Parent reviews for Discord - Chat for Gamers

Common Sense says

Voice chat for gamers has slick features, mature content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 102 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 217 reviews
Adult Written byGracelyn M. May 9, 2018

Misconceptions

An issue with a lot of the reviews being left on here, as it seems, is parents complaining about different things that their child has been exposed to within the app itself. My first thing I'd like to address is that each user has a username and an ID number, making you hard to find unless you join a server/give out your name and ID, as both are needed to add people. Blocking a person and/or simply denying their friend requests are simple ways of handling this straight off the bat, and let's not get into the settings that you can put on your account to prevent people you don't have added, don't share a server with, etc, from messaging you.
Leading on from this, Discord does have a setting that will automatically block what you don't want to see- mostly NSFW things that I imagine many parents don't want their children being exposed to. However, as stated in Discords rules/terms of conditions, server owners are required to have a set channel for NSFW content that requires you to confirm your 18+ and safe to view. In that retrospect, your child made that decision to view that content, and is not at the fault of the server owner or Discord itself, because quoting Teamspeak- "This is Teamspeak, not Spyspeak". Discord is a widely used platform, and it's quite frankly not possible to constantly go through hundreds of messages in several channels from one server at a time. If you'd like to sit there and attempt to do that, then be my guest.
Another time to point out would be that, upon being sent a Discord server invite link, it shows what it's called and how many people are on it. All you have to do to leave it is just right click it and press 'Leave Server'. If someone made that decision to do that, then that's their own fault. For your child to have joined a server based around sensitive topics you don't really want them to be around, they would have had to have looked one up and made that conscious decision to join it.
I know you may want to think that your child is sweet and innocent and weren't put up to it voluntarily, but that's quite frankly not true from someone whose been using the app for over a year now. I know it inside out unlike many of the reviews here, and I hope that this clears a few things up.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byLeo K. October 23, 2017

Discord: Fun and safe

When my 2 children begged for Skype and such, I looked into alternative options, due to the pricy nature of it. Discord seems to be perfect from a safety standard and my children can chat to their friends very easily. It also is ideal for them to play games together with. They've also set up a Discord serer for their classmates and talk regularly on it. It may be new but I feel that in the future it may very well replace programs like Skype.

In conclusion, I highly recommend it from a parental standard, and from a friend standard.

Treat your children, and maybe even set up a server with them. It's all so easy and it's free. No annoying ads, either.

No need to say no to Discord.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent Written byMax A. June 23, 2018

Discord isn't all that bad

First of all, and for those of you who are worried about your child getting 'added' to groups, that is not possible without their consent as discord uses 'invite links' sent through direct messages. That means that all you have to do isn't make sure they don't reply to or click on links from strangers and you can even chose to scan messages received for bad language/inappropriate content and control who can add them as a friend. The gist is that your child cannot be exposed to inappropriate content against their will and that, as long as you check up on them every once in a while, which I'm sure you do with most social media platforms, they will be absolutely fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 12 and 18+-year-old Written byJamesfoxxen July 6, 2018

THIS IS NOT A BAD APP

THIS APP IS NOT BAD. While yes there is explicitly content, they only way to see it is by joining a server. So the only way that they are seeing this is by bad parenting or the child. We set up a server for my 13 year old and let her friends join and everything is going great THIS IS NOT A BAD APP

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byI'm here people January 28, 2019

Recommended for all 13+ gamers.

This app is reportedly easy to use. It is 13+ due to the Discord TOS requiring all users to be 13+, just like almost any other account. NSFW is monitored by the Discord staff, and the server owners are required to put an 18+ warning. It is almost impossible for anyone to find you, as all friend requests need your special ID number along with your username. You can block, leave and set specific privacy settings to control what you see and hear. If you do not wish to take apart in some activities, it is easy to get out of it. Swearing can be monitored by the group's "administrators" or "bots" which detect swearing. They are added by the "Server owners". Discord is safer than Skype by server standards, and it is also harder to find someone on Discord than Skype, there fore making it one of the best chat programs.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byUm no im not go... May 11, 2020

The kids are the problem, not discord

Discord is perfectly safe, as if someone attempts to friend you, they have a 1/10000 chance of doing it, even with your username

Its IMPOSSIBLE to add someone into a server without their permission, so kids should be fine unless they are PURPOSEFULLY looking for inappropriate servers

In the end, Discord is not to blame ,its YOUR KIDS or BAD PARENTING

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byTomWood66 February 3, 2019

Discord is not safe at all!

To parents wondering if your children are safe on discord please read this first.

So the first problem with discord is the NSFW & dating servers, They allow servers that provide underage users with porn & nudes, Recently i joined a server that had no age system and was full of 14 year olds etc. They also allowed people to post nudes of their ex which is called revenge porn which is agaisn't the law, I reported this and discord didn't do anything at all.

Another thing thats came out recently is paedophiles on discord. So it came to light recently that a 30 year old man was talking to children on discord (in a server full of thousands of people because he owns a bot discord) And discord account banned him but are refusing to ban his 4 new accounts. If any parents join a NSFW server you'll see for yourself the amount of paedophiles and creeps that are in there wanting to talk to kids but discord does nothing.

Any parent with young children (I'd say under 16) should not allow them to use discord or if you do then monitor what servers they are in because trust me you can't rely on discord to keep your kids safe.

