All teen and kid member reviews for This Is the End

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old Written byILuvHollister June 12, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Hilarious Movie. Most Parents Would Probably Not Want Their Kid To See

This Is The End was laugh out loud hilarious! I loved it! It was entertaining and a fun ride. It was though VERY innappropiate. I mean it was nothing that I hadn't already learned from school. It didn't bother me. But you should know you're child before taking them to see this movie.There is TONS of drugs, like every drug you could think of they smoke or have in that movie. They're is pretty much only one very sexual scene in the beginning where two girls are in the bathroom with a guy where they show the guy's butt. But throughout the movie a porn magazine is shown briefly. Penises on fake monsters are shown but no human ones. Breasts and nipples are briefly shown. LANGUAGE!!! Tons! Every single cuss word you can think of is said at least once. And the F word/F bomb is used over 100 times in different ways, and i'm not exaggerating! Tons of violence and some scary scenes, a scene where a mans head gets chopped off and squirts blood, a scene where a man gets eaten by cannibals, a scene where a man has a exorcism. But in the end there is some positive messages. I really didn't mind anything in the movie. It was definetly not the worst movie I'd ever seen. I have already been exposed to everything in the movie before. I already knew about everything that happened, so it wasn't too innappropiate for me and I'm 12. But PAUSE! Know you're child! Many parents will definetly not want their child to see this movie, thinking that they don't want their kids to be exposed to these kinds of things, but then again I'm pretty sure ALOT of kids have already been exposed to things in this movie but they're parents don't know it... I saw this movie with my friend at the movies, and not with an adult. If I went into the theatre with my parents they definetly wouldn't let me finish the movie...but I already knew and learned about everything shown in the movie. Overall it was a really funny and really great film!

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySean Broucek June 11, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, clever, violent, crude, and star-studded flick too mature for teens.

Parents, your kids and teens will be eager to watch this new star-studded violent comedy from the director of "Pineapple Express", but the sexual content and violence and language makes it best for adults. Violence is comical, but strong. There are explosions, many comedic deaths, bloody images, people possessed by demons, stabbings, crushed bones, characters impaled by large objects including telephone poles and flying debris, a scene where a man's head is ripped off and bloody spills all over the floor, fighting, arguments, and Emma Watson killing fellow actors for beer and cereal. The plot is not circled around sex, but has plently of it. There are references to rape, incest, sexual intercourse, anal and oral sex, constant sex talk, graphic nudity (female genitals, male bare bottoms, female bare breasts, nipples), and a porn magazine is briefly shown. There is casual drinking and drug use, but there are some intense and crude drug references. Violence and sex in this movie may be strong, bu the language is the worst. Includes s--t, p---y, c--t, c--k (and the related c--ksucker), c--t, b-tch, a--hole, t-ts, d--k, b-stard, and 171 uses of f--k (the most of any film made in 2013 so far). In the end, this clever, crude, comedic, violent movie is entertaining and brilliant, but way too mature for teens and kids. Adults only. Rated R For Some Strong Bloody Violence, Language Throughout, Crude Material & Sexuaity, Graphic Nudity & Drug And Alcohol Use.

Teen, 16 years old Written byKatL June 16, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Thoroughly enjoyable

This Is the End is a great Meta-movie, it is full of the usual crude hilarity that actors like Seth Rogen and James Franco have become famed for. I would recommend this film to anyone age fifteen plus, it is totally unpredictable and thoroughly enjoyable to watch. In terms of censorship it references weed and magic mushrooms, it also has the predictable swearing (the usual suspects like f*ck and sh*t) and sexual innuendos. However, this is all in good humour which I assure you, you will enjoy. It has self reverential moments and great cameos from people like Rhianna to Emma Watson (Hermione Granger of the Harry Potter series). If you enjoy watching witty crude comedies along the lines of films like Knocked Up, Superbad or Goon you will love watching this. Nonetheless this is not a film for children it may to appeal with the explosion and fast-paced style , I assure you this film is not for them.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 June 17, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

This is the End is probably the Funniest Movie I've Ever Seen

This is the End is so funny. It is a very funny apocalyptic movie. It has some very gross humor but you'll be laughing every minute. It feels like it is just the right amount of time and the acting is done perfectly. There is not a lot of movies like this but there should be. Enjoy it because there is nothing like watching it for the first time

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byAlextomweasley June 14, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Spectacular, but alittle vulgar.

Kids! Understand this film's language, sex talks, and violence. Though it has the kings of comedy, PAUSE, know what this film can bring out in yourself. Seth Rogen and the others in this film may show kids how to have teamwork! When watching, please remember these words: "Remember what your watching, and what can this film's lesson teach me?''. - Alex

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bythebussinessteen June 13, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

just fine.

The movies. Just fine.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 16, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Trailer Review

This movie looks absolutely hilarious. The cast is top notch and I really want to watch the movie. There is a lot of language and there is meant to be brief female graphic nudity. The violence is very gory aswell. In a trailer, Michael Cera is impaled by a lamp post and the scene is very bloody. What excited me was seeing Emma Watson. She has never done a comedy like this and I want to see if she can pull it off.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byRarui July 3, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Funny for adults, funny for children, but no one under 13!

