All parent member reviews for Looking for Alaska

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 59 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2 year old Written byDrew77766 November 29, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The Book to start your own journey

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written byJulianne.Friedman April 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great book, nothing that should worry parents though.

One good book! Read it. It sends a message and many kids don't enjoy reading. Something about drugs sex and alcohol intrigues teens to read more. It's a very good book and I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 12. Kids already know what those things are by then reading a book is not going to want them to go out there and try it, even though most kids at the age of 12 have drank alcohol before and some have even tried drugs. Books and movies are not something that influence kids or teens to do these things. Its simply curiosity and nothing more. Parents should simply not worry about what kids and teens decide to read.

Parent of a 19 year old Written bydarkfang911 March 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love love love this book

I personally loved this book when it came out. It is extremely interesting and provocative entertaining!!

Parent of a 2 year old Written bychremotic October 30, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate Scene

There is an inappropriate scene where a girl gives a guy a bj. Very graphic.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 14 year old Written byLena M February 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Stop mollycoddling.

This book has plenty of educational points and is therefore being used in English classes across America. If you took the time to read the Author's blog post on the subject of sexual references in his novel, you would realise he wrote 'certain' scenes not to be crude or controversial, but to explore teenage awkwardness and possibly also peer pressure. Okay, the book isn't suitable for everyone, but mainly because they wouldn't understand the metaphors and philosophical undertones of this book. I would rather have my kids read a book I personally know and love rather than google it and get the wrong ideas. If you are too protective, your kids will just go out and find this stuff for themselves anyway.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byJess02 April 20, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sure the book has sex,drugs,and language. But it goes through a teens life. What do you think most teens are doing today? Plus, just because the book has some explict content,doesn't mean its a terrible book. I have read this book, and so has my mom and we both enjoyed it! The book gives a postive messgae at the end. Besides most kids who are 13+ already know everything that's in that book. It's not like they've never heard those words before in school or else where.

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byrunchie July 5, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

a great story for teenagers!

I ABSOLUTELY loved the book!!!! It was sooooo good! Great job John Green!!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 9 year old Written byaksunmama September 21, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Wish I would would have read this book when I was 15.

Loved this book. Good book to bring up issues about depression which is not spoken about often enough in the stressful teen-world.
Also, shows life in a realistic manner - not everyone is the popular kid. There are lots of challanges to being a teen. Loved that the kids had to ask a friend about sex...good for kids to understand that you should never be embarrased to ask!

What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bybshay29 April 27, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Remarkable

i have read this book 3 times in the past year, i cant stop it just sucks you in from page one!! the first time i read Looking For Alaska, i was happy and sad at the same time and i hoped the characters would find what they were looking for. (being discreet in case you havent read it yet) this is by far my favorite book in the world and i would like to thank John Green for writing it and giving the world something to think about upon finishing it. some parts i wish i could go and erase but actually those are the parts that make the story!! i seriously hope someone considers making this into a movie, but not the type of movie where they cut half the actual book out but a movie where they use the book as the script!!

Parent of a 3 year old Written byredheadheroines December 10, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Unsettling, Yet Ultimately Rewarding

Looking for Alaska is a coming-of-age novel that does not condescend to the reader, but rather, forces them to think critically about life, death, friendship, and conforming to social norms. However, the content itself is a bit unsettling for a teen novel, even if it does serve to prove a great point.
- Alyssa of Redhead Heroines

What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byalexjoy November 10, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

perfect

While this book does include references to drinking, sex, smoking, marijuana, reckless behavior, and obscene language, you should read it if you are considering not allowing your child to. Children today are experiencing and learning about things very early, so by not allowing your child to read this book you are not shielding them from anything. In all honesty i believe that by parents being naive, and hoping their kids do not already know about the topics discussed in this book, you are hurting your child. the lessons that are portrayed in this book concerning various topics are excellent, and could be very beneficial to SOME decisions they will shortly be making, or already have made. while some topics like smoking, and drinking are not heavily reinforced with consequences this simply means that you should talk to your child about these issues. However, even with smoking and drinking consequences are mentioned, but they are not done so in an up front way. so some children may not catch on. the real issue being this particular reading material is great despite controversial topics that are in the novel.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 16 year old Written byObiMomKenobi February 9, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good for older teens, with parental guidance.

(While I liked this book, I would recommend reading it before you give it to your older teenager. It has content that you will possibly want to discuss with them.)
John Green has portrayed the characters exactly as you would expect them to behave without parental supervision. Drinking, smoking, extreme language and casual sex are a part of these kids lives. There is a darkness in the way they have to flounder through the events that happen to them... to somehow survive the situations thrust upon them. I have been where these kids are... exactly. And John Green tells the TRUTH in how the characters grow through their grief. My biggest concern with teens reading this book, is that they will want to BE Alaska... not realizing that her 'coolness' is also a result of what makes her so screwed up. I do, however, think that the mature, older teen can definitely read critically, and see through this. I would also be concerned for teens prone to depression... this could feed that feeling. This I know from experience. All in all... wonderful book for older readers!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFreet December 21, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Yet another excellent novel by John Green. I have finished all his books and have yet to regret picking one up.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byBook_advocate September 15, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The perfect book for mature minds

I read this book as it was banned from our school and after reading it and heavily avaluating it I fought to put it back onto the selves of MCHS. I loved this book with every inch of my soul and I would recremend it at the top of anyones list.

What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 16 year old Written byMissK September 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

An honest connection for teens

This is one of those books that has all the makings to interest kids/students...the very things that we might deem inappropriate...but through the questionable content, teens will be able to connect to the characters. We'd all like to think our teens are sheltered and above the peer pressure situations, but those of us who live in the real world know that, by the time they graduate high school, most kids will have been exposed to alcohol, drugs, and even sex. Even those kids who aren't taking part. This book provides honest connections in how to cope, as well providing an outlet for some of the darker thoughts that teens are often too nervous to share. Overall, I recommend it to my upperclassmen on a regular basis.

What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byamicia September 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

this book is really good. i am 13 and i read this book when i was 12. i dont see why people think it is so inappropriate. in the book it deels with many issues that teens face daily and while they are "dark" and "inappropriate" the book teaches very good lessons and is very realtable.

What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygggggg123 April 20, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Interesting and entertaining, despite how deep it can be.

I thought this was a beautifully written book. It is about Miles, a sixteen year old who goes in search of something new and different to help bring him out of himself, a thing which he dubs, "The Great Perhaps." The whole story is centered around his stay at the new boarding school he attends, the friends he meets, the new experiences he has, and the things he learns about life and tragedy and happiness and dealing wit sorrow.

I know it may sound too deep or sentimental or corny, but really, it's not. I read it just for fun, because I liked the picture on the cover, and I found it interesting and hard to put down. It tells all this sentimental stuff in a very non-sentimental, engaging, low key, and funny way.

Parent Written bySha_nay_nay_ September 3, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Did they find Alaska

I didn't read tha book but I like that cop show that's in Alaska so I bought it from tha thrift shop.WUT WUT

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Adult Written bysadmom April 23, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

WATCH OUT!

Holy cow. Be aware this book is available in many MIDDLE SCHOOLS, even though it contains a first-person account of oral sex as well as descriptions of porn film scenes, not to mention the f word, spelled out in all its glory, over and over and over...

What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byrealistic March 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best book! educational!

Best book, My daughter recommended this to me, (she was 15 at the time). we share our passion for for this book together! this book teaches/inspires /helps you to live with a question mark, and not worry!

Pages