Parent reviews for Discord - Chat for Gamers

Common Sense says

Voice chat for gamers has slick features, mature content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 47 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 33 reviews
Adult Written byGracelyn M. May 9, 2018

Misconceptions

An issue with a lot of the reviews being left on here, as it seems, is parents complaining about different things that their child has been exposed to within the app itself. My first thing I'd like to address is that each user has a username and an ID number, making you hard to find unless you join a server/give out your name and ID, as both are needed to add people. Blocking a person and/or simply denying their friend requests are simple ways of handling this straight off the bat, and let's not get into the settings that you can put on your account to prevent people you don't have added, don't share a server with, etc, from messaging you. Leading on from this, Discord does have a setting that will automatically block what you don't want to see- mostly NSFW things that I imagine many parents don't want their children being exposed to. However, as stated in Discords rules/terms of conditions, server owners are required to have a set channel for NSFW content that requires you to confirm your 18+ and safe to view. In that retrospect, your child made that decision to view that content, and is not at the fault of the server owner or Discord itself, because quoting Teamspeak- "This is Teamspeak, not Spyspeak". Discord is a widely used platform, and it's quite frankly not possible to constantly go through hundreds of messages in several channels from one server at a time. If you'd like to sit there and attempt to do that, then be my guest. Another time to point out would be that, upon being sent a Discord server invite link, it shows what it's called and how many people are on it. All you have to do to leave it is just right click it and press 'Leave Server'. If someone made that decision to do that, then that's their own fault. For your child to have joined a server based around sensitive topics you don't really want them to be around, they would have had to have looked one up and made that conscious decision to join it. I know you may want to think that your child is sweet and innocent and weren't put up to it voluntarily, but that's quite frankly not true from someone whose been using the app for over a year now. I know it inside out unlike many of the reviews here, and I hope that this clears a few things up.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byHeather H. December 13, 2017

Parents Beware - This app can be used for non-gaming

When our 19 year old came home from college, we checked the phone as we do with those that live in our house. We saw this app and opened it. we were horrified to see the different groups and the beyond mature content - language, graphics, etc..... Also people can message each other and it doesn't pop on the screen like a text does so it is used to have "hidden" conversations. If your child has this for gaming they can be added to chats. Be vigilant about checking this app if you allow it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLeo K. October 23, 2017

Discord: Fun and safe

When my 2 children begged for Skype and such, I looked into alternative options, due to the pricy nature of it. Discord seems to be perfect from a safety standard and my children can chat to their friends very easily. It also is ideal for them to play games together with. They've also set up a Discord serer for their classmates and talk regularly on it. It may be new but I feel that in the future it may very well replace programs like Skype. In conclusion, I highly recommend it from a parental standard, and from a friend standard. Treat your children, and maybe even set up a server with them. It's all so easy and it's free. No annoying ads, either. No need to say no to Discord.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byHere I am! S. April 8, 2018

Its the groups, not the app

The app is great, no ads, easy to add your friends, etc. The thing that bothers me the most, is how parents think there is so much NSFW. Its the groups your kids join, not the actual app. Its going to be your child's or your fault for letting themselves/the parents get through to that group. There is a setting for a NSFW channel if your in a public server, and if you wish to go to it, it will ask if your 18 or over, of course children can press yes and just go through it, but its the parents or the childs fault.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 8 and 13 year old Written byEllen H. March 18, 2018

Free Reign ADULT CONTENT

I'm giving this app one star based on whether the app is age appropriate for my kids. We just discovered Discord on our 13 year old's phone. (he found a way to bypass our approval requirements). Though we regularly check his phone, we somehow overlooked Discord. While it may be a gaming app, it does have private chat features. Our son was exposed to explicit sexual content, including videos, pictures, chats and video chats. There are also groups that are not gaming related and may have negative impacts on your children. Again, access to adult orientated topics. Many of the messages were from people seeking help, talking about suicide, doing drugs, cutting etc. I have no idea how old any of the other discord users are since I cannot view much detail in their profiles. They also hop over to a connected app, SKOUT, which is equally concerning. I do not recommend this app for anyone who is not an adult. If you are an adult, the rating

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 12, 15, 16, and 18+ year old Written byamyk0202 April 13, 2018

Deceptively marketed to kids (gamers) but no control over content

As a communication platform, I think that Discord is quite good. It allows people to chat and screen share very easily. The problem I have is that they are pushing themselves as a platform for gamers, frequently children, but they do not limit the platform to gamers. *Anyone* can set up a server on Discord. If they want to have adult material, they are supposed to tag their channel with "NSFW". The terms and conditions for the site prohibit glorifying self harm, suicide, eating disorder, pornography & illegal activities, but from what I've read, they do not have the staff to police the channels & rely on users to report it. Basically, anything goes--the most horrifying pornography & hate speech can be freely found & easily downloaded--as I found out with one of my sons. If a 14 year old can find it, a company monitor could find it & delete it--since it is, after all, against their terms & conditions. This leads me to believe that they are not looking & have no interest in ridding the platform of these channels. They have a "Parent's Guide to Discord" which explains how to set up your account so that it will block explicit content or block certain people from contacting you or friending you. This is basically just flipping a button in the settings. There is no way to prevent a child from going back into the settings & flipping that button back to re-enable explicit content. When I contacted Discord Support, they confirmed that there is no way to password protect those settings. The setting are useless unless you have the world's most compliant & non-curious child. I would strongly recommend that no child under 18 be allowed access to Discord unless you are able to actually watch & hear what they are doing the entire time. It's a shame, really. I think the parents who have given positive reviews of this app don't realize the full scope of what their child is able to access.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCarin F. February 3, 2018

Discord

My daughter signed in to this "kid friendly" app while building on mine craft. Someone began talking to her and told her he was 37, and had been in jail for selling pot. She is 9. I cannot believe parents rated this site 10+!

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written byShelby D. February 25, 2018

Should be 16+

Kids who are not gamers use this app and can chat with strangers easily. It’s easy to delete and install the app and to set up an account with no controls. My 11 year old was chatting with strangers using explicit language. Kids should be supervised when using

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byJJ J. April 15, 2018

Not for young teens or tweens

The app or site itself is nothing more than a social media chat site, however, the content can be very persuasive to young teens, depending on the crowd they choose to chat with. As with any social app or site, there is no way to prove the person your kid is chatting with is actually another teen, adult, or online predator. My daughter used the site with Minecraft and most of the discussions did not center around gameplay, instead, it was focused on transgender and sexual topics - and she was easily influenced by these online friends. My advice - be very plugged into the content being discussed by your kids, not only on Discord, but all social media platforms. Young teens and tweens are easily influenced and these discussions could go against all the morals you are trying to instill within your children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLori A. February 12, 2018

Chat allows sexual connecting/chatting

This app allows for anyone who uses it to connect with people they do not know and chat with them. It allows for sexual content and there are no restrictions to what children can talk to others about.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byrandy m. November 21, 2017

Admins have too much power.

Admins can change the usernames of anyone in the server, without consent of the individual. There is currently no way for the individual to opt out of this "nick-name" feature. So unless you enjoy someone changing your name every 2 minutes trying to piss you off, I would go somewhere else. Don't support a site/app that has OP admins.
Adult Written byJack M. June 12, 2018

Great for gamers, kids, and easy to use, swearing can be **BLOCKED**

Discord is a great software for many, including 13+ year old kids. I've recently noticed many parents say the negative side of this is that it allows nudity and swearing. Well, there's an easy fix for that, Discord recently updated and added a feature that scans all messages checking for images containing nudity. A fix for the swearing part, there are bots that help manage your server, in this case, can be Dyno. Dyno's a bot that can do just what we all need, blocking swear words, it can be extremely useful. You can add it by going to (https://dynobot.net) if I recall correctly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bylxser.z October 17, 2018

It's sad to see what's on this site.

If you want your kids to be exposed to sex, pornography, bad language, racism, and sexist people, this is the site for you. Everyone is extremely rude on this site. They talk about private parts CONSTANTLY. They shame you and cyber-bully all the time. They have to respect for women and women on this site are normally just on to expose naked pictures of themselves. As a 13 year old, this is not what I want to be exposed to nor do I want other kids to be exposed to.If you see their homepage, they are showing off and saying they are better than Skype and Teamspeak, which I see very immature and rude. You will find Discord admins acting like a 10 year old very often. It's seriously sad how stupid and disrespectful people on discord will be to you.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byparentandeducator1 October 15, 2018