I do have positive things to say about discord but to me safety is more important than fancy voice servers and stuff.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMart1971 January 20, 2019

Frightening

Having seen a massive change in my 14 year old sons behaviour I found he had become addicted to Discord. Reading through the chats it was obvious that he was getting some advice from kids who needed professional help imo. I’ve blocked him from using it now

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byYeetus boi May 22, 2020

As long as you don't share personal info, you're safe on discord

Despite these other reviews, I think discord is a reliable, safe way to communicate. Whether it's appropriate or not depends on the person you talk to, not the service itself. I saw a review saying it tracked your computer usage, but that's not involuntary. Since, as the title suggests, this app is widely used by gamers, there is a system to see if someone is playing a game or not.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byDannii87 February 10, 2020

Dangerous, scary app for kids!

So my 13 year old and I thankfully have an incredible relationship that we talk freely and have a great trust. Over the last few months he’s become really secretive with his phone, to the point he even changed his Apple ID! He’s become withdrawn and basically I had to stage an intervention.. which is hard for me ‘ I’m
Not a regular Mum, I’m
A cool Mum’.. what transpired is two gamers who professed to be ‘friends’ invited
My Son into a chat. The chat had progressed over several months and they had gained the trust of my son. They had begun discussing rape, sexuality and even suicide. Thankfully my Son didn’t actually reply to these chats only the ones about games but I’m mortified at the context he’s been exposed to. I had no idea about this app because they had told him to get a secret app that hides these sorts of apps! I was so shocked! You read this stuff but don’t experience it! Thankfully I’ve managed to mutually agree with him he will not use this or any similar until he’s older, but other kids may not feel able to talk or even be this lucky. If this sounds dramatic, it’s because it is! Do not let your kid use this app!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byPatsmith July 22, 2018

Greater Gaming Lounge "GGL"

My kid was on this Discord and the stuff these young adults talk about was horrible. These people would make the worst remarks and talk down to more casual players that just want to play. I once heard one guy talk to a 14 year old girl in there and wanting to see her nude! There was other people using racist slurs! So what out for this place, not a place for anyone to go and hangout. Discord would be a lot better if the people that made these servers actually cared about the people that want to join.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKjw1980 June 14, 2020

Way to easy to see stuff kids just should not see

Horrified after demanding to see my child’s phone after her being withdrawn all of a sudden for some weeks in lockdown. Didn’t even know she had this. And the content on the chats she was in were graphic. She’s in to art and they were art but seriously the talking and the confusion and the stuff these kids say and the art was just so graphic. She had gone to it through her love of art and now we have a confused angry young girl as I’ve had to restrict her internet usage completely. Why the hell are these things allowed. Something should be done about it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byyeeteususadaus June 5, 2020

Daughter downloaded this and was sent dick pics from old men

wouldn't recommend
Adult Written byoverprotectivep... July 3, 2020

stop being overprotective. relax.

okay listen. as long as you discuss to your kids is 13+, just dont give out info and be stupid your completely fine. tell them to not act stupid on discord by getting involved in stuff you didnt really approve of and talk about nsfw content and what not. theres no need to completely spy on your children. give them space. youre overprotective. stop it. theyre fine. i have had this experience with my child and i let him use discord and other fun networks to chat with their best buddies. i have experienced this and there is absolutely no worry. if your child does look at nsfw content, they will need government issued id and proof. discord is a very fun app for your children. however it is strictly 13+.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bynissanRB June 25, 2020

It's Safe, With some settings.

Personally, I use discord on a daily basis. If your overprotected, Tell them to not add anybody but friends, OR just tell your kid to be careful. There is pedos, But its very rare. There is cursing, But its not like your kid hasn't seen cuss words. And i'd say its very popular due to current world issues. And gaming is becoming WAYY more popular. But just don't say its bad, Because its for 13 plus. *dont tell discord that kids are on it* but still. It's a way for kids to mingle, And to stay anyamous.
Adult Written bySkybax June 18, 2020

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bystormstyl3z June 17, 2020

Great

For those concerned about the 1-star reviews stating that there's easy access to porn and that there are creeps is ridiculous. People forgot how the same things can take place on other apps that people use daily. I'm not sure if this a concept that older generations struggle with, but you can quite literally search for anything on the internet, so for them to say that this app alone is a bad influence for kids or teens is crazy. And for them to even get porn from another user, it would have to be a friend of theirs. If you're a helicopter parent, just don't let your kid have internet access because no matter what they'll be exposed to different people and different mannerisms meaning they may encounter assholes.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 10-year-old Written byraed2009 June 14, 2020

Better Than Messenger

If your kid loves Video Games/Movies/Cartoons/Everything very ''geeky''
Then Por-*cough*. I mean Discord®️ is for them
A family friendly app to chat with friends and close ones you can make so much friends from Discord®️ it has emojis and custom emojis and it's no doubt 100% free! Services like nitro will make them feel happier while you (the parent) waste 5$/10$ a month for nitro.
so i give it beyond 5 stars! but there are some BAD things that happen on discord like swearing/nsfw pics/and slurs! so be catious when you use discord please!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byStan C. June 14, 2020

Discord -

Discord is a fun to use app for kids that like to play and chat with there friends, there is lots of things to do on there like Bots with fun little games like a music bot and more. This is why i let my kids on it.
There is lots of things your child can do.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byWhatSkill June 13, 2020

It’s good when you teach your kids the difference between good and bad.

Discord is very simple and easy to use IF YOU USE IT RIGHT. When your kid uses this make sure they know what’s a safe server and what’s a dangerous server that will try to disguise itself as a good one to lure kids. Tell your kid(s) to let you know if they see something that isn’t good and take the correct procedures to avoid it all together. It’s a good software that can be used correctly if they are taught how to use it correctly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages