All member reviews for Confessions of a Shopaholic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Labels and products galore in frothy book-based romcom.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 58 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byKatie-Kakes October 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Loved it

this is a brilliant movie for the whole family to enjoy. lots of shopping, shoes and bags but a great moive

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, -1 years old August 8, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

watch it

Why is this movie even rated 12+?????? There's nothing that inappropriate! If you wanna watch it alone i think you should be about 8, if you wanna watch it with your parents about 6 but if you're 5 I don't recommend it

Kid, 12 years old Written bymason123456 November 13, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a chick flick thats quite average

read the title

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byDurbin July 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens and teens

Very good movie me and my friends FAvoRiTe!!!!!!! A little crude humor and language... small scene with drinking champaign!!! :) i HIGHly recomend it!!!!! watch it over again

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLittle movie freak May 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly sweet charmig and funny movie.

This is a surprisingly sweet, charming,and funny , and an entertaining movie I actually surprisingly enjoyed most of this movie. There are brief mild innuendos as well as there's brief cursing.Like I wrote before this is a surprisingly charming,funny , and an entertaining movie that I was actually somewhat surprisingly entertained by.I think that this movie would be ON for ages 12 - 13. I gave it probably a B or a B+.I liked this film. Rent It Today !

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bypianocutie95 March 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I think this may be my favorite movie on the entire planet! It reflects how much girls are so caught up in the world of shopping and consumerism. I totally understand Becky's situation in the movie, considering I'm a major shopaholic myself. There's absolutely NO sex or violence. There's one *a-word, and one *b-word, but overall an excellent flick for all. please, please rent this. unforgettable.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 9 and 10 year old Written byMarilyn Mansons Mom August 1, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Why is sex just an accepted thing these days, in a movie aimed at kids??

Could be a cute movie for kids, I suppose, but WWWHHHHYYYYYYY can't any move that's aimed at tweens just leave the sex out? Why do I have to feel like a prude while watching a movie with my 9-year old daughter, because out of nowhere there's a random guy under the sheets naked with the heroine's girlfriend? WHY? Is this just deemed acceptable in a movie aimed at young, young girls these days??? (btw, I'm not a prude -- but I try to be a good parent) What the hell has happened? Is there no shame anymore??

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old Written bysaintsgirl12 December 20, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good but a little iffy

i liked it but they do use bad language and get drunk in one scene which i thought was iffy for younger kids, but overall great movie and i love isle fisher!!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 7, and 10 year old Written byFunMommy October 11, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

teaches a tough life lesson in a funny and positive way

Good for older children because you can discuss the effects of overspending on not only your wallet but also your life. Ends on a positive note of changing yourself.

Kid, 11 years old Written bydancing girl September 5, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

IT IS SO DUMB!!! There is no comedy and its just a really bad movie. PLZ DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE!

Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper movie reviewer January 10, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great movie

great movie about shopping!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written bySalej43 May 2, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hilarious! Ok for young tweens

Very funny! some language includes 2 uses of a**, and 1 b****. One scene where Rabecca and her friend get drunk.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written bymassie11 April 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

shop shopSHOP!. not bad lanuage but edgy . best movie ever

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bycarmenita1324 April 11, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I really liked it, it was really funny.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old Written bytrypie5 April 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie

I barely remember this Movie but I do remember I loved it!

Kid, 11 years old Written bynickjsoccergirl June 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

funny but a litttle much for pg

this movie is really funny and would be gr8 for a tween sleepover but does have a little language and she and her friend get drunk

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bytheflickchick March 29, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

a little confusing

It's a little complicated and has lots of talk about business, bills, and money, so if you're just not interested in that stuff and find it boring, not the movie for you. It was pretty good but has a lot of consumerism.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byiluvmoviesnbooks March 6, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfecct for all kids and tweens! i would reccomend the book for teens!

Great! I like the movie so much more than the book! Its more fun and gets to the point. Best movie there should be other movvies that are so fun to watch on a rainy day

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written bySpongebob Fan November 26, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good, Funny Movie. LOTS of Consumerism, though.

This was overall a really good film. Not 4 stars worthy, but pretty good. Other than the constant consumerism and awful message of 'getting what you want from spending', the only other concern is the main character and a friend getting drunk. It is really good though, so, if you have a daughter or some girls who just wanna kick back and watch a funny sleepover film, this one's really good.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpielberg00 September 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Terrible. Skip it.

My rating: PG [borderline with PG-13] for some language and brief alcohol use.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages