All member reviews for Silent House

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Horror movie has more style (and blood) than story.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bynew man March 9, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

why bother

i dont want to see this movie but for those of you that do i would like to tell you that it is rated r and will probably not be meant for kids or teens or any one with a nervous stomach

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypizzagrenade March 25, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Scary but yet... Disappointing.

Though the movie was disappointing when it came to story, it did present what it was made to be; scary. With pop-outs and scary imaging it provided a good spooky feel in the house. It did have some instances of blood and a hint of child pornography and possible rape, so I do not recommend it to anyone under the age of 16 who are looking for something scary to watch. Though, in my own opinion, the movie was very disappointing. After the first few scares. It got less scary, and more about how talented the camera man/woman was when he/she moved throughout the movie seamlessly and without making noise. I give 5 stars to the camera man but only 2 toward the actual movie.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 11, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An awesome piece of work.

Having read up on this on BloodyDisgusting and having watched the original 2010 Uruguayan version of this also called La Casa Muda from Amazon,I'd decided to watch this one.I had to go with my dad as it was R but though I spent 10 bucks on this,I'm not complaining.The film is great,with thrills and chills at every opportunity.Although the film didn't terrify me as it should,some scenes creeped me like the part where Sarah is in her car(Awesome intense scene).A very intense and good plot with 88 minutes of real time filmed though I don't really believe that.Still,if youre brave enough,go see this.The twist at the end totally had me.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byLoneWolf13148 April 9, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What the Heck?!

I saw this movie with two friends in an attempt to get each other scared. The preview was all wrong! The scare factor was alright and most people can relate to the *fixing up the house* story but the ending was B.A.D! I laughed through the ending because of its horribly confusing, and terrible final act. I still dont understand what happened. My guess is that they all went crazy from black mold poisoning! All in all not worth the time. I understand the background of the main character and all but come on! This movie's only good quality was that it was unpredictable... I'm pretty sure NO ONE predicted the gory turn of events that followed the bad camera man. My friends and I still laugh about the shaking images that made us sea-sick during the film.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byngh98 March 14, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not as scary as i expected:(

I was only scared in the part when she took pictures to see nd the ending was horrible

Teen, 14 years old Written bymovieguy97 April 27, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Best

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byPeopleschamp1995 August 7, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Sooooo scary

It was realllllllly scary

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byConor Coyle December 18, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Brilliant!!!!!!!

I thought it was excellent, though the camera can be shaky at times which can be quite annoying but that's not the problem! The scares don't appear often but make some jump when they happen. The cast are great and the twist was good. I won't say it because I would hate to spoil it on some but I can say it's a good one. So take a look at the trailer, some clips and maybe a few non-spoiler reviews.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywonder dove September 11, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Pass on it...

I was pretty disappointed in this one! I was prepared for it to be on the slow side as most reviews I had read mentioned that, but boy...was it slow!! The first 20 or so minutes were good, thought it would turn out great but things kept getting even more boring with absolutely no story! Scary...yes, if you watch it alone in the dark by yourself. Is it fun Halloween material to watch with your friends? Absolutely not...prepare to fall asleep! So I have to rate this with one star and recommend you pass on it.

Parent Written byZhash August 29, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Better than everyone said it is!

Silent House is Rated R for disturbing violent content and terror.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byADifferentFantastik December 19, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The Viewer Beware

starring Elizabeth Olsen, this horror movie is in no way, a healthy family movie.with downright disturbing images and a continual evil presence, the only positive thing in the movie is the bravery shown by the woman's father. there is plenty of jump scenes and real, a lot of screaming. this movie would be plenty frightening for young viewers and the faint of heart. not to mention the crude and illegal objects insinuated at later on in the movie. these objects such as child pornography (or something worse) and some incestual references even make it all the more adults only. all in all, this is no kid's movie, and contains too many adult/illegal references for the immature audience.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking