All member reviews for Dead Space for iPad

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Ultra-violent, gory horror game that's not for kids.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarkArcher April 22, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

For Daring Older Teens, but no-one younger

Wow, this game is amazing especially for it's platform. But besides the awesome controls, gameplay, and graphics. The creators went way over board with the violence, blood, gore, and horror. Bodies will start falling from empty slots in the celling, and fly across hallways leaving a trail of blood. The game is sure to startle you when Necocromes (the main enemy in the game) tackle onto you out of no where. When this happens you will be forced to saw their arm off or face death. Other creatures with jump on you out off no where making you have to rapidly tap the screen or shake your device. If you fail to finish the commands in time. The consequence will be having your neck ripped off, getting a claw through your throat, or having your head eaten off. Your teammates helping you get out of space alive swear like sailors and will sometimes freak you out when you hear them being mauled by aliens over your communication devices. Overall the game is really fun, will shock you, and get you pumped up as if your watching a scary movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bychriz123 April 25, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

awesome game

awesome game ...though it can be intense i wouldnt let a kid play this because it even made me jump in the first few levels... its rayed 12+ but id put it at 17+ cuz of cussing and gore but if yer 14 or up i highly recomend it and its worth the money
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I frickin love this game the graphics look like a console game i play it daily and it is totally worth $6.99 get it NOW
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycatcat22 February 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
love it its good but preety violent and scary dead things come back and try to kill you so mangled half eaten bodies some mild language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awsome and worth the money

Great game!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byoscar buffalo December 25, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great not as bad as you think

Great game but lots of limbs and blood
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byAwesomeTingle July 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun game! Violent, pretty bad language, but not horrible

This is a very fun game! It is very gory though, with blood and bodies all over. 3 uses of the f-bomb in the game. The game seems really bad and gory and violent, and it is. But the longer you play it, the more numb you get to it all. It becomes a fight for survival, and you don't really notice the bad stuff in the game anymore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byantoineisthebest July 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

dead space

I just buy the ipod version for my ipad it's expensive but it's not in hd
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byjasonc506 January 30, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
This is an incredible console experience. The gameplay is very easy to pick up and play. Though the game is quite violent I think it has been toned down a bit from the console versions. Language is infrequent but sometimes fairly strong. Overall great game that last around 5 hours.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 11, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Very good game!

GOT THIS FOR MY IPAD AND IPHONE.ITS TOTALLY WORTH YOUR BUCK.GO GET IT NOW IF YOU LOVE THE DS SERIES!
Teen, 13 years old Written byswagshyguy15 September 8, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Game - Just Remember That It's Still A Little Violent

This is an okish game. It's pretty good but it's quite limited compared to the console ones. The violence and gore isn't so bad, it's more scary than gore in my opinion, but there's still dismemberment and things like that. So you can choose if you want to pay $6.99 for this. I don't think it should cost that much but that's my opinion and hey, I got it on sale (100% off!).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byMu51c4l1f3 January 20, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not that gruesome

The mobile version of Dead Space is a lot like the Series. But it is a lot less violent. I have beat the game twice. There are less ways to die than in Dead Space 2. Vandal only says F*** twice in the game. The blood spewing isn't that realistic.
Teen, 13 years old Written byyoulouz26 August 15, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Dead Space Mobile

Super fun if you enjoy horror for older teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 May 16, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Gory, and scary, but still Fun.

Dead Space the app is gory, but not as bad as the Console versions. It has Language some of it strong, but it isn't always frequent. There is strong blood and violence. You walk around and see blood on the walls, and floors. In order to kill one of the creatures you must take off his head or limbs. There is constant jump scares, and I am not to scared of apps, but this one is one of the only exceptions. I think a mature 11 could handle it. If it were rated as movies are rated it would be R: Strong Bloody Sc-Fi Violence, and Language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byBurgaMonsta April 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Dead Space

If your child like sci-fi and aliens, then this game is perfect for your child. although it is quite violent, it is still a good choice if your child like sci-fi and aliens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBushMan6 May 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Awesome game!

First off, this is a really good app for hard core gamers using iOS devices. Has plenty of gore and blood. Swearing is sometimes strong(see their review for which words are used.) However only 5 strong ones are heard through the game(I beat it on normal in 3 hours), but you can do a "New game+"(restating the campaign with all of you equipment) Then you will hear all of the words again. I said there is a positive role model, because the main character in the beginning really messes up, then does everything in their power to make it right. Evan if it means dying to fix it. This is one of a very few apps that fells like a console game while playing it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism