Kid reviews for Discord - Chat for Gamers

Common Sense says

Voice chat for gamers has slick features, mature content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 16 reviews
Kid, 12 years old April 23, 2017

A Lot Of Cussing But Great App

This is the game that is like you gotta try it but be careful. I use it with Roblox and love it. People cuss a lot though and some people will send you inappropriate stuff.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old August 19, 2017

A great app, if you use it safely

I use discord and it is really handy, I use discord with roblox, I joined a public chatroom with at least 100 people on the server, I noticed a lot of swearing, inappropriate topics; pornography, bullying, sex and too many more to name. Do not join public servers and only talk with people you know and trust. If you own a server, be sure to moderate the chat and inappropriate topics. Discord also allows nsfw servers for inappropriate content. In these servers, you must verify you are 18yrs or older before you join. Over all, Discord is a great app, only if you use it safely and responsibly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2017

A good app.

Good for gamers of all kind. While in some cases, there can be language and other bad things, most of the time if you use it with friends it usually there won't be any of it if it isn't wanted. A great app to use.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old May 16, 2017

Good Quality

Discord is a free online chat room for gamers. You can have an account that is only possible to access from the computer you made it on, or you can enter an email to have "claimed" your account. On the site, users can direct message each other or chat in servers with multiple people. Since this does count as a social site, there will be some downs to it. You can choose to either talk in texting or talk using your voice, no webcam. Neither chatting options are moderated. However, on some servers there are Discord users who are "mods" who can make sure there is no bad behavior. I personally use Discord for the online game MiceForce which is a server of the game Transformice. In my experience, I have never come across foul behavior, but I don't doubt for a second that it's possible. Overall, I think Discord is a great site.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byDuckery December 6, 2017

Secure and Geared Towards Many Audiences

Discord is a social-networking platform that was made in 2015. Since then it has gained massive support from both large communities and influential investors, including such names as Greylock and Benchmark. I will breaking up this review into 3 categories: The Discord mission and how it was achieved, the community, and my personal experiences with the service. 1) The Purpose of Discord: Discord was launched with the main goal as to be an alternative for gamers to chat, substituting Skype and Teamspeak, two other successful (previously) chat services. The main problem with these two was that they had a monetary incentive that they had to follow, charging the user money for talking across regions or using certain features. With Discord, you can talk with people across the world with no charges. You must be thinking there's some strings attached to this, but no, there really isn't. Discord gets the majority of the money it needs to sustain itself via its investors, donations, and their "premium" service, Discord Nitro, which allows you to use "global emotes," have a .GIF as your profile picture, and a boosted upload limit (can now upload 50 MB+ files). Here's a chart comparing Discord's competitor, Skype, versus the Discord client: https://www.slant.co/versus/4554/5637/~skype_vs_discord . Discord has kept a constant hook due to its server feature, where a person can create a server, assign roles to people (such as moderator, friend, administrator, etc.), and create a community. Some servers revolve around a YouTuber, game, or are just random chat places for people to hang out. 2) The Community: Not that much to say here as it is basically what you'd expect from a free chat service. Not that it's disappointing, or anything. Discord's community is very expansive, making it hard to be able to know whether or not there will be inappropriate content in the server. Knowing this, I think that only kids 13+/kids who are comfortable with seeing possible nudity (usually nudity is against server rules unless it is in designated NSFW chatrooms) and gore, swearing, influential content, and other negative possibilities. Not to say that Discord's community is filled with nasty, vile people who want nothing more than to scar your children. 3) My Experience: Really awesome, actually. Great alternative to Slack, Teamspeak, and Skype. Check it out.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old October 12, 2017

great for kids if..

great for kids if they do it to see other peoples and not give any privacy

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 8 years old March 30, 2018

i love it

im 8 but i got banned from discord but its sttilll good so ye and its so fun

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old March 22, 2018

Not recommended for kids nor adults

Discord is one of the worst ways to communicate with your friends. There is too much bad words, at least they could've added a kid mode to hide bad words and inappropriate pictures. What about the explicit mode? It doesn't even do anything. Also, Discord are REALLY rude. If you see their homepage, they are showing off and saying they are better than Skype and Teamspeak, which I see very immature and rude. You will find Discord admins acting like a 10 year old very often.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byClarence C February 7, 2018

So simple to use

I've been using Discord for almost 2 years now and I have to say it's fantastic. Setting up a group or server to chat with friends is very easy. You can also join public servers to meet new people, but be careful. Many servers contain cussing, violence, NSFW content and more, examine every server carefully before joining it or letting your child join it. Discord allowed me to speak with many people and friends at a time especially while gaming. The only big disadvantage I find are, again, the communities you can join. Simple solution to this is watch your child's activity, but don't get to crazy and start reading everything they read and say.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old April 10, 2018

Alright app

I like this app as I am able to communicate with my friends which I see at school. I don't really use it for anything else so it's not that dangerous. Also, you can block people on it and more to keep safe.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 10, 2018

Very Well-Done App - But Be Careful For Younger Users

Discord is a great app. You can design an entire server from the ground up, voice chat, friend request people, and so much more. There's definitely a lot of inappropriate content on certain servers, but in all honesty that's just the internet. If you're a parent who's afraid of inappropriate content then the best thing to do is probably only allow your kids into private servers with close friends. That or public servers with strictly family-friendly content. Overall very good app, but can lead to some inappropriate content if handled incorrectly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byImUnlord April 9, 2018

The best app

I love Discord!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byXavJar April 6, 2018

An **EASY** Way Around

Discord is fantastic it is safe as it does not show private information much like skype and other social medias. It is easy to use and well made so you and your children can navigate the app well. If you set your privacy settings well or even the default is only people you have personally friended can talk to you. You can create discord servers with multiple chats for your friends to join. As well as joining other peoples chats, before you become worried I suggest you know that there are moderators and administrators therefore if something does go wrong they can issue a warning, mute, kick or even ban from the chat. I think discord is fine and can be used by almost everyone

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bygamergrl13 June 14, 2018

A great app!

So here's the review I was planning to write 9 months ago. I used to use Skype more but then 3 months ago I found Discord to be a bit more useful for me. It's well-made, and even though there are a lot of features to learn, it's really easy to navigate. I personally like the idea of the servers, because you can't go in servers with different chat channels on Skype. Discord's more organized, and big plus, it doesn't have ads. Currently, I use Discord to talk in this one gradually inactive but awesome server that someone made...but other times I use it to text or talk with other friends. I do agree with the other people who reviewed; whenever you join a server with let's say more than 10 people then there might be a lot of profanity, NSFW content, bullying, and etc. Other than that, I recommend Discord to people. Oh, and I forgot to mention, Discord is also secure.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuciel June 3, 2018

To the parents/Clearing stuff up:

First of all, let me explain the raw basics of discord to you, dear reader. You get to chose a user name upon sign up, and discord automatically add a 4 digit number, a so called "tag" to it. (Example: MinecraftGamer#1234). Strangers cannot message you randomly, and you can only chat woth others privately after accepting a friend request. To send a friend request, one needs to know both the name and tag of a person. In essence, your kid can't chat with anyone, unless they allow so. Also, reporting and blocking a user is very easy and fast. So, all your child needs to do is be mindful about whom it gives their tag. About servers: Servers are easily set up, and the admins and owner have a lot of control about who joins/stays on the server. To join a server, one needs to be invited via a special link. Admins and the owner can determine for how long this link will work. So, your kid is once again safe, they don't invite every random idiot on planet earth. About the NSFW Groups/swearing: Frst of all: ACEEPT THAT YOUR CHILD IS NOT AN ANGEL. ACCEPT IT ACCEPT IT ACCEPT IT AND FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE STOP FLAMING DISCORD JUST BECAUSE YOUR KID IS A PERVERTED, HORMONE DRIVEN DONKEY. With that off my chest: Whoever lets kids younger than 11 chat with strangers (even with monitoring) needs that kid taken away from them anyway. But let's face it, your twelve year old very much knows cursewords. Just because they act innocent around you doesn't mean they are. Should your child feel uncomfortable with anyone at any given time, it can easily block, report, leave the group and so on. If your kid joins an nswf server, it's probably because you made youporn impossible to access for them. Your child doesn't get cyber abducted and put in a group with perverts who prey on them. Rather then blocking them from discord, I recommend you have an honest conversation about sex, sexual content, pornography and so on. It's your job to raise it, not that of discord or the online community. Diacord also hads the most amazing staff. They're always helpful and quick to fix things. DO NOT, i repeat, DO NOT disrespect these people because they don't read through millions of messages a day and instead trust users to report things they feel uncomfortable about. Last but not least: If you make it that way, discord very private. Your profile gives little to no information. Everything another person knows is your profile pic, tag and nickname, and common friends/servers. What else they know about you is in your/your child's hands. With that being said, much love to the amazing discord staff, and I hope overprotective parents will finally stop bashing this awesome app. DID I MENTION ITS COMPLETELY ADD FREE?For that alone it deserves an award.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old May 22, 2018

It's completly fine as long as you join family friendly servers.

Not ALL Discord server are bad. I recommend that children under the age of 13 be under parental supervision.