All member reviews for The Hangover

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 13 years old Written byCheerleaderBabe April 23, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Real Review

It was a very good movie. Lots of swearing, but kids hear that at school.. The sexual content is bad, and involves nudity and plenty of talk about sex. If you are 12+, have non-sheltering parents, and love funny movies.. This is for you!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 March 29, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Best Movie EVER! 15+

this is my favorite movie EVER. it is hillarious and a musst see. there is MUCH swearing and referances to sexual things but otherwise an amazing;y funny film. SEE IT!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bytbrandt23 June 26, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone 17 and up that wants to see the #1 comedy of all time.

Loved it, best movie ever. Lots of expliot material (makes it awesome and the funniest movie ever).
NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 17!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written byxianxxx February 24, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Check your morals at the door

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytexskiss July 9, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny for adults ONLY!!!

This movie is STRICTLY for adults! I was shocked by the graphic nature of some of the scenes and observed one man get up and leave the theater during one very offensive scene. There are photos at the end of the movie that woudl garner an X-rating...I was shocked they were allowed in an R! I felt like a needed a cleansing from all the filth in this movie after I left. Funny for adults ONLY!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNando July 27, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Walked out

Three parties walked out of this movie. My husband and I stuck it out but felt we were watching a very low-budget - play it to a dumb or dumber audience.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNoFilth January 15, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Filth

Filth. Ending credits show an oral sex scene. Bad, bad.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byyetijones June 19, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Hangover---Comedy FTW

"The Hangover" (2009) is directed by Todd Phillips, and co-written by Jon Lucas and Scott Moore. It is a absolutely hilarious tale of the misadventures of four men who, in effort to give their friend one of the best bachelor's parties a man can have, end up making a few detours along the way. It leads them through a day of trying to remember all the details of the previous night, this broken memory being where the movie derives most its humor from.

The movie is rated R for pervasive language, sexual content including nudity, and some drug material, though the language is not quite so bad as some would believe; yes, there is constant swearing throughout, but given the mens' situations, I think we can all give them a little lee-way (especially at one point where their memory--or what's left of it---is a matter of life and death). The sexual content is very mild throughout the actual film (an innuendo with a tiger and an exposed breast in one scene, basically mild stuff); however, the credits and their photo reel depict some less appropriate material. And the drug material? It's a movie, get over it. Learn the difference between the real world and the cinematic world.

If you want to see an absolutely hilarious film, with a very good moral mind you, then you will delight as you watch "The Hangover"; I say this film is good for viewers thirteen and up (just don't bring any very young children).

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bytxgirlincali June 16, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for anyone under 20!

Even though the movie was pretty funny it doesn't make sense... if the characters took the "date rape drug" as told to them by the Dr then how on earth did they manage to take plenty of raunchy photos through the night? Doesn't make sense! The directors have no morals or values! Please don't allow your kids to see this trash, esp the credits.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTex August 2, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Very, very funny movie for ADULTS... Yes there is nudity (including frontal nudity). The movie contains bad language, lots of drinking, drugs, violence (hand to hand fighting), and many inappropriate moments. But, for adults, the movie is hilarious.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byxcinemaxfan December 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny movie, but for mature teens and adults only.

I love this movie and thought it was the funniest comedy of the year. That being said I think parents should take caution in deciding if it's ok for their children. I think any mature 13 or 14 year- old would be ok, but not anyone younger.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDzanderX July 27, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

"No Carlos, not at the table!"

AMAZING MOVIE!!! The best comedy I have ever seen. Great movie. Ok enough of the praise. A lot of language. F*ck is used about every other sentence. Most of the sex and nudity is in the credits where photos of the night are shown. There are a few mild violence scenes. This is an amazing movie.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byBettie Free September 28, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Needs to get zero stars

How can anyone with common sense or
TASTE call this film "hilarious"? It may
be the worst movie I have seen in 40
years! My partner hated it,too. We didn't hear
any more than a couple of weak chuckles
from the rest of the audience. Zero stars -
A waste of time for anyone with a brain.

Adult Written byELA July 13, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny, yes. Sidesplitting, even. But appropriate for anyone other than an adult who knows better?? Um, no. Sad that folks believe these rated x scenes are ok for teens to see. .

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9, 10, and 18 year old Written bymindy223 June 23, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

An R rating for a reason. Children under eighteen should not be permitted to see.

I thought this movies was very funny, and great for adults ONLY. There was a large amount of nudity, drinking, and plenty of references toward sex. Definitely not an appropriate movie for children under 18.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLmmatts April 9, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Disgusting

Sad that this kind of movie is considered entertainment. And teens and preteens watch with or without their parents knowledge. It was not funny by a stretch of the imagination. It was crude, disgusting and pointless.. Sad. So sad.....

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymworker July 18, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Crude doesn't equal funny

why would you want a teen to see this ... what is to be gained. Unfortunate how low our standards have gone.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byrybro152 July 2, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Hilarious but not for young kids.

Although it is very funny, it is not for younger aged kids. there are many things wrong in the movie.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bySkramey08 January 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Wow, I can't believe that so many people are saying that this was a funny movie...must be all 19 year old frat boys, because that's the only age group that I can imagine finding this funny. Totally stupid, and just down right vulgar at times. A movie can be funny without having to be so extreme. What a complete waste of my time!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPlague December 18, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Hangover

Absolutly, without a doubt, the funniest comedy of 2009.

Pages