All member reviews for Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Many kids will like this mustang tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 38 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old Written byhorsenrider April 20, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

The BEST horse movie on Earth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Spirit is the BEST horse movie I have ever seen!!!!!!! WARNING - This movie is so awesome that it will make you cry! I wish I had the bond with my horse like the one Little Creek had with Spirit. I have watched this movie so many times that I can almost remember every word. When I was about 5, I drew a picture book about Spirit because I loved it so much (a very lame attempt if I do say so myself!)
The audio buy Bryan Adams if pretty cool too...

Kid, 11 years old Written bySmarty1999 April 16, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

You have to watch this!

thsi movie rocks! i got around when i was 6 and nothing bothered me. I love horses so that movie was and still is one of my all time favorite movies!!!!!!!

Adult Written byjubajen April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old Written byocie14 February 21, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This movie is great!! the music is awesome!!! ive been watching this my whole life. maybe a little violent for ages 6 and under but its really an awesome movie!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written bysimba11 January 30, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

a great, action packed movie.

next to the lion king, this is my favorite movie. its fun an exitciting, I like the fact that it's for kids and tells a good story.
With little kids, tv's not all about dora.

Kid, 9 years old Written bySailorSweety April 19, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written byroweena December 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

VERY VIOLENT!!! NOT suitable for SENSITIVE Children...

i think this movie is far too negative and violent for any child under the age of 8. to be honest - i would have preferred my child to never see this! i really feel that the 3 minutes at the end where the horse escapes and finds freedom does not make all the negative and scary parts worth enduring... a very traumatic film full of animal cruelty, fighting and fire!

i fast forwarded many of the really violent scenes but to see people mistreating horses that way and no positive message at all... my daughter cried so many times... this is the first time ive seen her sob uncontrollably in a movie! my husband left cause he just couldnt bare it - he said it was a horrid movie! if you have a sensitive child - dont go there - its just not worth it. if you want to see a horse movie consider dreamer or flicker.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewgirl13 April 15, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A beautiful movie

For hardly any talking in this film, this movie was AWESOME! The horses seemed so realistic, so did the people. Kids may be frightened by some people that tie up the horses, kick them, and beat them. But, it's a beautiful tale.

Kid, 10 years old Written byPit bull loverr August 9, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

I wonder if they have kids....WELL ITS SO GOOD U WANT IT TO KEEP GOING!

i LOVED the movie....a great great movie

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byrachelernst.com August 19, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not ready at age 5.

I'm watching this as I type and decided I'm not ready for my 5 year old to see it yet. Certainly not my 3 year old, so it can't pass as a family movie for us. There is a lot of peril and violent interaction. It's certainly an adventure, but by percentage of time spent on negative vs. positive action, I just can't endorse this until my kids are older. It's almost non-stop action and I'd like to keep it more calm here. The landscapes are beautiful. We'll check it out later when my kids are ready for more discussion about it. It will raise lots of questions about violence. But it does lack the typical annoying, base, verbal violence and drama of so many other shows.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byTheShaman April 9, 2008
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Spirit was very enjoyable

Im a big fan of the Disney Animation Full length films. As the general review stated there is some violence and some abuse tward Spirit.... but the film is very enjoyable for adults, lots of adult themed humor that goes right over the kids heads. The kids can enjoy this film as well, lots of action, some fun scenes. In no way was i ever bored nor did i even look up at the clock to see how much time was left in the film. I have a 2 yr old that watched the entire movie with mommy and daddy, and the entire time she just squeeled "horsey's"!! It was very cute. A must see for the whole family.

Teen, 14 years old Written byTwix December 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

About a stallion finding his way back home after he is captured, making new friends and enemies in the process. I remember when this came in theaters and I loved it.

Parent of a 7 year old Written byeswanson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 4 and 6 year old Written bymweissinger July 25, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

sensitive -emotional kids beware

My 6 year old is sensitive and cried multiple times watching this movie. If you have a sensitive child just beware that this movie has parts that are sad when the horse is separated from loved ones etc. that can lead sensitive children to tears.

Adult Written byDr.Pepper October 25, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Not for sensitive children

If your child doesn't want to see animals get hurt, you might want to avoid this one. A train chases a horse, gun shots, cougar attack, and a fire. If you get past all of that it is a great movie.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written byerihamster September 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

STUIPED MOVIE!!!!!!!!!

y can't I watch it. i'm a tween. STUIPED MOVIE WON'T LET ME WATCH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written by4kidshater September 19, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A very good movie despite making me go to sleep and kind of ripping of Bambi

This movie is good, but it kinds of ripoff Bambi though. I remember when it went to theaters and i slept through it, but i liked it. I highly recommeded it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bydrama movie fan December 7, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

a lovely horse film

this film is just lovely. But the vilonce is a bit intense for a rated G. There's lots of threats through gones, and people try to hurt horses. The theme about a brave horse is awsome but i think this is a little intense for a G i think it should have been PG.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byccbluebonnet February 8, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

I absolutely love this movie! I can't put into words how magnificent this movie is! I was six when I first watched this and at fourteen, I still love it! It just about makes me cry every single time I watch it. If you haven't seen it, then this is a MUST SEE!

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

good movie. fave movie about a horse

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages