All parent member reviews for Jaws

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byundertakernumber1fan April 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

leave the kids at home this isnt for youngster

it was before it time but it should of had a higher rating because of the gore of body parts everywhere

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 17 year old Written bydtsa78cfgs9rovw January 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good movie but should be rated PG-13

this is a great movie but it might scare kids under the age of thirteen

Adult Written byMasterPlayer2342 July 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An awesome thrilling adventurer film!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE! I saw it 4 weeks before I was 11 years, and it rocked! but some parts had too much blood, it has some swearing and smoking, But other then that it was a blast! It was the first horror Movie I've ever seen and I don't think it's that scary! It's just thrilling and exiting! 5 Stars WATCH IT!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygarfield2711 March 20, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Thrill Ride that WILL scare you completely senseless.

This movie is awesome. But it's very violent, has strong language and smoking is common (historically correct.) Keep in mind that even though it is PG it would definately be PG-13 or maybe even R today. A graphic scene involves a man going one on one with the shark and blood squirting out of his mouth as he shakes back and forth. A severed leg, a woman and a kid are eaten off screen and we see a decomposed severed head. 2 sharks are killed and are both focused on for a LONG time. Lots of Blood everywhere. For mature teens or people that love horror movies, this one is a must see.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent August 29, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Best Speilberg Film! reccomend it for all ages!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo January 11, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good scare for older teens

It's scary. The shark eats a lot of people, making a lot of blood. I am not sure about what age this should be. I saw it when I was really young and it never scared me, but I saw the Exorcist at age 7 and that really scared me, so everything else paled in comparison. So, use your judgment. You don't want your kid to never go in the ocean again. :)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

not so great

a really scary movie and when it's not scar it's boring.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written bynatman April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

must see movie!

Good movie but lots of violence for a PG-13 movie. There's some scary parts but this a movie for 10 and up.

Adult Written byZotdragon April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bytimorr April 25, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

e.g. You should think twice before going with a tween!

I think it is really inipropiete for a PG movie.All the blood,goor,and violence is inconseable and very shoking.Im only 10 and I regrete seeing it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byprisonbreaker April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Commonsense media needs to have an additional star for this one!

Without a single, possible, tiny doubt, this is the greatest movie ever made. NO horror movie can strain it's ugly legs to even TRY to stand up to JAWS. All you kids who say, "the special effects were awful," and, "I knew it was fake," and i've even heard one, "IT was all talk, no action," wouldn't know the best movie in the world If it bit them in the @$$! Great Directing from my best buddy (he just doesn't know it yet) Speilberg, and some of the best actors to ever hit the big screen; especially Dreyfuss, Shaw, Gray, and Shieder. All parents should MAKE their kids watch this some day. An instant hit for anyone in their right mind.

Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 13, 13, and 15 year old Written byJawsFan3000 October 15, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Bloody and scary classic is best left for mature teens.

My MPAA rating: PG-13 (borderline with R) for intense strong bloody shark violence, pervasive threat, some language, and brief female nudity.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byIlovetwiligjt May 23, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

aaaaaaaahhhh! omg!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague December 14, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Jaws

I'm still baffled why this movie is rated PG. but I dont have any problem with it. Masterpiece of a movie, and a must own for all lovers of action/horror films. Without a doubt one of the most remarkable movies in Steven Spielberg's filming history. 5 stars, and nothing less.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byClassicCultReviewer June 17, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Too violent for kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 13, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

jaws

Families can talk about the fact that this movie is considered the first official "summer blockbuster." What other blockbusters can you think of? What do they have in common? Also, how does the movie build suspense?

What's scarier -- a monster you can see, or one you can't? Why?

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bygoodluckbob September 2, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good movie

good for 7 and up if there allowed to play halo and there mature

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages