All member reviews for An American Haunting

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Incoherent and very grim curse/sex abuse story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byx495 July 5, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Violence and sex rule in thios terrifying supernatural horror film.

Parents should know that this horror film includes terrifying themes and scenes. The protagonist is tossed about and abused sexually by an unseen entity. She is slapped, raped, and dragged by the ghost. Themes of death are everywhere.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byshelbster October 16, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

loved it! it was so scary that i ried...and i watch alot of scary movies and have never cried before!

Kid, 11 years old Written byjustinw123 April 12, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byChrissy505 January 23, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

I thought this was a really good movie. It was really good I loved the school teacher he was awesome! I didn't get the whole abuse thing until I read the review so kids won't notice/understand it. Plus it wasn't scary at all it was weird though and hard to follow and at some times random. Over all a tres bien movie!

Teen, 13 years old Written byEmilyB123 August 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not Scary AT ALL. Sad at the end though

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

scary little kids

at first i didnt get it. i had to watch it 3 times then the deleted scenes before i understood,then i looked it up online to see if i was right and i was. its actually a really good movie, i liked it and so does my other 15 year old friend(after i explained it to her).you have to really pay attention to understand.scary for younger viewers

Kid, 12 years old Written byDoodelium January 18, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

OK...3 1/2 stars

This movie was just watchable, nothing more. I watched it the whole way through feeling no suspense or uneasiness. I just sat there with a blank face watching the movie. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't interesting. It was a very dull movie. If you want to watch, watch it. Don't buy it though.