All teen and kid member reviews for "Blurred Lines (feat. T.I., Pharrell)" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byArjunjbsriram June 1, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Videos to be avoided

The song itself has little to worry about. It simply has some innuendo and language but nothing too extreme. However, the uncut video is inappropriate. But it still is not too extreme. If the content of it were put into a movie, it would be a light R rated movie due to the showing of breasts. And if it were a R rated movie, CSM would rate it 15 or 16. Language contains a few uses of ass and b*tch. There was one drug reference in the song but in the video it shows Robin Thicke drinking and blowing smoke into a model's face. The video is extremely sexist and demeaning so children should not be exposed to it.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byshay4ever June 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

video not for children

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byCloudIsC00L723 May 31, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

As long as you avoid the music videos (both of them) it should be fine for mature teens.

The music videos are FOR SURE not for kids and teens. Some of the scenes in the "edited" music video are from the "unrated" version. (Some topless women covering their breasts with their arms). The "unrated" version of the music video was removed from Youtube not too long ago but it's still available on Vevo. For a song about sex that only goes as far as moderate innuendo, topless women in the music video is UNACCEPTABLE. However, I love the song because it reminds me of old-school R&B and I'm glad that a lot of new music (such as Justin Timberlake's 20/20 Experience and Daft Punk's Random Access Memories) is bringing back that style. If your teens listen to Timbaland, then they should be able to handle the SONG (not the videos) just fine. It has lots of innuendo (though it's hard to find new music that doesn't have innuendo) and surprisingly mild (though I don't like the use of 'b**ch') language.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 4, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Robin Thicke hits the extreme.

The song itself is basically about luring a woman to have sex with a man. "Blurred lines... I know you want 'em!" The 'blurred lines' Thicke keeps referencing refers to how nudity is blocked on TV with pixelated bars. T.I. carelessly drops a line in the song, "You the hottest b***h in this place!" The video is artistic, but sex-fueled, with topless women caressing Thicke while he smokes a cigar. But YouTube serves a censored video. I love this song, because of the 70's funky feel. And so I reccomend the song to PEOPLE 19+.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byFoamyCrab June 24, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

"Blurred lines of horrifically insipid cash-ins"

I'll make this quick. Insipid, yes. Sexy, no. Boring, yes. Fun to listen to, no. Doesn't get out of your head, yes. Can I continue, no.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written bymad gamer June 22, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I know you want it

This song lyrics aren't to bad for young teenagers but even the clean version of the music video is not suitable I don't like the way it portrays women but its very catchy

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Blurred Lines bla bla bla....

Ok Ok, I love this song and all, but it doesn't sound like Robin Thicke at all... (sounds more like John Legend... I know my old people) His other songs (his old songs) are WAY BETTER.

source: my mom listens to old Robin Thicke

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old July 8, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Alex's Review of Blurred Lines: A Song Full Of Sex

I think this song has too many sex stuff. Robin talks about sex the whole song like "Baby does it hurt?". By "it" he means sex. The song also has profanity such as @$$ or b***h.

The video has Robin imitating sex and the woman liking his d**k. The video also has Robin drinking and smoking on a model. Also, the video says "ROBIN THICKLE HAS A BIG D**K". However, the clean version shows only the D.

In my opinion, it is too sexual, explicit, has bad song and has too many language. It should be explicit on Google Play and ITunes.

IF YOUR CHILD IS UNDER 17, DO NOT LET HIM WATCH THE VIDEO.
IF YOUR CHILD IS UNDER 15, DO NOT LET HIM LISTEN TO THE SONG OR LISTEN TO A SUPERCLEAN VERSION.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 5, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Horrid

To be honest, I was most offended by those stuffed animals. They were probably shot carelessly for the video and then used just so that these nude girls can sit on them and rub their private parts on these animals which would of been shot to impress Robin. I think that is really sick. I also hate the way Robin basically acts like he's just using the girls, blowing cigarette smoke at them and stuff like that. I hated watching the video, but the tune is sort of OK. I found the music video really offensive.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySantaClaus393904 August 4, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I don't think it's that bad

Kids are more mature than you think. I know a 9 year old who was mature enough to watch a film with the use of the F-word. The words used in this song aren't that bad in my opinion.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byEmma80slover August 5, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great song, explict video

I love this song, but I just made the mistake of watching the unrated version of the video. Talk about ew. Nothing but topless girls dancing around in tiny thongs. Not to mention the bad language. Great song, but I recommend the edited video.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx July 14, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ugh... there are blurred lines between...

over-the-top fun and non-consent. Let me explain, or rather, let me first point out the good parts of this song. It's fun. A very fun-sounding, '70s throwback type song with that groovy disco beat. And I do mean "groovy" in the sense that it has a great groove to it. No wonder, it samples Marvin Gaye's "Got to Give it Up." Pharrell also shouts "whoo!" which I approve of and adds to the fun. I can imagine myself dancing to this (if it weren't for the lyrics, which I'll get to in a minute), putting my (non-alcoholic) drink in the air. Now... what do I not like about it? There's a reason why a Twitter hashtag search (which Thicke and crew are trying to exploit in the video, a minor nitpick seeing as a lot of pop artists are doing that nowadays), #rapey comes up with a lot of responses for this song. Now, before I get blasted, this is just my analysis and I'm sure that Thicke is not trying to come across this way. It's just been so pervasive in pop culture that I don't think he or many other people see why it could come across this way. Considering that he sees this woman as an "undomesticated animal," (it really does irritate me that twice they also use a misogynistic word that should only be used to describe a literal animal, but anyway...) should he really have to be trying this hard to convince her to "hug" him (or whatever rhymes with that. If it's what he's trying to hint at, not a rhyme.)? Blurred lines actually in and of itself hints at what people consider the fuzzy line between consent and non-consent, as in, he pretty much literally says that he hates the fact that these "blurred lines" are giving him mixed signals as to whether they should get it on ("Talkin' about getting blasted/I hate these blurred lines/I know you want it"). Here's the thing, if you're unsure, just walk away from the encounter. The Steubenville incident also had what the assailants considered "blurred lines." Think I'm going too far? It goes further to ask the girl to "do it like it hurt." The video doesn't help either, the explicit or the regular version. It's not so much that the girls are topless or just have skimpy clothing, I mean, at this point this year I've seen three music videos with topless girls, so the shock value has gotten kind of old. Plus, if the women want to dress up that way, all the more power to them. But it actually makes the video less sexy, seeing as they're almost naked and still not doing anything besides walking around, so it gives off this exploitative feel. But what really irks me is the dead expression in the models' eyes, just a glassy, thousand-yard stare... Combined with the lyrics, you can't blame me for getting this weird, non-consensual vibe, like they were drugged. So again, just my analysis, and I'm not trying to insinuate that Thicke actually wants to perform sexual assault, but it is just one more song that adds to the misogynistic aura of pop culture. Want a dance song that has just of a retro-party mood without any of the creepiness? Go to "Get Lucky" by Daft Punk, or "Treasure" by Bruno Mars if that's more your style.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 29, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Sexual and Wasn't Meant For Kids

This song is not for both teens and kids. The unrated version should be rated 18+ because it includes naked woman and a sign with balloons that says "Robin Thicke has a big d--k." The censored version is rated 15+ although it still includes some pornography and multiple uses of b--ch and a-s. There is also some smoking and drinking. Adults can listen to both censored and uncensored, teens and mature pre-teens can watch censored while young kids can't watch both censored and uncensored even though I still enjoy this song.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymunoru July 21, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as thought

Some sex.
Not as bad as people suggest (try searching blurred lines controversy)
Dirty version has bad language.
Rap 14+
Video 16+, 18+

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byCourtney Elizabeth M August 10, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Blurred Lines

i love it! this is my favorite song!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byrebma97 April 17, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Sexist song

This song is admittedly catchy, but the lyrics are demoralizing. It's all about the objectification of women. It also borders on date rape ("I know you want it"). I know Robin Thicke is married and this is supposed to be a joke, but I just find it too disrespectful. Violence: There's no actual violence, but the song does border on date rape ("I know you want it"). Sex: The song is about sleeping with women and includes lyrics like, "You're an animal" and "I know you want it". The music video shows half-naked women writhing on Robin Thicke, and the explicit version has them naked. Language includes "a**" and "You the hottest b*tch in this place!"

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byRhinoceros February 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Song

Overplayed so your kid will hear it anyway. Its a great song and its okay for middle schoolers. Just not the video. Boobs are shown in the vid

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old February 7, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

uhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

stupid rape song dont bother #offencive too women

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMissPretty175 November 29, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Song = great, video = ... SEXIST TO WOMEN!!!

Seriously, Thicke acts like he wants to RAPE those girls ( well, he probably does) . The song is great, very catchy and I can't get it out of my head. The video is sick sick sick and the girls hump stuffed animals NAKED, and it's really horrid. It makes me sick. But, kids are getting more mature these days. If your kid knows sexism is wrong and is mature enough, let them listen to the song. DON'T LET ANYONE NEAR THE VIDEO THOUGH, KID OR NOT.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 16, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

<3 it!

Robin Thicke is so hotttttt and I <3 this song!My mom used to <3 Growing Pains

Pages