All parent member reviews for Amazing Grace

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bysugarpuff March 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good family movie, great for discussion and explanation.

I don't know how accurate the details are, but the message is clear. Any person who is passionate about a cause that makes this world a better place, can make a difference. Wilberforce was a man of convictions. He did not wait until he was middle aged to engage the world. He was serving in government at age 21. Most of our 21 year olds are playing video games.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bysashadew April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Loved it

It stirs your heart and makes you want to do something. It shows the world is not a bad place and everyone has a place and no one is unknown. Any chance you get, you should watch it. Good for the whole family and it shows of how everyone has a heart and everyone is loved by God and everyone is equal in sight.

Adult Written bySarah Grace August 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for teenagers and adults

Very good movie. One of the only movies out there that makes my brain think :) The average teenager might find it boring, but when I first saw it I liked it a lot.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymtadros April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

THANKED GOD

Amazing film i thank God for all the people who done it and GOD BLESS . it is a great filim to witness God's Amazing Love and Grace available to all.

Adult Written byGerard1 April 9, 2008
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

OK Alright

Not bad once was enough for me though. My Parent's grandfather and friends loved it though.

Adult Written byImagine Grace April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I cried

Shows what human being should be, respect all the lives. Great!

Adult Written byapavlic80 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byvwterry June 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Scenes describing the horrors of slavery were too intense for me, much less for children. Definitely misrated--should have been PG-13. Only for mature middle schoolers and up.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhal & elaine April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very Good Messages without Undue Violence

For the subject matter being covered this movie does an excellent job of letting people know what was really happening at the time without being unduly violent. The whipping of a horse is the only actual scene in which someone/thing is hurt. Instead, the empty interior of a slave ship is shown, compelling statistics are cited (400 of 600 slaves dieing on one voyage), and things like shackles and an owners brand brandished by a former slave are shown. For those that are very perceptive there is a letter being read at one point that includes a very brief narrative about a child being accidentally burned to death while the accompanying video shows a very fuzzy worker transposed by a flame. Our child is very sensitive but was not overly bothered by any of these scenes.

Very pretty but typical shots of 1800 England add to the educational benefit.

Our 12 year old was not at all bored and really enjoyed the film. Hyper, visually oriented, or much younger kids might be.

Adult Written bySunnyZim October 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Inspirational

Brilliant and inspiring movie, one which I have watched many times. William Wilberforce is one of my heroes and this movie does a very good job of portraying this brave and amazing man.

Parent Written byElizabeth Darcy March 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Uplifting, inspiring, an amazing movie

The cinematography is gorgeous, the acting is stellar, the story is inspiring and heart-rending at the same time. Amazing Grace IS truly amazing, and I would show it to all my kids were it not for the "scary" content. It's nothing much (two men beating a horse, some depictions of slavery, a hallucination), but a bit too intense for kids younger than 10 or 11. Younger kids won't be able to follow the highly political plot, but for tweens and teens who like period dramas this is a must-see. I found myself near tears at the courageous, self-sacrificial love of Wilberforce and his heroic appeal for the dignity of the human person.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing