All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 264 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old July 27, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good

Pretty good

Kid, 11 years old Written byironkid21 July 26, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

dissapointing and not as great as the books

I am a big fan of the book but this movie was dissapointing. It was kinda boring and they way they portrayed Greg wasn't good and made him a jerk even thought it's good he learns his lesson at the end. I hope the second one is WAY better. 7+

Teen, 14 years old Written byxmril79 July 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

perfect for ages 6+

this movie is awsome!!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written byLupinta July 10, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie

A Great Family Movie

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written bycoolstar July 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written bySwit Swat July 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie!

This was a very good movie that was exactly like the book. There are some gross parts in the movie which some kids might find "nasty". There is some language that small children might not want to hear. The Wii is shown. And the is fake magazine that shows a woman in a bikini that little kids should not see. But anyway, back to what I think of the movie... It is HILARIOUS!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old Written byKinbJune July 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Diary of a Famous Kid

This was a very close movie to the story and I love how the movie interpreted it. It was very funny and I felt like it was the book. It had some nice lessons and cool new characters and I cared about each and every one of them. You should really see this movie.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycolumbusmom July 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies for tween boys... and their parents, go see it!

Loved it! My 12 year old son and I laughed our heads off in this movie. It's really very sweet and honestly, if you have a tween boy... it would probably be impossible for you not to see something in this movie that you so relate to (as a parent!) that you find yourself laughing at how funny it appears on screen. If you have a tween or a middle schooler, you really need to see this movie. My 6-year old wasn't with me, but now that I've seen it, I would be comfortable letting her see it too although she might not quite be old enough to "get" why some parts of the movie are funny.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old Written bymcguire217 June 24, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

7+

I love this movie.

Kid, 9 years old Written byBenjyBoy10 June 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really good, but don't like the uses of language

It's really good! I saw it! Although there is uses of c**p and fre***n'. They had good role models and positive messages (It's the choices who we are).

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bytxsmoke June 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old Written byArtist422 May 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the Best book adoptions!~!

This is a good movie for elementary students because it can relate to real things that happen (ex. older brother, new school, exc.) Rodrick owns an inappropriate magazine with clad women on the cover (none of the inside is shown). Not too bad with the language.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 1, 2, 7, 9, and 10 year old Written bymommy of five May 26, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good for all ages.

I have 5 kids and they loved it even my 2 year old sat threw the whole thing. My hubby and i also loved it , it made me laugh so hard, good message to be your self and not care what others think. LOVE IT!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byhannah monthana May 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its not a diary its a movie

i dont know but how could i read this story.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written byjbfever May 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I love it is so awsome!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byironman2 May 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun for a family

Funny film and fantastic for the family.

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old May 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I LOVE The Movie I Can't Wait Til' It's On DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!

Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

funny

funny but not positive languae for youner veiwers

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byxxYuRgIrLbAiLeYxx May 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Must See Movie

I love this movie! Me and my dad went to see it and we both laughed. At the end it felt like the movie was to short but I guess that's what you get when you watch an excellent movie. The only Iffy part was the Magazine in Rodrick's room. The movie would have been fine without that magazine. But other than that the Movie was AWESOME!! If you haven't seen it I recommend you see it.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byAmayzingMayzie May 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Must-see for Wimpy Kid Fans! [Like me]

I`ve waited forever for this to come out. Basically, if you can read and like book you`ll love the movie. So what if there`s bits of insults and a smidge of fighting? A movie can`t be perfect like that, those are the things that make it funny. :) There`s always a positive message at the end. The only thing is that you might not understand this movie completely if you haven`t read the book [At least the first one] but even if you haven`t read the book I`m sure you`ll still find it funny. There`s even a book out about how they made the movie, with lots of details on how a film is made. It`s really educational and interesting! I suggest the book series to kids and adults [My parents even find it funny] and also the movie diary to kids who have seen it. I actually read the movie diary before I saw the actual move :)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages