All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto III

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 23 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byDrayoc May 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Blood and subtitles can be turned off.

Grand Theft Auto has forever been praised as the best sandbox game of all time. You play an escaped criminal, and the point of the game is to do jobs for other criminals involving killings, drive by shootings, and car chases. You can kill civilian's and cops at will, but it isn't very graphic, there is no dismemberment, just blood. There is a fair amount of language, but for this you just have to turn off the subtitles and sound, and skip the cutscenes. You can pick up pristitutes and have implied sex with them but nothing is shown. Drugs and alchohol are mentioned. Keep in mind that you can turn off blood, subtitles, volume, and you don't have to pick up the prostitutes. If you do this, it should be ok for 15 and up. otherwhy's it deserves it's not for kids rating. I wouldn't follow the storyline unless your 17.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCptDrake May 6, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Pretty bad but not terrible for a mature teen

(I have the PC version not the mobile one. The mobile one is in fact watered down with less blood.)Although fun this game can be excessive. It the game you play as a criminal who seeks revenge for his betrayal at the hands of his girlfriend. If you play just the story line you could probably beat the game without killing any innocent people. However it is very easy to acciendentally run over someone while driving fast. The violence is mild for an M rated game, however if someone is blown up by a car there is a chance mangled limbs will appear on the ground. Their is swearing, far less than other games in the series however. The sex in the game is (in my opinion) not that bad. You CAN have sex with prostitutes, but all you see is a shaking car and yes there is a red light district. However this district is comprised of two stores with XXX symbols and one club with two women in bikinis on a billboard. You cannot go inside any of these places. I have not played the game extensively so I don't know if you do drug running missions in the game, though i presume you do.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 21, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

bad!!!!!!

Hate grand theft auto series!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byProfesserCrouch October 3, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GTA III PC VERSION

I am not doing a review on the app, but the PC version. This version is 5/5 stars. No sex, only minor references. You can drive by clubs, but cannot enter them. A girl will ask " When you gonna screw me? " in a mission for Joey. Cutscenes can be skipped by pressing SPACE. For most parents, violence is the issue. Yes it has minor blood but nothing to be too concerned about. Great game though! The starter of sandbox ( Open World ) games. If your child is wanting to play IV, or V, just buy this instead. He will love it, so did I. I still play it, and it came out over 10 years ago. If you are really concerned, let him do the first mission, drive around, and use some cheats. Please leave a like!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 July 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the mildest GTA. It is still very fun

This game is so much fun, but may not be for all kids. It has strong violence where you can beat and shoot pretty much anyone you want and mostly has gory outcomes. The language is not as bad as most other GTA games I haven't even heard a F word which are very common in the other ones but there are some milder profanities. It has some sexual content you can pick up a prostitute and drive to a hidden location and the car starts to rock you hear only the car rocking. There is no activity or moaning heard or seen just the car moving and rocking. I think this is one of the mildest GTA games so I feel a 12 year old can handle it. If this were rated as movies are rated it would be R: Bloody Violence, Sexuality, and Language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 14, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesomely Awesome!

This is my favorite app ever. I like to just drive around, do my own thing, get chased by police a lot, (I would never EVER do that in real life. It's fun in GTA 3) and its really fun. There is cussing and people should watch out for that.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 February 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Bugs and glitches,please fix.

I have this for my Android ,IPod,IPad and IPhone.Its the. iPhone and IPod version which is not working,please fix and I'll give you a cookie. Update: YESSSS,THANKS APPLE.THE CRASHES AND ERRORS HAVE BEEN FIXED,THANKS A MILLION.*Chomps down cookie*
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymuaz mahmood October 16, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Muaz age rating review for Pakistan

This is the worst game in the whole world even Sims is better than gta3.This game develpoers are shameless because of the game they had made.Shame on you Rockstar games.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 20, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Classic.

Rockstar are pretty famous now since Gta5. This was the most popular game in 2001, they made millions, the Vice City came along and that was their first game were they had S. But I will get that game later, Gta3 is awesome. If you don't want your kid to play Gta5 which is highly unlikely, then get this one. The blood is very much like the old comics. Language side of it, I don't know because sometimes I skip the cutscenes. S is just the bookers you don't have to pick them up, the Luigi's club, it's optional. My brother and I played it when I was 7 so it's all good, take it from a Christian. Enjoy!
Teen, 13 years old Written byBaconation23 June 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Once a Masterpiece, Not Always The Same, But It Will Still Be Great

The PS2 version of GTA 3 is a masterpiece. It's one of Rockstar's greatest arts, and that's something to say. However, it's port for the portable market, not so much. The worst part is the controls, they are poorly ported. They are so awkward they can ruin your experience. It's still a great game. However, there is a lot of violence, unsurprisingly, but you can hire hookers and kill them. You can't see the sex, but you can tell they are doing it because the car is shaking. There's also frequent cussing, and the occasional use of cigarettes and alcohol. This is an open world game, so you don't have to do any of the stuff. You can drive around the world. The degrader is the controls, like I said. Also, it is quite buggy, too. So it's not the same masterpiece, but it's still a very good game. 7.5/10
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GTA 3, 10+

Grand Theft Auto III is a very fun game, but it does have a lot of violence in it. First of all, shooting people causes an unrealistic amount of blood to come out of them. Also, you can shoot people's heads, arms, and legs off. This is probably the most graphic part of the game. Finally, you are able to set people on fire. This game is nowhere near as violent and realistic and Grand Theft Auto IV, and there is nowhere near as much swearing, either. A mature 10 year old could play this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySalsander December 21, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly Absent of Adult Content

Its the big bad boy of video games that has been prone to controversy in the past decade. Although the first game was released in the late 1990s, GTA III was perhaps the most innovative games of the series. It was among the first 3D open world games that allowed you to practically whatever you wanted. Although this freedom made the series critically acclaimed, it also made it so controversial because you had the freedom to do disdainful things. You could have sex with a hooker and then kill her to take your money back. You could mow down a row of pedestrians or have a shoot out with the police. This freedom gave the series a negative reputation by the media, but it's not such a bad game as one may initially think. The story revolves around a crook named Claude who attempts to work his way up through the criminal underworld. There's not much to say about him or his motivations as he doesn't speak throughout the whole story. He just does as he is told. Despite being allowed to kill innocent civilians, the violence was relatively mild. Blood pools from enemies but there is no gore. Also a majority of the game's missions are spent driving around, so violence is very spread out. Language and drugs are used by main characters on occasions, but it was never constant nor glamorized. I have rarely heard the f-word but a few uses of sh-t. You can have sex with a prostitute in your car, but the game never gives you instructions on how to do this. I had to look online to find how this was done. Even if you discover how to have virtual sex, you can't see the act at all. You only see the car from a distance and here moaning. Overall, Grand Theft Auto isn't that bad of a game. It's actually a bit repetitive and the controls can discombobulate the player without a controller. It's an ok game for teenagers, but not the best in the world.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

People ARE stupid

It is OK for them (as long as you don't do it in real life)!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude68683 October 26, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What I think

This game is arguably one of the most important video games ever released because it was the groundbreaking debut of the open world action game this pushed the limits of ute entire gaming industry and thus it kicked off the gaming industry giant known as grand theft auto
Teen, 13 years old Written byxbilliealishax June 7, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly not explicit

I'm no stranger when it comes to the Grand Theft Auto series. Me and my family have all played at least 2 or 3 of the games in the series. All I ever do on the games is either complete as many missions as possible and drive a car around Liberty City. There are some things to watch out for - violence as some of the missions involve fighting or death, sex - sex is hardly even seen in the game - a shaking car, a Red Light District with a few places that you can't even go inside and half dressed prostitutes, language - language isn't really that bad, just minor use of swear words and as of drinking, it's minor. Graphics are not that good. Overall, I think this is one of the more clean games of GTA.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bycoltsrock18 January 20, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as review says..

This video game shows the other side of the law. Basically, the story is you are betrayed by a friend, and so you work you way up to get revenge. This game has a fair amount of violence, but not nearly as much as other games. It is rated M for violence and language. The language can be avoided by turning subtitles and turning voices off. The application rating on iTunes say it has sexual content, there is none, as this is an exact port of the xbox game, and it wasnt rated for sexual content. I know that is a big issue and that solves it. If you put this all into account, it only should be rated for violence.
Teen, 14 years old Written byMattMarco1 October 2, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wait a bit longer younger kids!

This game I would say is on for teens about 13 and over depending on your child. I played this game and other grand theft auto games since i was 12 and I think I should of not have been playing those games but I know how eager I was to play them cause all my other friends were playing them but if your under around 13 just wait abit longer because some of the things you learn in this game are bad and you need to be more mature to understand them and be mature about it. It has quite a bit of swearing, violence with some spills of blood, and the simulation of doing whatever you want to do (aka being a gangster)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 15, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Its Fun For My Sister That Kills Pepole On GTA Games But Now I Had Grand Thelf Auto Advance.gba For Gameboy Advance

I Think It Has Cheats For GTA 3 & A PC Version Let's Me Mod GTA 3 PC Just Like San Andreas PC & Vice City PC LOL!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byUSCTrojan July 8, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

2nd Worst GTA of All of 'em !

Iffy for 17+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 6 years old June 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great Game, But Not for Kids.

Great game but not at all for kids but most kids would like this
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages