All member reviews for Elf

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Peppy holiday favorite for both kids and parents.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 137 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old August 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Super Funny

This is super funny in 3ed grade I brought and the whole class loved it even is it a Christmas movie sometimes I watch it in the summer or spring I like the part when Micheal says how are we supposed to get the star on the tree and Buddy says I will get it and then he jumps on the Christmas tree this will make you laugh so hard.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

okay

it is really all right! should do better!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 9, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I loved this movie!

I 100 % loved this movie. the klutzy but loving character inspires kids never to give up on what you want and who you believe in. but is iffy for very young kids.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byScoobydoo2251 May 23, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Boring.

I didn't like this movie, the others do, but I don't. Good movie, though.

Kid, 11 years old December 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a will ferrel wonder

this is one of my favorite holiday movies of all time! Will Ferrel plays a great buddy the elf and james caan a great walter hobbs. Though in some parts there is liquor but besides that nothing serious. though little kids love it, older kids and adults will get more humor.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old March 2, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Elf Elf Elf

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old Written byMewat1999 February 19, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

GREAT!!!!!!!

Every Christmas eve my family watches Elf......EVERYONE LOVES IT!!!!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bygymnast222 February 8, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byWebCriticGirl76 January 6, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Family Type, Funny, Awesome!!!

Elf was funny, cute, sweet, and just good. I loved Elf, my younger siblings did, too. It has a few mild cuss words, and one scene where they smoke and Buddy and another man get drunk. I think it is a great children film, and adults will enjoy it too!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 19, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awesome Christmas Comedy

Love it! This is by far my favorite Christmas movie! The only reason I said the role models weren't good was because Will Ferrel is in this; and if kids watch they may want to see other movies with Will Ferrel; and he is not always in the best movies if you know what I mean.

Kid, 12 years old Written byBFF GIRL THATS ... December 13, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

a great way to get a good laugh around the holiday season.

This movie is the perfect way to get a good laugh during the holiday season. But some ways they get laughs is with vilonce and that brief vilonce may seem funny to older kids, tweens, teens, and adults but to younger kids (6 and under) it might seem scary.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old Written bySpongebob Fan November 26, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Christmas Movie! One of my faves!

I went and saw this in the theater when it just came out, then we were one of the first to get the DVD! It's really really good. I loved it! No concerns other than a few bad words (but nothing to worry about) and a character getting drunk, but good message about Christmas and Buddy was a good role model. Don't skip it this holiday season!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byReviewBoy November 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, just some naughty stuff.

*Sigh* such a good movie. There is one naughty part. Buddy decorates the store until after dark, working hard into the night, when he hears someone singing a christmas carol. He ends up in the womens locker room, sitting between the sinks. The girl co-worker he likes is naked in the shower, singing to herself ( nothing is shown, just shoulders), until buddy starts singing along. She peeks her head out of the shower and sees him sitting there, innocently. She yells at him to get out of the locker room and not to look at her. He claps his hands over his eyes and hightails it for the door, smashing into everything in his way.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 29, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

a good movie

a good movie with some vilonce but lots of scenes that will make you lol.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykrazypanda45 June 6, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

You have to see this movie!!!!!!!!!!!

This is a great movie that we always watch in school around the holidays, i even have a friend who is obsessed. This is a great holiday or snow dya comedy that the whole family will enjoy.

Kid, 11 years old Written bybrandonrocks97 March 22, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This was a funny movie, one of the best from Will.

Adult Written byPoptartpm April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages