All parent member reviews for Hop

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 49 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bypickle_pie April 20, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I would not recommend this movie for children. I personally will not buy it or ever watch it again. The bunny goes to the playboy mansion. The fact that the playboy mansion is even mentioned in a movie targeting children is DESPICABLE!! And one of the theme songs..."I Want Candy" is a COMPLETELY inappropriate song! the lyrics are terrible and DISGUSTING!

Parent of a 10 year old Written byRed Rebel Rider April 22, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Most of the children at that show were 8 and above. They sat quietly, laughed during the funny parts and sang or moved during the musical parts. They all seemed to enjoy it and parents seemed happy with the movie as well.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMother teacher April 20, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Horrible movie! Poor acting, racist and racy

I found this movie to have poor acting, sexual undertones and blatant racism.
The "human" actors were not funny, not well acted and were stereotypical. The parents wanted their child to find a job, any job, and move out of the house. They made it clear that they found their son a failure.
There were many sexual undertones...Chelsea Handler, David Hasselhoff, Hugh Hefner all had roles. The bunny talked about open relationships, being a sexy bunny, and getting into the playboy mansion.
The racism was very uncomfortable. There was a scene where the Easter Bunny hadn't yet "cracked China" of the bunny getting thrown out of a Chinese grocery store in China. There is an adopted Chinese daughter living with the human family, who thinks she's great but has a horrible singing voice. She even says "I think I was adopted to make up for your son's lack of ambition." There is a band of blind black men, who just pretend to be blind as a gimmick. And there is the Latino chick (as in chicken) that is laughed at when he asks to become the new easter bunny, even though the job was vacant. He is the villain in the movie.
This movie was just plain horrible! Please beware of these when taking children to the movie. There is nothing sweet or innocent taking place. It is full of mean spirited characters.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bymjones141 April 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

disappointed

I do not understand why the playboy mansion was even put into the movie. Regardless of whether the younger kids understand, it is the ones 9-10, that question why the bunny is sexy and what is that place. There is no need.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bysongscreener April 4, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

know your older grade school kids

This movie was cut relly short. that said there is a pretty good amunt of product placement and the playboy mansion mentioned in a few scenes and EB considers himself sexy when he reads his map that says the playboy mansion is for "sexy bunnies" this could lead to some akward cnversations about what th playboy mansion is

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written byhoffmans71 April 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The movie was cute and pretty funny. It encourages people to not be selfish and self centered. WARNING: On two occasions a major and some minor chracter go to the PLAYBOY MANSION and speak over a loud speaker to a man that sounds like Hugh Hefner on top of that the PLAYBOY BUNNY LOGO is clearly displayed. We will not buy HOP because of this. I don't want my kids associating something positive and mostly innocent with a pornographic icon.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymandykakel April 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.

used jerk a lot, and referrenced playboy mansion.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written bySuzyak April 20, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

racist and boring

Maybe E.B. and Fred can achieve their dreams, but what about Carlos? The slacker Anglos in this story have greatness thrust upon them, but the hard working and ambitious Hispanics need not apply. The idea that the top job (Easter Bunny in this case) must be passed on from father to son belongs in Arthurian legends and not in a modern setting.

In addition, it was boring. The kids said they liked the movie, but have not mentioned it since and usually want to see a good movie several times.

Adult Written byMeatyMoMMy April 4, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Save your money Stay away

Hated it and my 10 year liked it but was mostly bored . I feel like I wasted 90 minutes of my life, its bad, boring and cliched, and Hasselhol sucked, alot of product placement, didnt like the playboy mansion scene, and Russel Brands humor not for little kids

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 5 year old Written byColumbina April 2, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Just plain bad storytelling.

Just plain bad storytelling. Disappointing and a complete insult to good animated stories. Kids won't be fooled. Bad story is bad story.

Adult Written bytbiermann March 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Child loved it, adult not so much

My 7 year old loved it - as an adult I thought it was at times slow and predictable. Ending was a little weak.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byaniO April 25, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Terrible!

Embedding adult humor in kids movies is just WRONG. It is so sad that even then 10 year olds reviewing here know what the playboy mansion is. How many passing references does it take before your 5 year old understands? Gross.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySingapore Cali mom April 8, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Sugar high

- There was TOO much emphasis on candy. They could have found a way of balancing out the nutrition aspect.

Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bybrown_eyed_girl April 2, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Cute characters make up for weak story

Really on the fence about this movie. It's not really a great story but the animated characters are so cute and there are many funny moments to keep older viewers engaged. Lots of slapstick but most of the humor is clean. We went with kids ages 4-12 and everyone enjoyed themselves.

The big disappointment was the human father, a huge jerk who doesn't really change throughout the movie. There's also a scene where the younger sister's performance is interrupted and mocked but no one seems to care. She has several snotty, insulting lines in the movie that they could have done without.

I was surprised CSM rated it so low for consumerism when the opening credits shows Cadbury wrappers/logos and Hershey Kisses. I heard a kid say, "I don't get half that much stuff in MY Easter baskets!"

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 11 year old Written byBlessed Mom2 April 18, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect for All Ages!!

I thought this was a very cute movie. My daughter, 11-years old, loved it as well as my husband and I. If you are used to violence and potty language then this movie is not for you, which is why I believe a number of reviewers called it "dumb and boring." However, if you want to go to a nice family movie with cute characters and a sweet story line, I would definitely suggest this movie. I found no issues with this movie. The scene at the gate of the Playboy mansion would be over a younger child's head and the reference is very obscure. Go out and enjoy this cute movie for Easter!

Parent of a 2, 5, 12, and 15 year old Written byMommy to Mom April 11, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect for any age.

We saw Hop- and John loved it. He is only 2, and he just loved the rabbits and chicks. A great family movie!

Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byJmac5 April 11, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for toddlers or early preschoolers!

MY 2 year old LOVED it! My 4 year old couldn't wait to leave. I had a hard time keeping my eyes open.

Parent of a 4 and 5 year old Written byTara Levine April 4, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for pre-k and kindergarten age children.

Hop was a cute movie. The movie kept their attention throughout the story. They did a good job of balancing a little action with a meaningful story.

Parent of a 7 year old Written bymrs G April 13, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great for 5+

Very watchable my 7 year old son loved it. Also has the hoff in it brilliant! Russell Brand is great as EB go see it!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 4, and 5 year old Written byBridget24 April 3, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

cute but not great

I took my five, three, and two year old to see it and it was pretty cute. the kids got bored with it towards the end though and they have a scene where they go to the playboy mansion that bothered me alittle bit even though i know the kids didn't understand at all what was going on. overall it was a cute movie but i'm not sure it was worth the money i spent to see it.

What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages