All member reviews for Despicable Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Clever, funny, and sweet villain-with-a-heart-of-gold tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 292 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bywendibreeze July 25, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Even the older kids love it!

My daughter have watched the movie more then three times. She laughes and says I could watch this movie all the time.

Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byJACKCONS5 July 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

So cute!

I thought it was really funny and had a happy ending!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 5, 8, and 13 year old Written bypanamamama July 15, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Fun movie

Loved it! My kids loved it also. The music was great.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent Written byjrn July 13, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Grandparents took my 7 year old and they all loved it!

Parent of a 6 year old Written byEnchandra July 13, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

From 6-35 we all loved it!

I loved it. It had some slow points but kept us going. Loved the characters and the positive message that somethings are just more important, like the people you love. There was comedy for the adults, kids and both. Have fun.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byctcook July 13, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

I hope they make more movies like this one!

This movie was wonderful for kids and adults alike. Although it had a few scary moments, they were short and easy to get through for young ones. The humor was great for all ages. I loved the positive way they ended this story. I would recommend it to everyone and hope they make more movies like this one!

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byemsdad1970 July 12, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not despicable at all

My daughter and I both liked this movie a lot. We don't find much in the media with a single father portrayed in a positive light. I won't go into detail and give any spoilers, but the idea of family is a strong, wonderful image.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3, 4, and 14 year old Written bynicky120104 July 12, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good family movie

All my kids loved it. It shows how not all households have moms and dads. Also it shows how there are kids that need homes.

Adult Written byLetsgocats July 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Talent and Fun!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylambfamily July 12, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great family movie.

Took my 10yo and 6yo neighbor. We all really enjoyed the film. I felt it was very positive, sweet and funny! They laughed a ton with no scary parts.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 9 and 9 year old Written byLonghornmom July 11, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great family movie; 6 + is right on for most

Kids from 4 - 11 and 4 adults really enjoyed it. The 4 year old was my nephew. he was a bit young but did okay.

Probably best for 6 +, as recommended but you know how your own kids do in movies as it does have a few slightly scary parts and the negative scenes with the orphanage.

We all really enjoyed it but I will say I cringed a few times with how they presented the kids in the orphanage. That being said, those moments are very short and a very small part of the movie so I don't think most kids focused on that. But again, you know your kids.

The message is good.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byShizzNizzle July 10, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I thought this movie was fantastic!

What other families should know
Great role models

Pages