All member reviews for Meet Dave

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Not as crass as Norbit, but as forgettable.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byKarkatVantas May 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

STOP

FOR GODS SAKE FCKWIT I'VE ALREADY MET DAVE. HONESTLY WHAT DO YOU TAKE ME FOR? YOU'RE ALL SO PATHETIC YOU WHINY LITTLE EARTHLINGS. THIS ABSOLUTE PIECE OF TRASH IS WHY US TROLLS AE BETTER AND FAR SUPERIOR TO YOUR CRAPPY RACE. I MAKE EXCEPTIONS FOR DAVE THOUGH. HE IS ALMOST AT THE LEVEL OF A TROLL.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old Written bydoggielover19 October 7, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good Movie very funny!

funny and totally intertaing! for a science fiction movie (not really my thing) it was great!

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old Written bycutiebear142 January 2, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

i liked it

it was not the best movie but good for kids

Teen, 14 years old Written byvvfrn November 18, 2008
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Kid, 2 years old June 29, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This was a fun movie - not terrible at all!!

I watched this with my 7 year old son and it was great. We both enjoyed it - especially for the raucous, slapstick style.

Even I thought it was somewhat funny.....which surprised me given all the negative reviews. Eddie Murphy did his job well....

All the characters were good actors, fun to watch, and the storyline was positive.

Parent of a 4, 7, and 9 year old Written byRettendonCommon September 28, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A film with some good humanity and laughs

This is a good film which entertains kids with all the 'body as a spaceship' theme and adults with the love interest between Eddy Murphy and Elizabeth Banks....and also quite touching for both in the themes of how to deal with bullying and other things which shows the human race isn't that bad after all really.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykobe2487393847 June 15, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

really funny, good for kids

Meet Dave is a funny and good movie with eddie murphy in it, Dave gets struck by a car and his ankle looks broken,and aliens try to destroy earth, one kiss, and dave gets a drink and the aliens drink it as well

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 24, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really good

People of the world, watch this film!! It includes... Comedy, fun, and a sprinkle of love!

Kid, 9 years old Written byjcoyle91 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

ok but forgettable

I saw meet dave with my friend and it was ok. i laughed at some parts, but all in all it wasn't that good of a movie.

Teen, 14 years old Written bymrvt93 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

so funny its hard to have a minute to breathe with all the laughs

i thought it was a great movie. Eddie murphy was exelent because of his ability to perfectly portray the main character. he was great as dave becasuse he really portrayed how aliens might react when confronted with our society. i would reccoment this movie to anyone.

Kid, 11 years old Written bymasterofvideogames April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Boring

Do I need to do a review to describe this movie?

Pages