All teen and kid member reviews for Ni Hao, Kai-lan

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 37 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old Written bygamecock40 February 9, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

everyone should watch out if over 5

well for toddlers probably good but when this first came out (it should be off after 5) because when i saw that monkey thing it made me cry because the characters are too small and adorible and im a boy!!!but good for toddlers.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written bybrandonneo6425 March 3, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

appropriate- ish

Langauge:xhei xhei sounds like"s**t s**t"!

Teen, 15 years old Written byKhalil Withers March 23, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Ni Hao Kai Lan's 10 Year Return

I love that series, it should have villains and new characters. My own project will bring them back soon. That series has been cancelled for a long time. My own crossover with that series will be "Ed Edd n Eddy". It'll be called "Ed Edd n Eddy and Ni Hao Kai Lan: New Dimension", my own created character will be the main character of my own series, I hope you will love my project.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bytonytorresan884 December 25, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Crappy.

This show has characters that I CAN'T STAND. THEY ARE SO ANNOYING. THIS SHOW IS GAY. The songs are ALSO HORRIBLE. Avoid this show like cancer.

Teen, 16 years old Written byEntertaimentCritic88 November 26, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I hate this show.

This show is f-ing awful. It's not as bad as Dora the Explorer, but it still sucks. The characters are so annoying and the theme song is annoying. Oswald is so much better than this s**tty show.

Kid, 11 years old September 14, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Positive Show, Chinese Dora Counterpart (but better)

Good TV show. I occasionally look up an episode and watch it online. Some parents complain that Kai Lan is racist, but I don't think so. She is a girl in the country long ago, with her Ye Ye (paternal grandfather.) It does remind me of Dora, and yeah maybe it is a Dora knockoff, but its good and that's all I care. One thing that I find annoying is "Say it louder!!!" but Dora did that too.
Positive messages.

"You made my heart super happy!"
-Kai Lan

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byReviewsandFun8910 August 30, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Another abomination of children's television.

Kai Lan is just another ABYSMAL show Nick Jr calls "television". It's really repetitive, corny, and just WATERED DOWN. I've only seen the first episode, and it was so crappy, I never watched this show again. Just like Super Why and Sid the Science Kid.

Teen, 16 years old Written byX-Agent August 19, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

YOU THINK KIDS WANNA SEE THIS GARBAGE?!

This show teaches kids to kick and hit and stomp around! However I'm allowed to do that since I'm 16 years old and my brain is fully developed. However this show is horrible! Don't even get me started on how bad it is. This gets no stars.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byMrMovieBuff July 14, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

You're joking, right?

Really? Another show that breaks the fourth wall? How creative (sarcasum). Nick Jr, you just get worse and worse everyday. This show is garbage and the songs are just idiotic. Ni Hao Kai-Lan is a disgrace to television. I hope it gets cancelled.

Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

:)

It's cute,

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnimeIsAwesome808 May 7, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Bland, cheesey, and hard to swallow.

Really annoying show. It will make the kids sing stupid songs and break the fourth wall all-day. That sucks. I really hate the characters. They are annoying and horrible. If I wanted to learn chinese, and had to pick between reading a book or watching this crap, i'd choose the book in a heartbeat.

Teen, 15 years old Written byRocketboy1998 April 9, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

What the heck is this?

Even though it is fine for little kids, it is utterly annoying. The songs are HORRIBLE. I'd rather listen to Justin Bieber than ANY song on this garbage. Yes, it sucks THAT hard. The animation is just gross and the theme song is very crappy. Avoid Kai-Lan at all costs, you'll thank me for saying that.

Teen, 13 years old Written byStockton Haterz April 6, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

为什么这个节目评分TV-Y,而不是TV-MA-LSV?

倪浩,蘭開尼克Jr。提出其生產成人游泳。我認為你必須至少17歲,是看這個節目。開蘭比南園,橫行霸道,和使命召喚更多的暴力。

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byslimyfrog87 January 13, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Kai Lan says bye in Italian

It is the best except for one slight error. Kai Lan says bye incorrectly. I took Chinese class in 6th grade. The teacher (who is Chinese) said the correct way to say bye in Chinese is zei jen (si jen). Kai Lan says "chow". I have learned that "chow" means bye, IN ITALIAN.Maybe she is part Italian or Nick Jr never learned Chinese. It could even be that they lied to the kids because the real way to say bye is hard to pronounce. Also, I agree that the show is a little too violent because the tiger stomps around and is almost always mad. I think the rhino, koala and the monkey are adorable though. I think it would earn two more stars when they fix at least one of the problems

What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byDuper_Drew July 28, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

I didn't need to see that.

I hate it when they copy off Dora.By giving a kids show stupid stongs,and making the characters break the 4th wall! This show is pathetic! It's even pointless! The theme song is obnoxious and the animation is horrible! Stop copying off Dora!

Kid, 11 years old Written byJdogrules October 18, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great show for toddlers.

Parents need to know that this series gives good messageds to the pre-school audience and teaches some pretty good chinease.While kids 2-7 will like it...this might not be enjoyable to the Tween and Teen audiences.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old Written bykimtalks February 21, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I love the show!

I love to watch this show even though I'm to old for it.I watch it on Noggin channel 223 on my TV.Ni Hao Kai-Lan is good for younger children because it teaches good manners and how to identify feelings.It also helps preschoolers cope with their feelings.

Pages