All member reviews for From Russia with Love

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Adult Written byjowriggley April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Old Film with Old Views

I agree that the Bond character is chauvinistic in the sense that he perceives women as sexual conquests. The movie also has a scene where a domineering female villain is telling another female character to submit sexually to Bond (although it is a plot point). In that same scene, to me, there where was some slight lesbian innuendo in the villainess' mannerisms, but nothing overt.

The movie is violent, but not gory, reminiscent of the old westerns. People are shot, stabbed, and strangled. Killing, espionage, treachery are recurring themes in the film, but you can see much worse on TV.

Teen, 13 years old Written bypg13rnc17 March 17, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byabodoh April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 August 2, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Definitely on of the best 007 films.

My rating: PG-13 for some intense action violence and brief innuendo.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichaelc April 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good film

No problems for mature children over 7, might frighten kids under 7, but a good film.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written byMasterMan 721 December 16, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a good movie

This is a good movie with tons of action. Although there is sexual behavior.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byStashTheGumbo November 16, 2008
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoker15 July 3, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old Written byneal005 April 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

2 thumbs up!

my favorite 007 of all time

Teen, 14 years old Written byLord Voldemort January 1, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Bonds

From Russia With Love was released in 1963, so it's very different from Casino Royale's car chase and staircase fight. It is, however, a great spy movie - it is much more realistic as far as what a real MI6 or CIA agent might do. I've got to say, the first time I watched this, the ending came a little too abruptly for me, but I was left satisfied with the outcome. The opening sequence doesn't include singing (the next Bond, Goldfinger, was the first to do that), but it does keep the viewer mildly entertained as the credits project onto the bellies and thighs of dancers. Complex characters, fun gadgets, and another attempt by SPECTRE to gain control!

Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 18, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome

A really great Bond film that is actually pretty tame

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 31, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Classic James Bond

This movie is what Bond films are all about. If you only see one, or are picking one for your first experience, this is a good choice. As usual there is violence and sex, I mean come on, what would James Bond be without those? But there isn't any nudity or blood and guts, so most teens should be ok to see this one.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old October 29, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE

action-packed sequel is as good as the first

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old August 29, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

the best

the best movie in the world.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old July 22, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

From Russia with Love

A little boring, but when the action comes becomes more interesting

Kid, 12 years old Written byscifikid April 26, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

My 1st 007 Movie

My mom wouldn't let me watch them mostly because of the sex and violence, but this is one of the more mild ones probably. There's only a few action sequences, and only partial nudity. I liked it, but it was a little boring. I'm sure the newer ones have more action. I couldn't decide whether to give it a 3 or a 4, so I give it a 3 1/2

What other families should know
Too much sex