I'm 13 years old, and me and my friend went to see this movie today. I personally LOVED it. My friend did too. Though, I would not think a good parent should let their kid see this unless you know you're child is fine with the following things. There is some nudity, just two penises and two bare butts (male). Language? If you are fine with your kid hearing every curse word known to man, and trust your kid won't use it, go ahead. 5 minutes in, drugs are mentioned. Many kids know about weed, but if you don't trust your kids with drugs and don't want them to think it's good, don't let them see it. Violence is there, and there's loads of it, but it's in a funny way and if you're not letting your kids see it just because of violence, you are sheltering them. Most of this crap is in movies, TV shows, and video games. There were references to masturbation, sex, and drugs. Don't bring your kid just because they know part of the cast, which they will. If your kid is a mature and can handle it, go ahead, but do not bring them if you cannot trust them with these kinds of things. Don't bring someone who is not in middle school. Otherwise, go ahead!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

DONT TAKE YOUR KIDS, MY DAD LEARNED THAT THE HARD WAY.

NO JUST NO THIS IS EXTREMLY INAPPORPITe. My mom suggested this movie so my dad and I saw it and it was so inapporpite and not funny. We didn't laugh once. I wish I could give this film no stars but I have to give it at least one.

Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

THIS IS THE END Best movie ever

This is the end is a really funny movie and its my favourite movie but it is very raunchy. F--k is used 200+ times, c--t is used once and sh-t is used uncountable times. Despite language there is also violence and sex, in one scene a mans head is sliced off and there is lots of blood, another man gets stabbed in the back with spurting blood and there are many other violent scenes. For sex there is quite a lot a man is shown from behind with his pants down and girls that appear to be licking his genitals and his anus, a giant sculpture of a penis is shown, the devil is shown with a penis and giant monsters have penises, there is also heavy discussion of masturbation and jerking off on porn magazines. Drugs are also heavily present they go over having magic mushrooms, sour diesel and weed, a man blows cocaine In another mans face, Seth Rogen and jay baruchel smoke weed while playing video games in the end a character smokes a cigar after the apocalypse.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 September 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hysterical apocalypse comedy has very bad language and crude jokes, with demons and comedic yet bloody violence

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjamesfranco July 26, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

i love this movie more than myself

i saw this is the end on theaters with two of my friends on opening day...we snuck in. everyone in the cast is my role model to be honest so duh i had to see this movie. i was petrified of seeing this with my parents since ive already seen all of the judd apatow movies and i know what to expect. my mom was ok with me sneaking in because i have already seen so many adult movies. anyways onto this is the end. i laughed throughout the entire movie maybe its because i have the most immature sense of humor because my friends were revolted at certain points and i was laughing. whatever...i kind of feel like they made this movie for me because it was perfect. i think id rather die than see this with my parents so i dont recommend it for anyone who isnt 16...i loved the whole thing like i will start to cry if i think about this movie for long enough it was perfect.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byNo Name, for real. March 26, 2014
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Meh.

usually a movie like this I wouldn't even consider going to. But come on, when its got such a funny ensemble of people in it I had too. Well i have mixed feelings, first off there are defiantly some funny scenes. Although this movie is so not for kids. There is a lot of sex jokes and swearing and nudity that make it all but inappropriate. I like Seth Rogen, and I his and Evan's movie, its really funny and some parts. But also really pushing it most of the time, like the whole Chaning Tatum thing? Come on, really? Overall its good, but be warned of what your going into, cause your gonna come out a tad bit traumatized if you don't know. (Sighs...) Chaning Tatum? Really?

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hilarious!!!!!!!!! my dad really liked it

it is funny, violent but really for mature kids that won't curse after the movie but there are demons in the movie jonah hill gets possessed by a demon and channing tatum is gay at the end and a head gets chopped off might want to watch the movie with your 10 year old

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJeffrey9789 January 21, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The funniest comedy of 2013

This film is very funny and awesome I really liked this film because it had a amazing cast including Jonah hill Seth Rogen and James Franco every scene is a laugh riot I recommend everyone to buy this film it is amazing and everyone will love it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 7, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Pure raunch and silliness!

First off, "This Is the End" is CERTAINLY not for anyone younger than around college age. The movie is very meta, stars parodying themselves in an apocalypse. There's not much to compare it to, it's original in terms of concept. It just comes down to how much vulgarity you can stomach, and if you dig these gang of guys always insane improvisation. The whole thing can feel like one big inside joke, but you'll be glad you're in on it.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDog Bone November 2, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

Very funny but filled with crude jokes and language. Great story line but kinda gets annoying near the end (pun not intended). Will offend many people that believe in heaven. Some violence.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 October 13, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the best comedies of 2013!!

Great movie that shows some great comedy movies came out of 2013. However it contains a scene of nudity, but I wouldn't consider it graphic, all you see is a man butt with a girl in front of him implying sex and a girl behind him also implying sex, and the girl in front of him has a single breast out, but this scene is brief and very comical, and there is a sccne where a man is raped by a demon, but this is offscreen however you do see a shadow of a massive penis before, and another scene where they shoe the devils penis and it just looks like a tree, all of the nudity is rather light and more played for laughs . The language is constant with pretty much every word you can think of, but language is language and believe or not your kids are going to hear it. The Crude humor and Sexual talk is frequent, mainly when Danny comes into the movie, and it is pretty vulgar at times and usually involves language. Some drugs are used and talked about such as Weed, Ecstasy, Cocaine, as well as alcohol. Surprisingly violent with decapitations, Shootings, People getting Eaten Alive, Impalings, ETC. All these scenes are comical however and more surprising, but might frighten younger kids. Honestly if your kid is a really mature 12 he/she could handle this.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byanymovie July 9, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Clever funny movie with freindship. 11 and over

This is OK for 2 year olds because 2 year olds wont get it! But not ok for 10 and unger. I personally disagree with saying that it contains alchahol, because alot of peoples parents drink alchahol in front of them! Mine do, and i have a 6 year old brother.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing