All teen and kid member reviews for Street Love

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 7 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bykramebla000 May 31, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old Written bylil_juicy January 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older kids, but lil kids put that book down..( u wouldn't understand it)

This book isn't bad, but its a bit confusing, becuase of the way it was set-up. Its kinda like romeo and juliet but the African American Version. Of course Walter Dean Myers, writes good African Americans books and it wasn't the best.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byhailzzz101 September 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

OK book.

it was an ok book. i read it last year and thought it was good at some points and bad at others. it had some content that isnt appropriate for younger kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNANAAxx3 October 21, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

a romeo juliet love story

its a gud book....gud for older kids

Teen, 15 years old Written by§TÃNdByM£ April 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

i t hink the book is very good.specially is your child is goin thru deficult relationship with her boyfriend.the book will help your child understand that dating is not easy.it takes time.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bymz. kelly May 7, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

to bad for amber

im sad because i can not find it any where :- (

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byCallieR August 14, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A fair book

I enjoyed street love however it was not an easy read. I am not an exceptional reader and read at my age level. I would recommend this book to teens and preteens, but not to younger kids. Though the book is short it is not an easy read. It's also very different from Walter dean Meyers other titles so even if you enjoyed them you are not gaurunteed to like this.

Kid, 9 years old March 28, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

AYYYYY read dis desciption right hur

Yo dawgs and dawgies ima tell you bout' dis book right herre. It bout my boy harry potter and his epicicomos journeyifacation to the mean streets of Harlem werre he met dis gyurl named lashondaqueesha.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking