Kid reviews for Discord - Chat for Gamers

Common Sense says

Voice chat for gamers has slick features, mature content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 53 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 41 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byDandereKun November 22, 2018

"Wasted your life" app

Its a good app that makes a lot of friends but most of the member in this app are mostly kids in disguise as teenage or adult. What's worst is that most people in this app are act like kids and immature in most server when i joined, its simply waste of time that most people talks about sexual and offensive stuff and have low IQ. Sorry but this app is just a joke to people have no friends in real life and wasted your time until your brain is dead.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old September 22, 2018

Video, Voice Calls and Texting for free!

You can restrict words, voice or text or video calling, and even ban people from your server. I recommend it over skype and my only complaint is how dang hard setting it up is and the language that can get in if used in certain servers. The only violence is stuff from games.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Written byAnonymous February 22, 2019

Better than clueless parents think!

Lots of parents will dismiss this just because you can talk to strangers, but in all honesty it's great. It's the best chatting app whether for friends or meeting new people. This is especially good for teenage gamers or just teens with nerdy hobbies in general. Yes people will swear. Yes in some servers people will post nsfw. But it isn't everywhere. You can block any person or server you think is bad and avoid nsfw channels. It's great and I would recommend it to any tween or teen. Just teach your kids to be safe and you'll be fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2019

Very fun and easy to use, however be careful.

Hey there people who are reading this. So, I think Discord is very good for teen/kid gamers (and others) aged 10+. Most communities that you can join are 110% safe, as I can confirm. (I am part of over 80 discord servers, and none of them have caused me any harm.). The issue is, some servers you need to be very careful with. They can do giveaways of "Paypal £10." After winning the giveaway most people just ask for your paypal support link (This is completely safe to use) However, some ask for your full paypal details which is NOT SAFE. Also, most communities include minor amounts of swearing to some extend, however some allow swearing all the time, so be careful where you join. Some communities contain NSFW (18+ Content) however it is Locked off unless you confirm you are of a legal age to view it (18+). This makes sure that kids are not viewing 18+ content when they don't mean to. I myself, own a discord server that has a team of moderators that keep the server in check. They make sure the entire server is following the rules at all times and if they break one, they get a warning or get kicked (removed but can rejoin) or banned (cannot rejoin unless unbanned) Overall, discord is safe as long as you join the right servers.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written bygoomyiscute777 February 15, 2019

DO NOT USE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES

Discord is nothing but evil. Everyone who uses Discord is most likely a junkie, a pedophile, or a psychopath. Unless you want your child to develop a pornography addiction, then you should tell them to never use it or associate with people who use it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bybleamless February 13, 2019

My opinion about this

Wait until your child is thirteen to use this socializing app. There's many "servers" that are highly inappropriate for your child at such a young age. Since you can say whatever you want, people are going to cuss at other people. If you aren't alright with that, then it's best to not download this app. People can be toxic to you and send you inappropriate stuff. Which your child will be highly exposed to and there's also underage dating servers. These underage dating servers are disgusting and bad, please avoid them and don't even bother going in there. Your child isn't always going to be a sweet little angel, they're going to cuss and do many immature things also. It's normal and they'll learn from their mistakes. It's also great for making numerous amount of friends if your child wants to make friends worldwide. I have made numerous amount of friends myself from this app. You can also join many different "servers". Servers are just mini chatrooms that you can join in. There's websites who promote different servers. You can also voice chat with many different people also, you can say hello without showing your face. If you're that insecure. Just basically wait until your child is thirteen years old, it's in the Discord Terms of Service. If they're younger than that they'll be terminated or banned.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old February 1, 2019

Just perfection, with problems.

Hello homies! Your currently reading my review. So, what do I say about Discord? Well, the service is for teenagers but I, think that its for everybody. Just one problem though; INAPROPIATE SERVERS. Most servers allow swearing (but most don't allow heavy swearing) and some allow...seduction? They'll also be talking about drugs, but its mostly just "joking". I've used Discord, and although it has swearing, I still like it. Oh, and there is such thing as "Discord Nitro". It'll be pretty pricy overon.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byReneverse January 31, 2019

I learned a lot

I mean my parents never really cared what I do on social media and my dad barely check messages on my phone and stuff but discord is great as long as you have common sense on what you are doing half the time. I started using discord at the age of 13 not for the purpose of gaming. I know that mind sound kinda weird but I was on the NBA reddit and they gave me the discord invite link and I decided to join and in there we talked about basketball and the NBA for hours and people there do cuss but who doesnt? Literally everyone in HS and middle school cuss in every sentence. I would say the people in my discord community are all teens so the age 13 would seem appropriate as thats when kids become teens. Discord has a number of features during the time that I have been using it I knew a lot. The UI is great and is simple to use which I find better than Skype and Teamspeak. I would say though in a lot of the servers that I am in they always have a NSFW channel and not gonna lie I do join the channel just because I am curious but that is my fault, you shouldnt be blaming discord for that since its the child or parents responsiblity not Discord. I have experienced a lot during my two years of using this app as I met a ton of new people and heard a lot from them. Especially now I met a ton of depressed kids who I try to help. But I havent met a toxic person yet since all these people I have met so far as I would say are extremely nice and social to me. All I gotta say is during my last 2 years here I have learned a lot and woud always thank Discord for that. Get the app Discord needs to grow!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old January 31, 2019

AMAZING!

This app is so wonderful for chatting with random people snd to your friends. This allows you to also listen to music with certain bots. People who use this app are available to join server with strangers. I also should avise you check the server because there are channels that are NSFW categorized. This means people who say “yes” to the nsfw lock, are availabe to see nude images, violence and stuff like that. No words are censored so if your child would like this game (-12) I should suggest check the servers they join, and make sure the owners of that server have said “no swearing”. Also to say, their are bots you can invite to a server that can delete auto-delete swearing, so in my opinion makes this SO much better and trustworthy. The controls for this app are confusing, once used for a month, server making and controls will be 100% easy.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old January 27, 2019

Chatting with strangers is bad, but still, you don't know stranger's tags. You only know your friends.

When you never see yo friends no more, this is the place to go!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemoocow January 5, 2019

Really not as bad as others say

There are other servers that you can join, which CAN have inappropriate content, but that's not the actual app's fault. As long as you only let your child DM people they know, or join servers that are more teen-appropriate (those exist!), this is a lot better than skype. Also, swearing is pretty much impossible to avoid. (Not the app's fault!)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byhicupalot December 30, 2018

Very Good For Gamers or just anyone

I think discord is definitely one of the best messaging software, its fun and easy to use (the emails are really fun and not serious). The only concern is the servers you join, some servers are more inappropriate but channels can be set to NSFW so you have to choose to join them, i'd definitely recommend it just make sure that you set privacy settings so only certain things can be done! The only annoying thing is the upload limit is 8mb (50mb if you purchase premium which is $4.99 a month). But other then that it is a very good messaging software with great and amazing support teams who normally reply to every tweet they get!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2018

Just fine

Discord is an online chat service designed for gamers. If you want it to have sex, swearing and other things, that's possible. But the majority of kid users won't use it for any of those things.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old December 20, 2018

Discord review

Its ok if you join family friendly servers but most of the servers have adult content and other stuff also its good to use when you wanna call friends

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byPHOENIX0179 December 18, 2018
It's good

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written by5-starz November 25, 2018

It's a nice chat website!

The website is nice for teens and tweens to chat on. Yeah, there is some bad stuff on the site for adults, like channels that say they are for 18+ only. But if they are for 18+, then the kids are the ones at fault if they say they're over eighteen! I think parents just gotta be careful about how their kids use it, like my parents are.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byTomPep7 November 6, 2018

Great for talking to friends

I think this app is very good if used properly. There are a lot of public Discord servers you can join with just a link from any browser, but because it's the internet, that means it can get pretty toxic. Just choose servers wisely with good rules and you should be fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byTixelpip October 27, 2018

Great, if used correctly.

Discord is a communication app primarily targeted towards individuals aged 13+ although, I do think that some younger children that are mature for their age are ok using it. I personally use it every day and have since I was around eleven. I’ve seen many reviews from parents concerning some mature content on the platform, this can and does occur but only if sought out. Discord has a feature where you can join ‘servers’ which are essentially public group chats. By default, it is impossible for anyone to contact your child until they join any of these ‘servers’ or add any friends. If children join appropriate groups and only add people they know, they aren’t exposed to anything mature. Discord offers privacy settings to restrict the possibility of unknown contact and exposure that can be set. The app is great, modern and constantly expanding, it is a wonderful way to communicate with people all over the world and gives options to cover for the aforementioned target demographic.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bypromaster11111 September 9, 2018

Fun and easy to chat with friends!

Almost all of my friends use discord, and we all love it because we can just hangout!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byKritzikreg'd_Crispy August 22, 2018

All i gotta say is.....

This is just better then skype, Teamspeak, or any other social media app. You can make servers and stuff, You can chat with friends, play games and stay in touch, and use emojis and just plain connect...... also only discord users can get this joke....... @everyone

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages