cool!!!!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 March 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Quite Good

I like this book a lot. The characters are very likable and believable. However, I do think this book is quite over-hyped. That's not to say it is a bad story, but it is not one of the best books ever or the most poignant book ever or anything like that. I would definitely recommend it.

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmericangirlforever August 23, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great book!

This book rocks I disagree with bubble bath its not poop. there is nothing wrong with it with all Defiantly recommend it 5 out of 5

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old Written bybigsistersrule February 9, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Best book ever!!!!!!

It was 1 of my favorite books. Really emotional, I almost cried.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNoseStuckInABook April 14, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A great book to share with a tween.

I haven't read this book for a while, but I remember it's a sweet read and Opal's a great character.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written byangel6757 March 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

all time favorite book....

when i was 8 this was my all time favorite book!

Teen, 15 years old Written bymightymouse_66 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

All In All A Great Book!

This is a heart warming tale of a girl and the dog she loves. I would recomend
this book to anyone who loves animals.

Teen, 15 years old Written byjoemama83b April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bysunflowerscatsbooks April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I LOVED THIS!!!!!!

This was a great book! I loved it! It is great for people of all ages! I so recommend this book with a great message about friendship.

Teen, 14 years old Written byDappled_Dag April 5, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old December 16, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

love this book

it was a really great book! my 3rd grade teacher read it to our class last year and we all loved it. it an amazing book and i bet you will just love it. it has some "hell" in it but i dont really think it will be that big of a problom

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 2, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

j,j,j

What other families should know
Educational value

Pages