All teen and kid member reviews for Halloween (2007)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 27 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoftballgirl31 February 27, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Ok for a slasher movie, tons of blood and murderings are extremely graphic too. Throats are slit, Michael stabs people, beats people, etc. There is one very disturbing point in the movie where Michael tries to kill a woman while she is looking at a picture of her daughter. She then smacks the picture out of his hand and he breaks her neck. You hear the snap and hear her scream. Sexual content is pretty bad tons of nudity and this is also extremely graphic. Overall it is a pretty good movie despite the content The plot line is interesting

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written bytxschnsw2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

uggggg...

...Another horror movie that commonsensemedia has completely destroyed. Yeah theres nudity, sex, violence, and lots of language, but seriously who cares. You'll kids will hear the language in it in school. Sex will happen eventually, ur kids have been on the internet, so they know what nudity is:P and the violence in this movie isn't as bad as commonsense makes it out to be. It overall was a really good movie, but they did get one thing right. It isn't meant for like 10 year olds. i suggest 13 and up.

Teen, 16 years old Written bygleefreak December 20, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I watched when I was thirteen and it was okay

It is the best horror movie made out there !!

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bymovie man 5 December 31, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Finally, we see the man behind the famous mask.

This film is much more violent than the original film, with about 3 times the sexual content. Characters in this film are stabbed, beaten with baseball batts, had their throats slit, etc. Full female nudity is shown, upper nudity is shown, there is basicly lots of sex. However, besides the content, this film is actually (in my oppinion) better than the first, for multiple reasons. For one, we see into Michael's past. We see what led up to his "snap". Two, Michael isn't mindless, he has a soul, and us as an audience get to see it. We see way more than what was shown in the whole series.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old Written bynick navarro December 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

disappointing

The origianal version was better, this just has more gore and sex.

Teen, 13 years old Written bySamaraMorgan May 29, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byHotaru Chan May 6, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

*headdesk*

Insulting to the Halloween name. Instead of the good, smart role model Laurie Strode was in the original, they completely butcher her into the "stereotypical" teen girl (I use that term loosely, since no one acts like that). The backstory on Michael Myers starts right from the beginning, but unlike the original they overexplain everything, so we basicly know everything about the character, making him seem a lot more boring and less scary than ever. Over the top gore and sexual content, to the point where nobody could ever enjoy it. All the suspence is gone, replaced with other crap that no one wants. I can't even really think of any scary parts in the film, with only 2 jump scares that weren't even that scary. STICK TO THE ORIGINAL!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byashowiscool April 5, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I thought it was a great gory flick, and all I have to say is something i will say TOO many times on this site, kid's have already seen it. I'd say let older more mature teens see it, heres why I say so.
Nudity: Sure, plenty of it. But really, by this time their friends have gotten them into porn.
Violence: Again, no worse than what six year olds watch now.
Language: yep, they've heard it all
Really, all I can say is that in this day kids are exposed to alot more and you can't fight it. All you can do is calmly talk about it. Trust me, when I'm talked to about it calmly I actually listen, as to when my mom yells at me where I just retaliate more. Now I'm off topic, bottom line: teens on.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old January 14, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byluvanger October 10, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A brilliant film, but not appropriate even for my age (17).

First off, this movie is not at all scary. What it is is a reimagined, rethought, and horrifically violent slasher film remake. Even though this movie is technically a remake, it's not at all like the original. The original was a boring, bland, average 70's slasher. This one is an brutally innovative retelling of not only the story of Michael Myers' killing spree, but also his childhood, humanizing him a bit (but still not portraying him in any sane way). Despite how well-done the movie was, it's not appropriate for minors. The language is awful, especially the first ten minutes, which contains at least 50 obscenities, most of them f-words. The movie also has the most vulgar sexual language you can imagine. The sexual content is very explicit, not only in references but also in actual scenes, which show teens having sex. Sex scenes are pushing even an R rating, with a lot of thrusting and nudity. (The unrated director's cut also has a rape scene, which was cut out of the R-rated version.) Another offensive item is the amount of teen drinking. However, the violence is more shocking than any of the above. In movies such as "Dawn of the Dead", the violence is extremely gory, but could never be interpreted as realistic. The violence in this movie is not as bloody, but is a thousand times more realistic and brutal. The beginning of the movie is all about a young boy going mental and killing four people. The first is a bully at school who he lures out into the woods and beats to death with a tree branch. The second one to go is the child's abusive stepdad, who has his throat slit wide open, gushing blood. The third is his sister's boyfriend, who has his head beaten into pulp with a baseball bat. Finally, his sister dies, being stabbed by her younger brother multiple times with a kitchen knife. All of this is shown in gory detail, and it's just the beginning of the movie! (And all of this covers the R-rated version; the director's cut is even worse.) Do I even need to say more? I would wholeheartedly recommend this movie to mature adults, but never to teens, even myself.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The current best horror/thriller movie ive seen...not for kids though

