All teen and kid member reviews for An American Girl: McKenna Shoots for the Stars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old August 25, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Sweet movie

It's sweet, inspirational, and a good movie for all.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 26, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

yawn

so she got in gymnastics so she got hurt. lots of this happened to other ppl.i wont FORCE ppl to make a movie about my brother to be a race car driver or to make a movie about me trying to be a popstar.but i like it a bit

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old August 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever!!!

I love american girl and I think that everybody who watches this (even adults!!) will be inspiered and get a great kick out of it!!! I'm big fan of american girl but you don't need to be to watch this movie!!! mckenna is a great girl inspiered by gymnastics and in the end loves Josie!! Again this is a great movie for all ages!

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old November 30, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Love It!<3

Awesome. Period. End of story.<3

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGymnastE13 August 15, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not so great

Like McKenna, I love gymnastics. I work hard and sometimes I push myself too hard. Difference is, I'm not like McKenna. She was rude, mean, and self centered. I think the story was unrealistic. I have experienced what McKenna did when i was 8 years old, which was 5 years ago. I didnt act like her. I work hard in school too. I get good grades as well. I think this wasn't one of AG's best movies. Plus, the movie was way different from the book. The acting was OK. As much as i love gymnastics and hope to go to the Olympics, this wasnt my favorite AG movie or character.

Teen, 13 years old Written byblackandpink April 6, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good message, but cliche

This movie is an ok movie. Though while I was watching this I did roll my eye several time throughout the movie. It's not inappropriate but it is very cliche.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written byakpsoccergirl July 23, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

McKenna rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a fabulous family movie. McKenna is a great role model. This movie has great acting and just melts your heart. McKenna is not perfect, she has difficulties, too, which makes it even better.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 14, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Awsome

It good for kids they will love it great story. Especially for young gymnast

Teen, 13 years old Written bysmoshLOL691 October 31, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

STUPID!!!

STOP!!! THIS MOVIE IS CRAP AND SUCKS!!!!

What other families should know
Too much consumerism