All member reviews for Jurassic Park

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrifyingly realistic dinos run amok in sci-fi landmark.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 172 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAngelbro July 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie but scary for littler ones

This is a classic movie that is great for kids 12 and up. It can be gory and scary at times but not something that would give kids nightmares. It takes place on an isolated and unreal island. There are some curse words but younger kids won't realize. Keep in mind that this movie is a movie that things pop out and scare you. If you are going to let your younger kids see this then watch it with them.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old Written byIndiana-Jones June 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Cool for Kids in adolescene!

It's not age-appropriate for Kids under 11. I himself watched this movie with 11 and it's not too much scary and gory. Jurassic Park is more a Science Fiction fairytale for Teenies.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byabbacus May 30, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites.

Very good movie, but to scary for kids. It's a classic you can't miss.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

too violent

all wat it is is this scary dino. dont watch it. it should be rated r.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymoviefan24 May 14, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Intense adventure movie

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byJLFM May 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun for teens, be wary of language

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 30, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

jurassic park is toalty awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

awesome don't miss it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow March 25, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Just call it a CGI Friday

This movie is very inspiring and full of thrills. The special effects are phenomenal and groundbreaking, and Steven Spielberg's direction was stunning. I am also a huge fan of Jeff Goldblum, and I love his constant chaos theory jokes. The only thing keeping me from giving this a full five stars was Sam Neill's performance; I thought he was rather flat, and his constant ramblings of religious messages got pretty boring after a while. But this is still a very good film, and it is sure to shock generations for years to come

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byChuck Reid March 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Even more boring than Jaws.

This movie is HORRIBLY boring.Its only good for helping you get to sleep.

Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar March 11, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A must for anybody

Amazing effects and story

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byDynofan February 27, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

My favorite!

This has been my favorite movie since I was about 4. When I first saw it, it scared the crap out of me, but I liked it. Five stars. One character smokes. I do think the PG-13 rating is appropriate. S--t, d-mn, hell, a-s, b--ch, and god d-mn are used regularly. People get eaten by realistic dinosaurs. A severed arm is shown. An intense and thrilling movie with the right touch of comedy. It still remains my favorite movie because of the dinosaurs and action. Based on the wonderful book by Michael Crichton which I've read (not for 9 and under, iffy for 10 and 11)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJurassicTimes February 27, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A good movie for families.

Definitely a classic film, but not at all outdated. The movie does contain some violence and scenes that may scare kids (the park warded being mauled by a Velociraptor and a guy being attacked and eaten off-screen by a Dilophosaurus.) But nothing that could be considered gory. I first watched this movie when I was at least 2 years old and the entire series has stuck with me since as one of my most favorite films. I recommend this to families, I believe teenagers (13+) should enjoy this film also.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byShadowofchaos41 February 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very good

One of the vest movies I have ever seen

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byfostergirl January 28, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

good but scary

this is a great film, but i am 14 and was scared when i saw it, defiantly not for someone under 12, but over all its a great film with dome pretty gruesome sceanes

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old Written bykranda2000 December 22, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great movie, but kids under 11, beware!

when i saw this when i was 7, i was scared enough to shiver and shut my eyes, but not scared enough to get major nightmares. but, i can take lots of scary stuff, so if you are under 11, i might reconsider watching this. another movie that reminds me of this is "JAWS", a mid-seventees film about a giant killing shark.

Teen, 13 years old Written byILuvCats December 17, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good but it has a word that i don't agree with!!

This is a wonderful movie except....it has 7 God d@mn in it! So i don't watch it anymore. The other 2 in the series don't have that word in them though. I used to love these movies!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 15, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awesome dinosaur movie form the 1990's.

awesome movie. amazing special effects. but some swearing and violence.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeenHorrorReviewer October 19, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Classic adventure/science fiction may be too intense for some younger children

This movie for 1996 had very realistic graphics. Especially the Dinos. It is an excellent science-fiction film, with suspense, and terror. Which is all very realistic. For a movie about dinosaurs, the gore is very minimal. The movie mainly relies on suspense, with dark/light effects, shadows of the dinos, and the music. The scene where the kids are in the kitchen is especially intense. This masterpiece will keep your heart racing and on the edge of your seat. My suggested MPAA rating, PG-13: Intense scenes of violence, terror, language, and thematic material

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old Written byjayman1004 August 28, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Common Sense, get some actual sense!!

Yes. People get: ELECTROCUTED. EATEN BY T REXES. SMASHED IN A CAR WITH BLOOD ALL OVER THEM. But seriously, PAUSE FOR 12. I watched this when I was 8 with no adult supervision. Get some sense!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bycraftygirl202 July 31, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

My Sister Was Okay

My sister was six and was-amazingly-okay. She was a little bit frightened, but not too much. There's a few words like d-mn and b--ch, but not anything worse. She could hardly hear the words and loved the movie. Little actual gore, but lots of killings. Sensitive kids may want to wait to watch this thriller.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages