All member reviews for Jessie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Funny, family oriented series has some stereotyping.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 271 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byGuardianBrother June 28, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Typical :(.

Jessie has got to be the worst show ever on Disney Channel. These kids should not be encouraging such rancid behaviors to others. Judging from the content of this series, the goal of this show is to plant the idea that acting like a smart-mouthed envelope pusher is not only acceptable, but also the latest fad that is set to go on forever. Most shows on Disney Channel are just as guilty of this same crime, however they don't go to the same extent as Jessie. Fairly typical of the modern show geared for kids.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bypetzlover May 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

INNAPROPRIATE!!!!!!

I hate this show beacuse it is so hell bent on putting inappropriate stuff in it. I mean, 'bra stuffing', 'taylor launtner's shirt, on, off, on, off' and 'signs he likes you if he touches you in these areas'? REALLY??! Disney has put in a lot of 'modern' shows but this just crosses the line!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byprincesschercher March 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

is jessie inappropiate

i think it is some what inappropiate for some kids
1: they talk about bra stuffing
2:luke ask jessie if she wants to find his off button
3:in one episode jessie wears a dress that is wayyy to short for her ( it stopped to her thighs) in front of a little boy
4:the kids are too spoiled and ungrateful
5:no kid zuri 's age should have a cell phone

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byDisneyShowReviews March 15, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I am 11. and I can NOT stand this show.

I am 11, and even I have things to say.
First of all, I said this had language in it. It doesn't actually have direct language, but it has play-off's, like: "Son of a biscuit!" or "Go kick some ASStroids." No. Just no.

And now to the inappropriate stuff.
I dont think there is a need for so much stuff about bra's, and when they promoted bra stuffing, I practically lost it. Not funny. Not good.

Or, when Jessie said: "Do you have an off button?" and 12-year-old Luke said: "Yeah.....Wanna find it..?"

Or when Jessie said: "Somebody pinch me, I must be dreaming." and Luke went: "Okay" And headed directly for her chest before she stopped him. No. Ew. Gross.

OR when seven-year-old Zuri was talking about how an imaginary girl was destroying her toys. She said: "and you don't even wanna KNOW what she did to my Build -A- Baboon. Now he'll never have kids!" Seriously? She is seven, for goodness sake!

I also do NOT like the fact that all the kids have iPads, iPhones, ect.
Did they ever think about the people that can't afford those type of devices? And why did they give Zuri a iPhone/iPad? What? Again, SEVEN YEARS OLD.

And the whole plot is cheesy, shallow, stupid, and occasionally offensive. What has Disney come to?

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byXxxCookieXxx February 15, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

WAY too sexual

This show is okay, but the sexy rating should be 4/5. This show is NOT appropriate for kids. Somehow this show gets away with all sort of sexual stuff. For instance, in one episode, Luke (years younger than Jessie who is supposed to be 18) says "...and maybe after dinner we could...." while reaching for her BUTT. Another episode, Ms. Chesterfield is hitting on Bertrum and at one point she's trying to show off her butt. I could just go on and on about these sexual "jokes". Ravi is one of the characters that bugs me the most. Ravi is supposed to be Indian, but he is doing everything over the top. He goes on about where he comes from and the things he is saying are all stereotypes. Please be warned before letting kids watch this!!!!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byAhsoka. February 15, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

No parent should ever let there kids watch this

A girl asking how to stuff a bra with her private parts does not belong on a so called "kids" show, and Disney should be horrible ashamed to air this show!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySlipperyQ January 25, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Nothing Special

Honestly, I think the show tries WAY to hard. The story is cliché. The jokes aren't all that funny. If you want to expose your kids to fresh, smart, original television, these are a couple of reasons this show isn't it.

But the CHARACTERS, my goodness... They infuriate me. They're stereotypical, obnoxious, shallow, and downright dumb at times. They don't have a care in the world or a thought in their heads. Sorry, Disney, but that's not real- real people are more than just cardboard cutouts. If you aren't going to make characters that a kid can even begin to think of as real, you don't deserve to be aired.

Teen, 13 years old Written bysnapplegirl448 January 15, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WHY?

Why does Luke have to have a crush on Jessie? He's in 5TH GRADE! COME ON DISNEY! Why does this family have to be rich and in New York? Why is that butler hate his life and the kids? Thats kinda mean! Is this a Disney version of Angelina and Brad? Adopting Kids? I think so!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 2, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Jessie

debby ryan comedy is purfect for your yougsters.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written by_rose0816 January 2, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not the best

This show is not a show for kids. It's likes to sneak in sexual remarks that are not appropriate. My brother watches this show and it doesn't influence him in a positive way at all. Debby Ryan isn't being a role model. And the plot of the show is poor. It's disappoiting.

Teen, 17 years old Written bykiarradaly December 25, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I HATE JESSIE

DO NOT BOTHER.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old Written bylivieluv23 December 7, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

pretty good some stupid parts

jessie is 1 of the few good disney shows but there are some things i dont like.i have a close indian friend who lives on an indian reservation and i have never heard her or her family scream "GREAT GAMESH!!" like ravi does and mr.kippling is retarded

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old Written byMADLover November 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not good

Not that good for little kids. Reference to "A#@" and very bad sexual acts. Not cool!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old Written byimaginationiskey3 November 8, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Okay...

I think that the show can be inappropriate in certain points. It promotes dating and clothes and the typical teenage drag that you see nowadays. The messages the show sends can be somewhat good and educational, but overall, the show is disappointing and dismal. Disney's lost it's old family-fun touch, and has officially morphed into the kind of material that is appropriate for 16 and up.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old Written bySamuel M. October 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Jessie needs to unfriend Pedobear, alright?

Jessie may seem like the new kid of a great big school of TV shows, but besides its heartfelt entertainment, jovial humor, and quippy jokes, it is also a bit inappropriate, besides in the promos when one of Jessie's bras slipped from her suitcase. In one episode, Ravi says he is telescoping bikini-dressed ladies; Luke pushes him aside, but he is disgusted at what sees, and yells at one of them to "put on a shirt." I don't think kids should be encouraged to telescope shirtless women, nor should they be watching someone telescope them. See? I'm confused if this is Jessie's adventure, or Duke Nukem's adventure. Either way, be warned that it's a slight bit inappropriate (like, 23% of it), but still family enjoyable.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old August 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

REALLY Dissapointed

I used to think that Jessie was a great show.......until I looked at the reviews and saw the other side of the equation.Here is a review of my opinion of the characters. Zuri- she is a sassy girl who thinks she can basically do whatever she wants starting from episode number one. In the beginning of the first episode when Jessie finds herself in front of the penthouse building, Jessie's bra falls out of her suitcase. Too embarrassed to admit in front of tony what it is, she says its a slingshot. Then Zuri snickers and says"she doesn't know that it's a bra"! It's pretty inappropriate for a little girl to actually know what a bra is! I know that everything in tv doesn't have to be exactly the way it is in real life, but really. She's rolling her eyes in front of every body thinking if she just pouts she can get whatever she wants.
Emma- a fashionista who's character basically tells little kids that at school, you should be more conserned about. What heels go with your miniskirt rather than what grade you're getting in science. Emma always talks in this exaggerated 'duh' tone that would make me feel like an idiot if I was talked to like that.
Luke- WHY ON EARTH SHOULD A BOY IN MIDDLE SCHOOL BE FALLING HEAD OVER HEELS FOR A 18 yr old NANNY?????? In the first episode as soon as Mrs. Ross said that Jessie was hired, Luke asked his mom "can I date the new nanny"?
Ravi- i think that Ravi is basically the only sensible character in a slightly exaggerated way he absolutely insults the Hindu religion yelling all sorts of stupid things. When he's not doing that, he's a sensible kid who's kind of a geek
Jessie- a combination of Luke,Emma and Zuri
Hope you find this review useful!

Kid, 12 years old Written byReviewer565 June 7, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very poor

There is a few reasons why I think show is a don't bother.
Firstly, there is an episode when a seven year old named zuri, she watches a movie about dolls that kill. She disobeys her nanny and watches the movie. As they show the dream Zuri is dreaming is her dolls crawling up to her. Do you guys remember, chucky the doll. Well the dolls looked super scarylike him.Secondly, there is a episode about when Zuri says that her teddy can't have babies. A seven year old is too young to know that. Very poor and dissapointing Jessie and Disney.

Parent of a 9 year old Written byCvJ82 April 12, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

OMG, JUST DONT!

The actress that plays that Jesse girl is WAY TOO OLD for this channel. There are so many stereotypes on this show...so much RACISM. It's disgusting to watch. My son is FORBIDDEN to watch this show.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byKindOfEpic April 10, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ReRuns Of Jokes

I hate This Show its just adding reruns of jokes from older shows. This Is Probably my Least Favorite Show!!!!!!!
12 years age

Kid, 12 years old Written bySapphireWatermelon August 14, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Bad acting

I don't like this show. A lot of the acting is below what you'd expect from an elementary school play, and there are SO many stereotypes. Add a huge amount of sexual jokes and you have a very bad show. Cameron Boyce is possibly the worst actor in the cast. Debby Ryan isn't bad but not great. The rest range from so-so to disappointing. Skip it.

What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages