All parent member reviews for Dog with a Blog

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byraitch October 14, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not just rude kids- a rude family.

Everyone in the family is nasty to everyone else. I don't know why Disney can't put out more sitcoms with families who aren't constantly degrading eachother.

Parent Written byLilystar November 11, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Very Good Show For Kids & Family!

This Show look like some old classic family show" of the 1990s that "Disney Channel" want all kids & family to watch, enjoyed & love Together. And have a little "Good Luck Charlie" & "Full House" References in it. The Disney Actress G. Hannelius who play 'Avery Jennings' on "Dog With A Blog" is very Talent, Sweet, Respectful & Good Role Model to Kids/Teens.

Adult Written byTinyToya December 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of the worst Disney Channel Shows to Date!

The idea of a talking dog isn't the worst part about this show (even though that's pretty bad), but the acting is all around terrible. The only notably good acting comes from the eldest daughter (G. Hannelius) who happens to be a lot of the brains of the show. Furthermore, Lemonade Mouth star Blake Michael delivers some REALLY weak acting. The youngest daughter is annoying beyond words and cannot act (sorry to say). The parents are just another goofy pairing which is also sincerely disappointing. This show is not really harmful, but will annoy most parents and bore most kids.

Parent of a 10 year old Written bybettyetters February 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate

At first this show was relatively funny and enjoyable. But throughout the first episode, the dog made several ladies man type remarks to/about poodles. The last straw was when the dog was up in the middle of the night and visited "Hot Poodles" website as his "doggie treat". Having the key character of a kids show viewing porn is not okay.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byJellybean mom January 11, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The dog talks. Unfortunately, so do the actors.

Weird casting. The actors playing the parents don't seem to have any chemistry and and their bad acting is just annoying to watch. I enjoy watching some Disney shows but I can't be in the same room with this one. Harmless for the most part but most laughs are from smarmy, fresh talking kids insulting each other.

Parent Written bydisneysusie February 12, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not Disney's best effort

Most of the Disney Channel shows are cute and appropriate for most ages. And even as an adult I enjoy them. I suppose with this one you have to know your kids, but the few episodes that have aired so far have been painful to watch. The acting is poor and the rapport between the family members is awful. I think there is a place for joking and teasing among family members, but this family is down right rude to one another and the parents are certainly not in control of the family. The actors portraying the parents are terrible. They don't have good chemistry (as another reviewer said) and they say weird things to the kids. And they don't seem to know or even like their kids. Just saw the episode where the mother told Chloe (the youngest daughter) that her friend's parents were "stupid heads." That's not funny it is just weird. None of the characters are particularly likable. I'm not an animal person, so I don't even find the dog entertaining.

I think this show could have had a good message about blended families since there are so many out there, but they have even missed the boat on that. There hasn't even been an explanation as to where Avery's biological father is or where the Jennings kids' biological mother is.

Disney Channel can (and has) done better. I agree with another poster who laments the loss of shows like Lizzie McGuire. Sometimes Lizzie's parents were a little goofy (aren't all parents sometimes?!?), but they were shown as a rather loving family who navigated all aspects of growing up together.

Parent Written byaskyourmother June 2, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

poor role models

Poor role models. Too much colusion amongst the kids, lying, secrets from the parents and parental cluelessness.

Parent Written byisaacsmommy June 3, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

major mistake

Omg!! most annoying show ever! I usually don't take time to do reviews but this show is that bad. Not only are the parents hard to even look at but their acting is horrible. Their not a good match and I can't even stand their voices. My 5 year old is even too smart to like it....

Adult Written bybelieber_4ever May 6, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

it has serious moments and sends a good message at times!!!

The thing I like about dog with a blog is how serious it gets sometimes. Not every show has to be goofy and silly and leave the message behind. This show has its goofy moments, but the message is still IN YOUR FACE, you can't forget it!!!! Like on the "guess who's a cheerleader "episode: when the younger sister, Chloe, found out that the older sister Avery dumped her best friend for the cooler kids she was upset. she talked about how she looked up to her and wanted to be like her the most. Then Avery hugged her and you can see on her face that she was pondering over what her sister said. There’s NOTHING wrong with having those serious moments on a Disney show. Someone on IMDb was like "oh they're melodramatic; they need to be more whimsical". WHY? lol what's wrong with having those type of dramatic moments on a kid's show. It sends the cliché message that you shouldn't dump your best friend, BUT it also sends the message that you should be a role model to your younger siblings. The kids who watch Disney NEED to hear that lol instead of bad lessons being sent to them all the time like only care about yourself or trash a principal's office (shake it up). another thing is when Avery talks back to her parents almost instantly she realizes she's the kid and they're the adults and she apologizes for getting snappy or whatever. KIDS NEED TO SEE THAT lol too many kids think they're grown; Avery's an example of a kid who knows her place lol so I give the show a 4 for those reasons :)

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byMazingmia September 13, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Makes me laugh, alittle boring

I think this shows comedy is amazing. It cracks me up (especiially the dog) and the jokes r great! The only thing is i find the episodes alittle boring and i feel like they should make them alittle more interesting. Other than that, G. Hannelius is a really good actor and this show makes me laugh. And i think kids will like it, a little boring for teens but funny :) (im 15 btw)