All member reviews for The 39 Clues Series

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Exciting mystery, heavily merchandised.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 53 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old Written byamyrosegal October 29, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

REALLY GOOD

This is actually more educational than you might think. And it shows anyone can do anyothing! It is very violent though.....

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byh8rPatrol December 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old Written byjayman1004 November 26, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

GREAT!!!

Lots of consumerism, but one of the best series I've ever read.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byLucille01 June 8, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great adventure/mystery series for kids

I have read books 1-3,5, 8 & 10 with my 8 year old son. Yes they are far fetched and tempt kids to buy the cards, but otherwise they are great. I emphatically disagree with the previous reviewer's critique of the plot. They are written for children, not adults! The plot is just fine for that age and even slightly over my son's head on rare occasions. I have enjoyed them as much as he has and highly recommend them. The only reservation I have is the attempted and real violence written about. It isn't descriptive or repeatable but it may be disturbing for some children to read about someone's parents being dead in a fire or their grandmother dying and attending the funeral. Just know your child and use this as a teachable moment if needed.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old Written byjojopuffball January 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

book

it is pretty good even though i havent read it yet!

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byironman2 May 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Violent for 8

Great series for 9 year olds but some content not for kids

Educator and Parent of a 11 year old Written byRunesong February 15, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Proceed with Caution!

Book 1 only: Overall, this IS an exciting, fast paced, secret agent/action-thriller type story written on a middle school reading level with a little educational material thrown in as the main characters race through museums, historical sites, & exotic locals around the world. However, in addition to the less realistic (& less detailed) fighting & general mayhem, there are several dramatic incidents of over-the-top, intentionally shocking violence that may be cause for more than a little concern.
The first takes place while Dan & Amy are under attack by would-be kidnappers in ski masks, both physically & at gun point. Amy defends herself & neutralizes the gun threat using martial arts, but Dan ultimately ends the attack by threatening to set their attackers on fire with gasoline & a lighter. On the positive side, another teen (Amy's new boyfriend) is considerably disturbed by this incident & there is some brief discussion about how a kid could even think of lighting another human being on fire. It is unclear, even to Dan, whether he would have actually been able to follow through on the threat or not.
The next area of concern is when the kids, unknowingly & though no fault of their own, deliver the wrong ransom to the kidnappers who are now holding their family & friends hostage. The kidnappers retaliate immediately & without discussion by shooting, though not killing, one of the more likeable hostages & sending a video of the incident to Dan & Amy. The cold, matter-of-fact way this is done forcibly induces feelings of helplessness & loss of control over the reader as well as the main characters. On a positive note, the reactions of the other characters, again, provide a sharp, humanistic contrast to the shear brutality of the incident & do a fairly good job of demonstrating critical thinking skills when they evaluate their circumstances & come up with logical approaches & solutions. Later on, the hostages are cruelly forced to remove the bullet themselves, which has been left “to fester” in the victim’s wound further illustrating the callousness of their kidnappers. This task, which falls primarily to the youngest member of the group, proves to be a difficult one & is somewhat gruesomely detailed.
At the end of this book, a lady dies by lethal injection in the arms of the children which brings at least one of them to their emotional brink as the “reality” of the situation & the mounting death toll begin to sink in.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old Written by*rOxTaRr4eVeR* July 1, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good series, good stuff alongside

I think this is a really good series for children (not too young though). One of my favorite things is that each book (and its cards) host some kind of intriguing puzzle for the kids to figure out-this is great for puzzle skills and is fun to do with some friends, too. Each book also focuses on some kind of geographical/historical theme which goes really in depth and even I've learned quite a bit from these books! They are fast, fun and short, making them ideal for kids who don't like to read lots. Then, there's the website, which kids will love-but you may want to supervise them as they could end up with some negative influences (things like lock picking, theft, and being too nosy). Overall, good for children who are older and more responsivbe.

What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 7 years old October 11, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

inappropriate content for children

Into the Guantlet book number 10 is the only book I've read and these books are now banded from our home. The most upsetting part: we bought this at a Scholastic Book Fair @ school!
The book talks about a Isabel, who "murdered" Amy and Dan's parents and that the girl tried to kill Amy and Dan and threatened them as well. HowDan wanted to beat her up and throw her in jail? This is all on page 10. On page 17 / 18 it discusses how Isabel was grateful that those brats were still alive and this way she could dream up crueler ways to kill them.
Page 268 discusses Isabel shooting Amy in the foot, then pointing the gun at her head, then Aistair's chest and then at Natalie's back. And this book is appropriate for grades 3 - 7???

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old Written byReader01 March 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a mystery, an adventure, and well-thought book

well-thought, well-written and thrilling. there is excitement on every page. There is some historic details. The whole idea is very unique, it is almost like a movie written on paper. Pure excitement and pure mystery.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old Written bydragonsrule March 8, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great lead to a great series

AWESOME!!! I totally loved this book, so did my 7 year-old sister! I have enjoyed the other books that are out, 'One False Note' and 'The Sword Thief'. I like how the author switches from book to book, it really keeps the story going and leaves you hanging, as you don't know what to expect from this new author. As the book is connected to a web site it is attracting to hesitant readers.

Kid, 10 years old Written bytwlightgrl January 4, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

really cool!

I think this book was great! I, was trying to figure out the clues. It was so good,I read it in a day!Its approprit as long as you can read!

Kid, 11 years old Written byIrina Carter January 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

cool

good books and love them

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byheykaygirl November 21, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

GREAT

I liked even though I'm a little old! It was a great and appropriate book!

Kid, 10 years old Written bydiary789 May 4, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

. Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

hi

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old Written bypie or pie March 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I GUESS ITS GOOD

ONE OF MY FREINDS LOVES 39 CLUES BOOKS I THINK I MIGHT LIKE THEM ALSO I DONT KNOW I HAVE NOT READ ANY OF THEM PS BY THE WAY I FOUND ALFRED KROPP BOOK 2 ITS GOOD OH AND ONE THING NOT TO SPOIL IT BUT MIKE ARNOLDS BACK!!!!!!!!!

Kid, 10 years old September 8, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great book

This is a great book. Though lots of violence is involved, Amy and Dan always find a smart way through it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byb0bthesheep123 March 2, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for kids with a sense of mystery

This is one of the best books I gave ever read, and I have read a lot of books. My friends and i sit on he bus discussing clues, looking at the trading cards they come with trying to find every little secret and clue we can.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old Written by♥UndeadRainbows♥™ September 28, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

pointless

Two words: Really. Boring. So I was able to pick out ANY book at Border's the other day, and I chose this one of course. I get home, climb into bed, open the book, and I'm content and pleased. Until I opened this book. It's way TOO overpriced for it's content and is too hard to follow. Waste of twenty dollars. Sorry dad.

Kid, 9 years old Written bynathant March 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great new series!

This book had great writing and a superb plot, coming from a great author (Rick Riordan). The characters were very creative in the way they found clues. I really enjoyed this book -- a must read!

Pages