All member reviews for The Wizard of Oz

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Even decades later, one of the best family films ever made.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 112 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of an infant, 4, and 7 year old Written bymommyof3lil1s August 31, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Classic

I loved this movie as a child and although my 7 year old is afraid of the flying monkeys and the wicked witch, my 4 year old LOVES it!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byalllamericanreject November 14, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Best Family Film Ever Made

The movie teaches alot about finding your way home and its goodn to have people help you.This movie is one of the best moovies and family film ever produced.May this movie shall never be forgotten..

The Wizard Of Oz.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybwayboy January 20, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A timeless classic: one of the best ever made

This is my absolute favorite movie and has been since I was 2. My babysitter showed me it when I was 2 and I loved it. It's so imaginative and fun everyone will love it for ever more. It is one the best films ever made and nothing can compare. With great music and design it still will amaze today's audience. The scariness isn't that bad. Even when I was two I never was afraid of the Witch or monkeys (Just the MGM lion in the beginning). Watch this movie you'll love it

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written byMomma Mae January 3, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

It's an all around family movie.

When your watching it with your children. They ask questions or make comments. It's good to let your children explore their own mind and their own thoughts on the movie. Talk to them when it's over. I love this movie and suggest it for children that can understand it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written by4kidshater March 6, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Greatest Movie of all time.

This is the greatest movie ever. This is a great movie for the family. This is a great classic. I absolutely very highly recommeded it.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written byTsion October 16, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A Fun and Magical Trip Over the Rainbow!

THE WIZARD OF OZ is a very well-made movie. It isn't perfect (and those Munchkins are SO annoying!), but it is fun, charming, and magical. The acting by Judy Garland is superb (her "Over the Rainbow" will bring tears to your eyes), and the film is shot in striking Technicolor. It is a great family film with no real inapropriate content. However, some of the scenes could be scary for kids. The Wicked Witch of the West is alarming (green and malicious), especially when she threatens the lives of Dorothy and her friends. However, good triumphs in the end, and all of the heroes are smart, unselfish, and courageous.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byzoe205 December 19, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 5 year old Written bymamabootsy September 30, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old Written byEpicTroy April 10, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

perfect family movie

i liked this movie loads when i was younger and it really good for little kids, also the perfect family movie.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old November 28, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6, 7, 9, and 11 year old Written bymbingh January 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not for kids under 10 - too much violence- I know todays standards are different, but kids are still kids, and the idea of witches killing each other and retaliation against Dorothy and flying monkeys pulling the scarecrow apart was too much for my 6 and 9 year old

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bylindsayclare May 19, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all ages! under 5 need supervision though

I loved this film! was the best childd hood movie ever!!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old December 5, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byWriterGirl1233 May 21, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Perfect For Anyone!

I loved watching this movie when I was 5 I was in a wizard of oz phase anyone will love this movie! :)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written bydancing girl December 22, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good and imaginative movie for young kids. The wicked witch is creepy but its no big deal. Their settings are amazing and younger kids will enjoy this movie. Since it is pretty old, in the beginning at least last time I saw it, it was bad quality.

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written bykumonboy45 November 27, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect for the smallest of children

A nice classic

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byCARING-MOM October 4, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Love this classic - just a touch scary!

My daughter first watched this movie at 4-1/2 years old. She completely loved it, and was not even scared by the flying monkeys that used to creep me out when I was a kid. She was only upset by the thought that the Witch would take Toto away from Dorothy! Love the movie and especially the music!

Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 14, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

in our times,would have been a mild PG.

Kid, 8 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

my rateing

it is ok for kids it is g all ages ad meted

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

SWEET MOVIE

LOVE THIS MOVIE ALSO CUTE

What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages