All member reviews for You Don't Know Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Teen uses humor and fantasy to cope with abuse.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 40 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byte_quiero_mas April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

you just want to give the kid a hug!

that poor boy just broke my heart. he feels so desparetely alone in his world, and with the abusive parental figure in the house, he is just beat physically and almost mentally. but you have to give the kid respect for fighting back in his mind and is determined to not let that man break him!

Teen, 14 years old Written byla_gigglez=] April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byayze April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Read in long ago

I read this book when I was in seventh grade! I never really read anything but, after i started this book i couldn't put it down!!
I have been trying to check one out from a local library but, it's always off the shelf. So i am going to go to the next step. I'm going to buy it so, I can read it again!

Kid, 11 years old Written byyummy yummmy cu... May 7, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

only read half of it but okay so far

the book was okay....

most of it is confusing as its aimed for 13+.

all my family(who are 13+) want to read it and guess wat they loved it .
and my mum felt so sorry for "john" after the 1st chapter!!!!!

overall that i have read its quiet boring not recormended for under 12!!!

Teen, 14 years old Written bysamarahwolf April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

my fav. book im reading it for the 3rd time

i absolutley love this book its amazing
u should read it too im 14 and i im in love with this book and all my fredns have borrowed it from me to read it even 1 of my teachers

Teen, 14 years old Written bykidreviewer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An interesting story

I thought this was a very good and interesting book. The main character had many interesting and funny descriptions of what went on around him, like his tuba that was really a frog pretending to be a musical instrument. It was a little violent though, with John's father beating him when his mother wasn't around.

Teen, 16 years old Written byjustshootme April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bynothingcool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

read this ASAP

I enjoyed this book!
I enjoyed it!
This one made me focus out of the normal world and into the mind of the writer!

Kid, 12 years old Written bybookandmovienerd April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old Written byxoxileanaxox May 15, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

interesting

this book was interesting. but it wasnt the best book. i give it a 6 or 7

Teen, 14 years old Written byHawk11404 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I teenagers must read!

This was a great book that i think any teenager would enjoy. It is about a boy named John who deals with problems at school, with girls, friends, and his mom's mean boyfriend who hits John constantly.

Teen, 14 years old Written byiishalesana January 26, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

'i'm in love with this book.'

i got this book a long time ago-i read it over and over again. i cried. such a beautiful book.

Teen, 14 years old Written bycamisado101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

finnished 1/2 the book at borders

see title. you don't know me=best book i've read in a long time.

Teen, 15 years old Written byrobotssss April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the best books I've ever read!

I love this book! John is one of the most real character's in a book I've ever read (and I read a lot...). Excellent writing.
Witty and sad in places: I give it 5 stars *****

Adult Written bywoahh nellyyy April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

mmm yes.

this book is absolutely amazing when you feel your life is down. this stuff literally happens all the time, and it's hard to believe. it's extremely compelling for any age, although alittle inappropriate for kids under 12. i've read this book about 8 times, and it never gets old. :)

Teen, 17 years old Written bybandgeek August 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

fine for tweens

i didnt think it was very good. i thought it was kinda boring and confusing because of the way he would say things.

Teen, 17 years old Written byCandyholic October 15, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Loved it

I like the fact that this book shows just how horrible the life of a child who is being abused is. It's very emotional for me, I was abused as a child and could really connect with John.

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMelanie_nicole April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

=]

Amazing book. loved it, if you like a book abuot teenagers lives that people seem to ignore its a perfect book for you.

Teen, 13 years old Written byxpoisonedxlovex April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old Written byalex and barry April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

horrible!!!!!!!

horrible book (i think its a book)

Pages