Books Like the Hunger Games

You've read the Hunger Games trilogy and seen the movies. Now what? We've gathered our favorite picks of other dystopian novels: books that imagine a not-so-rosy future under a menacing and oppressive regime, where teens and other folks must rely on their wits, courage, and strong friendships to survive. You can also check out our science fiction, fantasy, and thriller recommendation lists to find even more choices for kids, tweens, and teens.

Filter by:
The City of Ember Poster Image
BOOK

The City of Ember

age 8+

Part fantasy, part mystery, part treasure hunt.

By: Jeanne DuPrau (2004)
The Fog Diver Poster Image
BOOK

The Fog Diver

age 10+

Futuristic dystopian novel has clever characters, suspense.

By: Joel Ross (2015)
The Last Wild Poster Image
BOOK

The Last Wild

age 10+

Brave kids, animals team up in funny, scary, sweet sci-fi.

By: Piers Torday (2014)
The Search for WondLa, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

The Search for WondLa, Book 1

age 10+

Artwork, great heroine elevate futuristic fantasy.

By: Tony DiTerlizzi (2010)
The Unwanteds, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

The Unwanteds, Book 1

age 10+

Magical fantasy has peril, battles, positive messages.

By: Lisa McMann (2011)
Uglies: Uglies Quartet, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Uglies: Uglies Quartet, Book 1

age 11+

Thoughtful sci-fi about the price of beauty.

By: Scott Westerfeld (2006)
Under the Empyrean Sky: The Heartland Trilogy, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Under the Empyrean Sky: The Heartland Trilogy, Book 1

age 11+

Thought-provoking, dystopian eco-adventure great for boys.

By: Chuck Wendig (2013)
The Always War Poster Image
BOOK

The Always War

age 12+

Fast-paced dystopian quest for truth.

Ender's Game Poster Image
BOOK

Ender's Game

age 12+

Sci-fi classic has racist language, violence, adult themes.

By: Orson Scott Card (2005)
The Giver: The Graphic Novel Poster Image
BOOK

The Giver: The Graphic Novel

age 12+

Dazzling graphic adaptation captures power of original.

By: Lois Lowry (2019)
Impostors Poster Image
BOOK

Impostors

age 12+

All action and cool tech in Uglies Quartet spin-off.

By: Scott Westerfeld (2018)
Legend, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Legend, Book 1

age 12+

Stylish dystopian thriller in a not-so-future Los Angeles.

By: Marie Lu (2011)
Rook Poster Image
BOOK

Rook

age 12+

Dynamite heroine in romantic dystopian-future swashbuckler.

By: Sharon Cameron (2015)
Seafire, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Seafire, Book 1

age 12+

Swashbuckling all-girl crew fuels thrilling dystopian tale.

By: Natalie C. Parker (2018)
Skyhunter Poster Image
BOOK

Skyhunter

age 12+

Silent warrior fights supersoldiers in exciting sci-fi.

By: Marie Lu (2020)
The Testing, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

The Testing, Book 1

age 12+

Thoughtful dystopian tale questions winning at all costs.

By: Joelle Charbonneau (2013)
Time Zero Poster Image
BOOK

Time Zero

age 12+

Girls struggle against extremism in taut sci-fi thriller.

By: Carolyn Cohagan (2016)
Unison Spark Poster Image
BOOK

Unison Spark

age 12+

Sci-fi thriller puts a futuristic spin on social networking.

By: Andy Marino (2011)
Across a Star-Swept Sea Poster Image
BOOK

Across a Star-Swept Sea

age 13+

Exciting, complex dystopian spy romance based on a classic.

By: Diana Peterfreund (2013)
All Our Yesterdays: Cassandra Chronicles, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

All Our Yesterdays: Cassandra Chronicles, Book 1

age 13+

Captivating sci-fi tackles time travel, politics, romance.

By: Cristin Terrill (2013)