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old Written byZombieRocks5321 August 24, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Why hate Rob Zombie? He is amazing!

Well of course this movie is going to be labeled as bad. Everyone bashes Zombie for creating his versions of movies for no reason. I personally think that he is the best film maker ever:)If you don't want kids to see this, than don't let them. It's that simple. But don't miss if your a Halloween fan.

Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 18, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

awesome horror remake. but full of bloody violence and strong sexuality

this movie is awesome. but some strong language, nudity and sexuality. the highest on violence. many murders and injuries.
if you are 16-17 this movie if perfect for you.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 December 12, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly Great

I have never seen the original, but i really liked this. For some reason there seems to be a lot of nudity (mainly topless women). (and a shot of a porn magazine) And myabe one or two butts. The language is strong near the begining, but gets less used near the end. And don't see this if you are sqemish, it is very bloody

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 19, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The second one makes this looks like a Disney Pixar animation.

This is quite fine ,except for a few bad scenes.There is some violence against women like a part where a couple of men try to rape a woman not long after Michael Myers. Comes and beats them to death slams their bodies against Walls.not for viewers who get easily offended.I have seen this on the unrated and normal version on DVD since I missed it at the movies don't buy the unrated it's totally worse than the theatrical version the theatrical version is probably 13 + the unrated is probably 15+ then if your kids get nightmares this isn't a very good starter horror movie.

Kid, 11 years old Written byMr.Depp October 24, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Halloween

This Movie is terrible and loaded with violence, sexual content, and language.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmovieFAN August 21, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Bloody,yet deep down a heart

OK,I loved this movie,but I wish I hadn't seen it.It's overly violent,and by the end I LITERALLY wanted to vomit.I think they overly sexualized women,and used TOO much language.YET...I felt extremely sorry for Michael as a child.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old Written byscaregirl<33 October 30, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Typical slasher film, no real message but a good scare :)

I'm 12 and I watched this with my best friends at a sleepover. I find that the most disturbing scene was the first killing scene when the 10 year old beats the bully to death with a peice of wood. I agree that the sexuality in this film was a bit over what I'm comfortable with, especially because there was boys and girls watching the movie at my friends sleepover, but what do you expect from a slasher film? Expect graphic sexual descriptions, epecially at the beggining, children swearing, and bloody massacre of mostly innocent people. There is no sympathy or feeeling for any of the chracters in this film, the movie is only really meant to scare (but it did a pretty good job) In the end, this is another sexy, bloody, exploitative slasher film, but its a famous one and awesome to watch around halloween. I'm not as squeamish as most people my age, so know your limits. For parents, I would be more concerned about the sexual lanuage and content in this film than the scariness or violence. If you can look at a horror movie as a funny prank, or as someone trying to give you a good scare for fun, you can really get into the scary halloween mode. Rob Zombiess Halloween was the first horror movie I watched and its always gonna be awesome in my mind! :)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bypacman8me August 2, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Well, I&#039;m 17 now, and watched it when I was 15 I think. I watched the unrated version. My oh my!! sex, sex, sex, sex, sex. That&#039;s basically what the movie revolved around. A lot of nudity, and vrey showy, on screen sex. The MOST disturbing part was the rape seen... really messed up. Very violent, and sometimes had to look away at all the gore...

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymichaelmyers21 December 4, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

NO KIDS

Classis slasher film remake is brutal and bloody and graphic- not for kids!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages