The Dark Knight

  • Review Date: July 15, 2008
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Release Year: 2008

Common Sense Media says

Excellent sequel much darker, more violent than the first.
  • Review Date: July 15, 2008
  • Rated: PG-13
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Release Year: 2008

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

Extensive discussion of the rule of law versus the rule of force; police and political characters who work within the system are contrasted with the vigilante Batman. Political and police corruption are featured prominently in the plot. The thematic idea of order versus chaos also figures prominently in the film.

Positive role models

Batman is ostensibly the champion of justice, but his methods can get pretty iffy, and many characters wonder just how different he is from the "villains" he tracks down. The Joker is pure anarchy -- he embraces chaos for chaos' sake and doesn't flinch at hurting the innocent to accomplish his goals.

Violence

Extensive, intense violence, including (but not limited to) shootings, stabbings, fistfights, explosions, rocket attacks, grenades, and more. A thug is slammed face-first onto a pencil that's stuck in a table; an underling has an explosive device sewn into his body and then detonated; a hallucinogenic "fear drug" is used as a weapon; dogs are unleashed on victims; a man is set ablaze; cars crash; characters are bound in rooms full of explosives; live grenades are placed in the hands and mouths of hostages; two boats full of passengers are threatened with bombs on-board; suicide bombs are used as threats; knives and guns are brandished. Several characters have extensive facial scarring, either from knives or fire.

Sex

Some kissing; someone walks in on a couple (standing up and fully dressed), and it's clear they've been fooling around; bikini-clad women are shown.

Language

Words used include "ass," "hell," "damn," "goddamn," "balls," "son of a bitch," and "oh my God."

Consumerism

Tie-in to vast quantities of related merchandise. Minimal; the Lamborghini brand is mentioned, and Budweiser products are visible.

Drinking, drugs, & smoking

Cocktail party scenes show adults drinking champagne, liquor, and beer, mostly in the background. Some scenes take place in bars.

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that although this sequel to Batman Begins is an excellent movie, it's also much darker and more violent than the first one. Remember: Not all Batmen are created equal. Even though this movie is about a comic-book character, neither it nor its flawed hero and villain are aimed at younger kids or appropriate for them. The film is loaded with intense action, from bombs and bullets to martial-arts fighting and hand-to-hand combat. In addition to the hard-hitting action, expect some drinking and a bit of sexuality. And The Joker's nightmarish appearance has the potential to frighten viewers of all ages. Much of the movie's buzz surrounds actor Heath Ledger's excellent work in that villainous role -- his final completed part before his January 2008 death from an accidental drug overdose.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

Following 2005's Batman Begins, THE DARK KNIGHT continues the adventures of billionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale), who poses as a playboy in public -- and in private takes to the streets as costumed vigilante Batman, working to clean up the beleaguered city of Gotham. This time around, Batman has allies, including up-and-coming district attorney Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), whose own crusade to stop Gotham's gangs and organized crime families is almost as effective as Batman's -- and, more importantly, carried out within the letter of the law. Weary and battered, Wayne is eager to help Dent so that he can retire Batman's shadowy efforts, but the arrival of a new player, the giddy and grim anarchist known as The Joker (Heath Ledger) tosses a very wild card into the game.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Big, bold, and bruising, The Dark Knight is a prime example of how a high-budget, high-profile comic-book sequel can still be an actual movie -- well-made, exciting, invested, and engaging. Yes, it's going to sell tickets and toys, but credit has to go to director/co-writer Christopher Nolan for making a strong, rich film that gives audiences plenty to talk about and mull over even after the initial adrenaline rush wears off. Like the other filmmakers who've tackled Batman in the modern age, Tim Burton and Joel Schumacher, Nolan has an obvious enthusiasm for the character; unlike Burton and Schumacher, Nolan also has an obvious respect for the character's history, grounding the costumes and action with real character development and focused storytelling.

The actors are all excellent, as well; Ledger's work as The Joker is earning Oscar buzz, and that's not just post-mortem sympathy talking. His swaggering, unhinged take on the character makes for an unsettling, compelling interpretation. As Dent (who, as comic-book fans know, eventually becomes the scarred villain Two-Face), Eckhart also delivers a strong performance that goes much deeper than the special-effects makeup he winds up wearing. Bale's performance is also terrific, whether he's portraying Batman's driven crime-fighting exploits or the quieter moments of Bruce Wayne's struggles behind the mask. Supporting players Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine, and Maggie Gyllenhaal also deliver in their smaller roles. The Dark Knight is two and a half hours long, but it never meanders or wastes time; instead, it's packed to the brim with action, ideas, well-drawn character moments, and surprisingly effective drama.

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about the movie's violence. How does the film differentiate between "good" and "bad" uses of violence?

  • What distinguishes Batman from The Joker? Both are angry and dark; why is one a hero and one a villain? Is the rule of law more important than the rule of force?

  • What does it take to maintain order in the face of those who try to create chaos? Does keeping the public safe from harm justifying curtailing their right to privacy?

  • Talk about the media coverage around Ledger's role in the film. How does a tragedy like his death affect a film's marketing and publicity?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:July 18, 2008
DVD release date:December 8, 2008
Cast:Aaron Eckhart, Christian Bale, Heath Ledger
Director:Christopher Nolan
Studio:Warner Bros.
Genre:Action/Adventure
Topics:Superheroes
Run time:152 minutes
MPAA rating:PG-13
MPAA explanation:intense sequences of violence and some menace

This review of The Dark Knight was written by

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Adult Written bypzacle@gmail.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

How do you explain a psychopath to a kid?

The questions I've received from my mature 12 year old since the movie:

Why do psychopaths want to kill, and wreck havoc, for its own sake?

Are there really people like the joker in the world?

Do we really have to get as bad as they are to stop them from hurting us?

Can they be stopped?

My daughter has had nightmares every night for a week.

My recommendation is that parents exercise a higher level of caution than usual when considering this movie.

Adult Written byjeddsdad April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Intense experience

The Dark Knight went beyond the typical comic book film. It was an Intense experience that took me as the viewer through an wide range of emotions and engaged my brain. While I loved the movie, I came out of the showing needing time to process everything that was thrown at me over the last 2 1/2 hours. This film is definitely not for children. The viewer needs to be able to handle the emotion and reality that is put in front of them. While the violence happens quickly some actions are still shocking. All-in-all, still an excellent film.

Teen, 15 years old Written byChristian_girl March 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Creepiest PG-13 Film of the Year Award

Me and Daddy went to see Batman Begins at the theater. Great, but not the best. Then we saw The Dark Knight. Scary, but really well-made. Daddy says he could watch this every night. Trust me, I believe him. He's much more into eeriness than I am. I looked it up, and that is a word, but that's beside the point. The point is that no one should see this movie until they're a teen. And even then, it might freak them out a bit. Everyone else was good, but the Joker made the show. That also means he was in it a lot. Not only does he look scary, he is scary. People are shot, stabbed, poisoned, burned, blown up, and hanged from a skyscraper. (the gallows kind of "hanged") All on camera. If that doesn't help you decide on the movie, I don't know what will. Besides the language. The start and middle of the movie aren't that bad, but once you get towards the end, it starts getting bad. They take the Lord and his Son's name in vain numerous times. As you can tell by my username, I don't like that. But bottom line. This is kind of a horror film. Do not watch with small children, or any children, for that matter. Well, I guess teens might be okay.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Top Kids' Movies: An Essential Guide for Families