All teen and kid member reviews for The Carrie Diaries

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bybarbiegirl825 March 23, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature "preteens"

BEST BOOK EVER! it is amazing. although the subject matter is a little older. You just need a mature teen

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bykayleearns May 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Chill, out, parents. Jeeeesh.

I'm fifteen years old, and I thought it was a good book. Come on parents, its not like your fifteen year old daughter, or thirteen or fourteen, doesn't know what pot, sex, and getting drunk means. They know a lot more than you think they know, and this isn't some book straight out of hell trying to corrupt your child.

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old Written byNatIsBest April 15, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all ages

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byKatherineLovesJake August 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AHHHHHMAZZZIIINNNGGG!!

PARENTS, SEX ISNT ANYTHING A TEN OR ELEVEN YR OLD DOESNT KNOW ABOUT.AND AT 13, IM NOT A VIRGIN. BOOKS LIKE THESE ARE A HUGE INFLUENCE ON KIDS AND TEENS. THEY REALLY HELP TELL THEM THAT SEX ISNT BAD, BUT IT ISNT SAFE AND IT HAS CONSEQUENCES. GREAT BOOK!

What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byI love James May 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

GOOD 4 TEENS

i love it ANd it gives KIDS AND IT GIVES VERY GOOD MESSAGES 2 KIDS

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymelissab95 May 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBabyBri84 June 20, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very Important

Hmm it was wonderful, i read it 2ce in one day!!!
Anyway... This book is really not 4 kids. To much smoke and drug use. But thats really the only issue. People have sex( And watch porn), but reading about it in a book is not the best way to find out about what it is and how to do it. Carrie and the other teens rebel alot, which could influence younger kids. But otherwise i feel in love with this book. And i think if younger kids read about Homosexuality, they might experement with that. Which can be a good thing or a bad thing.

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byballetcorbyn May 21, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A great girly coming of age book. Carrie is very different from the tv show and movies; Sex&The City. A great beach read for any girl looking for a book about a girl figuring out what she wants to do in life

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bydressagehorse November 28, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate but fun

This book is a very fun read. It is fine for teenagers who are probably already experiencing the same things that Carrie does in high school at a younger age than her. Parents should keep younger readers away from this book, but older kids should be fine, even with all the drinking and smoking. And it's a really good book.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old Written byCynthiia September 17, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

katherine you're not a virgin?

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byharajukugirl November 22, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

OK I adored this book I completely agree with Katherine about the virginity issue.At thirteen I was most certainly not a virgin but I was popular and a perfectionist and no one knew and it never came back to bite me or whatever.But I would be a heck of a lot happier if I had waited for a WAY nicer guy.And theres a phobia about it.Dude read the book it rocks.

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 28, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Stop hating

We already know a lot more than you think so it's a YA book not for little kids. And sex is just sex we all going to do it. Carrie stays true to herself.

What other families should know
Great messages