All parent member reviews for The Adventures of Milo and Otis

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bymr jag January 1, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

One of our favorites

Good for the 4-yo and the 10-yo, too. Enjoyable movie.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bysandnmommy September 3, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

sweet movie

It can be a bit scary but overall my kids enjoy it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 7 year old Written byannefessler November 24, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not recommended

While it is a cute tale, the cats used to play Milo clearly were put in harm's way for filming numerous times. Milo was filmed plummeting off a cliff and going over a waterfall in a box. These scenes were shot from far enough away that we can see that there are not crew members nearby to rescue the cat if need be. We rented this without realizing the controversy surrounding it.

Adult Written byRobertM April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of our family's favorite movies!

This is one of the best children's movies about animals there is. Even adults can enjoy it. There is one scene where a brown bear threatens the cat but the dog "fights" him off. The fighting is not much more than splashing but some children may find this a little scary. Other than that this is a great film.

Parent of a 1 and 4 year old Written bykbierma May 13, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A delightfully sweet movie for kids, enjoyable for adults, too.

My daughter was delighted with this movie. This is almost like a documentary story. There are no humans, just animals and a man's voice as the narrator through the whole movie. The scenery is beautiful and the animal characters are engaging.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 5 year old Written byjbella April 13, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

i love milo and otis.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 year old Written byAmyWP September 8, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Preschool daughter adores this movie

My 3.5-year old daughter loves this movie! She adores animals and she appreciates the friendship that develops between Milo & Otis. When she gets a little older, I plan to talk with her about how the movie was filmed and the controversy surrounding live animal performances.

Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe September 14, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I LOVED this movie when I was younger and still find it charming, although now that I'm older some of the scenes do worry me. There are several scenes which clearly put the animals playing these characters are put in harms way. There are scenes of finding mates and having children but there isn't anything graphic. Overall still a wonderful story for children.

Parent of a 2, 4, and 5 year old Written byyushluv September 5, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

heart warming story

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byRKrieg June 20, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cruelty to animals

This film is delightful to watch, until you realize all the cruelty that was certainly in play during the making of it. Real cats and dogs are depicted suffering and fighting for their lives against real opponents, situations engineered by the filmmakers. Children listening to the narration will not be aware of what is really going on, but it is obvious to any adult observer -- especially when the kitten is flung off a 40-foot cliff into the ocean, or at the top of a tree trying to evade a snake.

Use your "common sense" and don't support this film.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 22, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

the adventures of milo and otis

Families can talk about the friendship between Milo and Otis. How is it special? How did they prove their loyalty to one another? What lessons can we learn from them?

What do you think about the allegations that the filmmakers endangered animals in the making of this movie? Does that change your experience of the film? Does it make you less likely to watch or recommend it?

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bynduns March 3, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I almost feel bad for liking this...

If you know the history surrounding this movie, you'd understand. See, 10 of the 30 of the cats used for this film died on set, like, for real. In other words, these animals were in REAL danger. When the bear and the Otis fight, that's not staged. It's real. Heck, check out the original Japanese version and you'll see a lot of stuff this version didn't want you to see. And even some of the stuff they do keep in makes it painfully obvious these animals are actually honest-to-god harming themselves to make this movie work. Yeah, it's enjoyable as a film, but it's hard to really support such a creation when you know how it was made.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byRebeccandme July 19, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Banned!

Would your kids like this movie if they knew that hundreds of cats and dogs were killed during the making of this movie? It is true. It was made in Japan where there aren't any animal rights laws. It was banned temporarily in the U.S. and ever since in Canada.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An absolutely amazing, wonderful movie!!! A bit gross in the birthing departments, but overall, very tender and loving!

Parent Written byA critical thinker March 21, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Cute, but abusive to cats and not compelling

The seagull scene definitely counts as abuse. They terrorized that cat, then dropped into the ocean from a great height. That's not okay. My kids enjoyed the movie, but I thought it was pretty bad. These farm animals survived a snowy winter in caves without food, and the dogs' cave looked like something from an old Star Trek episode. My older son noticed, asking "what's that glowing green pool?" The pool was bubbling and emitting puffs of smoke; in a cave in the woods, really? It's easy to imagine the animals communicating to one another in Dudley Moore's voice, but some of the other implausibilities were too distracting.

Parent Written byJesseCaf March 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not recommended

My wife and I cringed all throughout this movie as the animals were constantly in situations that you could tell were stressful/dangerous. Although that stuff all went over our 3-year-old's head, we won't watch it again. And they drop the poor cat off a cliff into the ocean...

What other families should know
Too much violence