Closely monitor all use - safety concerns

Discord is a fully functional audio and text chat platform that allows kids to share images, videos, text and participate in live audio chats. The platform is based around chat channels and servers that people can create around various interest topics. It integrates with game platforms like Steam and Xbox (allowing a linked gamer profile) and can be connected to social media accounts. My review here is about kids who are gamers, who use discord to communicate with other kids who play the same games as them around the world. The platform is heavily promoted to kids for this purpose, and that's a source of concern as a parent for a few reasons. On the surface of things, its great that kids can interact with kids around the world and chat as they play. I have no problems with that. The thing is, all of the profiles are anonymous handles and you have no idea who your kid is talking to, how old they are.. nothing. Perfect environment for grooming if you ask me. On that level, it's flat out dangerous. There's no question of that at all. After seeing my 11 year old son use Discord I decided to log on to his account to check it out. I spent a few hours looking at what was going down and also checking out the platform itself. I'm a pretty tech savvy parent, so I can find my way around this stuff quite easily. I was pretty worried by what I came across. There's quite a bit of porn, swearing and kids really testing boundaries with each other to out do each other around being 'tough' with this stuff. The big problem with it is anonymous profiles and that there is no effective content filtering at all. Kids can create servers around a topic or theme and then add text and voice channels to that with sub-themes. This directs discussion on various topics. As a user who is running a server I, and anyone that I make an admin, can add channels and invite other kids to join. I could join as an adult, and that worries me a lot. No age checks or verification processes are in place. Discord claims to have content filtering. Well technically it does, but it is controlled by the user, which is a totally ridiculous idea when it comes to kids. A child can elect to filter their messages and have them 'scanned' before the arrive. But they turn it on or off themselves! Why bother with it at all. Admittedly, a 'virtuous' child could create a channel and turn on a filter at server level but none of the servers I looked at had that turned on. The server functions allow for channels to be created that are NSFW (which most of us understand as Not Suitable for Work) but they translate that to kids via a cartoon character called 'Wumpus' so they translate NSFW as 'Not Suitable for Wumpus'. NSFW is an 18+ concept signalling porn and other content. I find it pretty amazing that a platform like this can promote this idea to children via a cartoon character. It's normalising stuff like porn for kids who are too young to understand it. I think this is irresponsible and I feel a need to alert other parents to it, as it signals a kind of sick culture in the company. It's like 'we're being responsible because we're creating spaces away from the main channel for kids to post NSFW material. Anyone can view these channels. The only thing that happens is a click through warning appears that the content is ahead, you certify that you're 18+ with a single button click (no age verification required) and you're in. Yeah right... that's one hell of a control!! Maybe they should go and take a look at how Roblox does this stuff to see how they might do it better and also maybe they should stop encouraging kids in this way. So if you are going to let your child use this platform, you will need to commit to monitoring and reading the messages they are sending and receiving from time to time. You'll need to decide whether they can be on servers that have NSFW channels. My audit of my son's servers turned up NSFW channels in most instances. Beyond this channel naming convention, there's nothing to stop kids posting this material in regular channels if the 'kid admins' allow it. A lot of the time the admins are posting this stuff themselves. My take away is that you need to view this platform as an entirely unregulated and make your own decisions about whether to allow participation or how to monitor your child's activity (I would suggest closely and regularly). Another important thing to mention, which relates to game addiction, is that a lot of the servers have a rank system of seniority which the kids are obviously keen to earn. It gives them a sense of status. These ranks are usually given out according to the number of hours a user spends in the channel, as you need to be seen as a 'worker' and put in the admin time on the server in order to get ranks and promotions. This is a huge concern for me, as it incentivises excessive screen time and kids become obsessed with getting back on the server to rack up their hours and do admin tasks. Imagine having an unpaid job that ties you to a computer where your hours are logged and clocked and used as a sign of status. I think that is extremely unhealthy. I am going to have issues trying to wind my son back from all this. I don't want to leave a review that only mentions the negatives (which are considerable) and so what I can say is that this kind of platform does teach kids server moderation commands and technology which I guess is a skill that can be used productively. There's also something good about kids being able to share gaming experiences in real time. I just wish the platform designers had some kind of responsibility for making the platform kid safe. Rather than making it safe, it seems like they are actively normalising the kind of behaviours that can be really problematic for children. I hope this review is helpful. My advice - go in and take a good look through your child's channels and messages. Come back here and write a review to help others!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byPatsmith July 22, 2018

Greater Gaming Lounge "GGL"

My kid was on this Discord and the stuff these young adults talk about was horrible. These people would make the worst remarks and talk down to more casual players that just want to play. I once heard one guy talk to a 14 year old girl in there and wanting to see her nude! There was other people using racist slurs! So what out for this place, not a place for anyone to go and hangout. Discord would be a lot better if the people that made these servers actually cared about the people that want to join.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byPowersave A. May 24, 2018
This website is definally terrible for younger kids and even teens. Nude images and swearing constantly. People giving out personal infomation like phone numbers and emails. I would highly not recommend using this to contact strangers.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBaseem A. April 11, 2018

It's good also bad

Discord has great updates and it's a fun time connecting with people and having a chat. But it has it's dangers. People can send graphic images and curse.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAndro C. June 7, 2018

Discord Is safe for kids if parents monitor them...

Discord is a gaming chat where people can Voice chat, nowadays children tend to talk to people around the world, I know that parents are scared about it, but they shouldn't be that scared, there are inappropriate things on Discord, but there is a solution with that. I recommend that children that are using Discord should be monitored by their parents, I know it's creepy and all, but it's for our own safety. I want to tell the parents around the world, that if your child is using Discord and texting unknown people, monitor them, but not too much, if you won't allow the to chat, WHAT KIND OF PARENTS ARE YOU?! Your child deserves to be free, and do whatever they want unless it gets too violent, but still, like I said, MONITOR THEM! Thank you for taking your time reading this. I hope you will understand me.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byMax A. June 23, 2018

Discord isn't all that bad

First of all, and for those of you who are worried about your child getting 'added' to groups, that is not possible without their consent as discord uses 'invite links' sent through direct messages. That means that all you have to do isn't make sure they don't reply to or click on links from strangers and you can even chose to scan messages received for bad language/inappropriate content and control who can add them as a friend. The gist is that your child cannot be exposed to inappropriate content against their will and that, as long as you check up on them every once in a while, which I'm sure you do with most social media platforms, they will be absolutely fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 14 year old Written byKit123 November 20, 2018

Adult chat room material

My son was on this app I received notification of a conversation. It was adult material and not monitored or aimed at teens/children please beware. Difficult to monitor and falls outside the normal mobile restrictions for language and content

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages