All teen and kid member reviews for Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 6 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bysingingsuperstar2120 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hmm... A bit boring

This book is a guide to all of the magical creatures to Harry Potter's world. J.K. Rowling writes this book under the pen name Newt Scamander or something like that. I personally think this book is pointless. It is apparantly a very important book in Harry's world, as it is a required text book for Hogwarts students and a good book to have around the house (for wizarding familys). But, it is very short and does not give enough information. Also, it does not give information that is vital to the series, such as wether or not wizards and part humans can cross breed, as in elves and humans and giants and humans. Additional info that would be good in this book is wether or not Crookshanks is part kneazle, etc. This book basically has information you could find out from reading the series, and it is so useless I find it just a marketing scheme for complete Harry Potter nuts.

Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A fun, interesting book for fans of Harry Potter.

Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophile April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

MUST-READ

This is a must-read for all Harry Potter fans. It is fun to learn about the different creatures and what odd (and often funny) habits they have. Remarks from Harry, Ron, and Hermione keep you laughing through the book. Highly recommend to all ages.

Kid, 10 years old Written bySambobfredjoe April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byhagrids#1fan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

it was sweet

because i am so impatient in waiting for harry potter and the deathly hallows and i re read the series 4 times i needed someting to read and quidditch through the ages bye something whisp aka jk rowling and this book, fantastic beasts and where to find them was a great choice so now im off to read harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban again!!! hagrid rules!

Kid, 12 years old Written bySumBO May 11, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great For KIDS!

This is a Cute Funny book, Explaining all the Fictional Animal Characters in Harry Potter, And is Great for Kids!

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old Written bykoolkat010 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byXDMorsemordreXD December 29, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun Read!

A great books which further details J.K Rowling's marvelous universe!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old July 21, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Educational is a no, But Awesomeness is a go.

I don't really know if it's "Educational". It wants you to think it is, so never belive it. But that doesn't mean it's not a AWESOME book. It is a really great book. Really. I've read it a TON of times.Trust me :)

Kid, 12 years old Written bylivethinkdream February 17, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good book for Harry Potter Lovers

This is a great book for anybody who loves Harry Potter and wants to find out more about the magical creatures in Harry's world. It has funny little notes from Harry, Ron and Hermione commenting on the creatures which are funny to read. I'd say for ages 7 up as there are no major concerns in the book.