All member reviews for Despicable Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Clever, funny, and sweet villain-with-a-heart-of-gold tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 292 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bytimmphy do July 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

funny !!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written bynduns July 10, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Surprising...

Seriously, just like with Cloudy with the Chance of Meatballs, I wasn't expecting much from this movie but it was actually really good. It was funny, had a great story and premise and, well, I'd highly reccommend it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bymandy1221 March 20, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

pretty good movie

it was pretty good...

Parent of a 4 year old Written byDorisPM February 4, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good Movie enjoyed by whole family

Our son is old enough to know that "stupid" is not a word our family uses. He questioned what they were doing when they were Xeroxing their bottoms so we chalked it up to being silly...since he didn't know what a xerox machine was. Other than that, easy to follow along, easy to understand and explain as we went along and a lot to laugh about.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 3, 6, 9, and 13 year old Written bymom2mykiddos January 13, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Suprisingly decent family movie!

Our entire family enjoyed it, even if it's not an all-time favorite! Fun and fast paced with plenty of laughs.

Teen, 14 years old Written byMoviePringle October 27, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great fantastic not at all iffy just a tiny bit of violence but it's comedy!

I loved this movie it was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen! It is really worth seeing in 3D because there ate some really good 3D moments. It also has a great story line. All the characters are hilarious especially the yellow minions

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMetaMarthMario October 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

There is a s--t when Vector gets blasted by Gru's freeze ray.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byLove2Sing August 18, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Good Movie

I liked this movie. It wasn't the best movie I've seen, but it wasn't the worst either. The movie started out as Gru wanted to steal the moon but in the end, he learns to be a good parent to three girls he adopted.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byDancer123 August 1, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great kids film and super hilairious

This is a great kids film. Defenitly a must see with the fam on a friday evening. The only thing you should know is that he "returns" the orphans but doesn't mean to. He ends having a heart of gold. This is also super uber hilairious.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written bymeme103 July 19, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great movie! everyone will love it!

A+ A+ A+ A+ A+ A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bywe_teach July 12, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

6 year old LOVED it! Her mom did too!!!

Great movie. Did not expect it to be sweet, but it was. Even got a little teary at the end...but I did cry at Toy Story 3 too.

Teen, 13 years old Written bySkully16 July 10, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Loved It!!

I saw this movie with a bunch of my friends and we loved it!!!!! It was a very funny movie!!!.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

for gru being a supervilllan is not easy because of he has to control a army his arch enemy is vector the world's first supervillan he has to take care of 3 orphan girls

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycone March 12, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 14 year old Written bydavidl73 December 27, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Perfect Family Fun!

What an adorable movie. Funny, heart warming.. just great fun. Evil Gru with a love of being evil develops a heart...kind of reinded me of the Grinch that stole Christmas.. The minions are hilarious... the littlest girl cracked us up. " It's so fluffy! " just great family fun throughout. Take any of your kids and they will enjoy this gem!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybuild99940 August 8, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 7 year old Written byAuntie Ambika July 31, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Funny and an opportunity to talk about orphans and that love is really is about opening your heart!

The turn around of the antagonist is darling and though yes, it begins as super villain story, it is really about opening your heart and letting love in through a cute silly story. We saw it in 3D and want to go back to watch in in 2D. It made us laugh and laugh!

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old Written bysuffistikated July 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

AN INCREDIBLE MOVIE FOR ALL AGES!!!

A great movie for kids and adults! the plotline was very original, and characters change overtime. the only concern is that Gru starts out as an evil character, but is depicted as the hero, which may give kids the idea that being reckless to get what you want is good. Fortunately though, he learns the error of his ways. Overall, an enjoyable movie.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written by101brookere July 13, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

i rate this title 4 and up

i think this will be a funney moive

What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8, 12, and 15 year old Written byHelen Bonder July 3, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

hack

Wonderful Movie! It teaches a good lesson about loving your family. Some Language (Butt, Poop) but this game is great. I recommend it for ages 7 & up.

What other families should know
Great messages

Pages