All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 118 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeroOfLight94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i was born on same day this mivie came out!!!!

this is a great movie but there is some war violence 1 f-word and drug content all in all a great movie pick this movie up for sure

Teen, 13 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

moving drama

Forrest Gump is a slow person ("stupid is as stupid does") who gets into all sorts of difficult situations. This movie shows that life can be good and bad, and you never know what you're gonna get. There are some sad deaths in here. They might make you cry. The Vietnam War is war violence, but it sort of shows that war is bad. ( If you really want to see a "war is bad movie", go see "Saving Private Ryan")

"Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're gonna get"

Kid, 11 years old Written byThingsThatAre February 1, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

awesome!!

AWESOME!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byIan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A good movie for the 12+ crowd

Parent preview good. Depends on your kids. I personally thought the movie was great and is one of the few semiaccurate descriptions of the drugs at that time, and if you don't think there were that many drugs and that much sex, you're in a bubble. Great movie.

Adult Written bykerriokie April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Movie Full of Great Lessons and Great Acting

I was sad to see the negative adult reviews on this movie. No, it is definitely not for young children. I watched the edited television version with my 10-year-old and talked to her about what we were seeing as we went; but I won't let her watch the unedited DVD. That being said, I think 14-year-olds and up can learn a lot from seeing this with their parents. It addresses issues from drugs to sex to war to people who are mentally challenged in a compassionate, (movie)-realistic way. What a great starting point for a talk with my son!

Kid, 12 years old Written bymoviebuff11 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byteen_n_happy August 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

?

Don't know how you managed to miss the scene with the "Playboy" magazine. Don't watch with Young teens unless they can handle seeing a fully exposed breast.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byjasonlall9 September 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaydimi July 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Run, Forrest, run!

This is a must see. I cried at the end of this; it was so touching. Jenny is a stripper and takes drugs and talks about suicide. No nudity, but she is naked but never on camera. One make love scene, several more kiss scenes. A little bit of profanity. Forrest goes to war so suggestive violence. SEE THIS MOVIE! Minus the negative choices Jenny makes, any age could see it with parental monitoring.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written byHALO13 January 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for teens

It's a family movie just some things the vitianam war the relationship between Jenny and Forest and heavy language including the four letter word two times

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old Written byfdog1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old Written bybug821 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Run Forrest, Run!

Ah, Forrest Gump. It was an interesting movie but rather disturbing at times with Jenny and her "father". A real tearjerker. I wouldnt reccomend kids watching it on their own, its better when the whole family joins in.

Teen, 14 years old Written bymysskae April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved this movie i laughed i cried i talked back to the screen "run forreset run"
because of this movie every year i travel out of the state to go to the restaurant modeled after this movie "bubba gumps"

Kid, 12 years old Written bybakeranimator March 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing, but iffy for young kids.

Forrest Gump was a true masterpiece. I would however hold off on it until your kid was twelve because there were some intense moments. First of all there is some war violence with lots of blood that may scare young viewers. There is some sexual stuff as well. Also, there is some pretty bad language for a PG-13 movie. Despite all of this, this movie has tons of heart, you will not be disappointed.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byCatholicamSoror33 September 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Great movie, just not for kids.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bylamanjalo February 5, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for teens and adults

Good for teens, not for kids. Interesting movie.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 August 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

a good movie but a little to 'egh' for youngsters

this movie seems like a true story but its not.i like it though

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written byVatrena August 12, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Movie about Forrest Gump, on the first look stupid man

I saw this movie for the first time when I was about 4 or 5. It's great, through there is some blood and explosions in the part with the war in Vietnam. Every kid thought the Forrest is too stupid and they loved to provocate him. But when he grew up, he showed that he IS clever.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviegeek97 February 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

one of my favorites but may be iffy for younger kids

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the classic movies that Tom Hanks saved.

A classic. A great but sad movie involves a lot of mature themes. It really should have been rated PG-13 for war violence, language, drug and sexual content and intense mature material. If not for one of the greatest acting preformanses in a movie it would have not been as great. Though it is funny in parts it is very sad and yoyu probally will make you cry. "Run forest, run". Its a must see.

Pages