All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mobile version of console hit just as violent as original.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byLewis Woodhall January 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

AGE RESTRICTIONS!

Language - 6/10 Sex - 3/10 Violence - 9/10 Disturbing Gore - 3/10 Drugs - 2/10 Langauge - Suitable for 12/13+ Sex - Suitable for 12/13+ Violence - Suitable for 15/16+ Drugs - Suitable for PG
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byjacobmz007 November 7, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not alot of sex, but alot of blood and language!!

The game has ALOT of violence in it that is unrealistic than like call of duty or halo but is gory and bloody. Lots of blood is only seen if you shoot someone in the head with a sniper or shotgun. The sex is very mild compared to other gta's!! There's girls along the beach dressed in bikinis or girls that are dressed like prostitutes (it's not clearly stated if they really are or not), but that's really all!! The game has a buttload of cussing, but not as abd as you would hear in school or sports by the average teen!! overall, its good for 12 and up!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySensibleParent123 December 20, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City 14+

I let my 14 year old son buy this game, and I would not recommend it for anyone under the age of 14. It has a little more graphical violence that Grand Theft Auto 3, just because the graphics are allot better, but straight out of the box it can be classed as inappropriate for someone of the age of say, 12. In the first mission, I watched my son play it, and already sexual concepts were used. Myself as a father, would not recommend it for my younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDuckyboy March 25, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

The Truth

Grand Theft Auto Vice City isnt intended for children but in my opinion i bought this game 1 month ago for PC and ipad and this game wasnt even bad like yeah theres alot of violence you can kill random people but thats like the game in a nutshell right there and yeah theres intense weapons to kill people with but theres like no gore to it I'd say this game is just right for children 9 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educator Written byJackM 1 March 22, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

THE BEST GAME EVER

OMG I LET MY 2 YEAR OLD PLAY THIS GAME! HE LOVES IT! IT'S GREAT BECAUE HE CAN LLEARN HOW TO KILL PEOPLE!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bymad gamer October 27, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

lets you live in the 80s as a mob footsoldier

If you are a teen around thirteen and you want this game than you should be able to get it first of all this is a re release the original came out about 12 years ago the violence is still unrealistic I have not encountered any sexual content in the first mission you go to a drug deal you just see suitcases drugs are widely mentioned in this game I hope this review was helpful
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySalsander December 21, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Port Amps up the Adult Content/Production Values from the previous installment

Vice City was a major improvement from Grand Theft Auto III. The voice acting was tremendous with real life star Ray Liotta voicing the protagonist Tommy Vercetti and plenty of pop culture references and music of the time period. The story was made into a much more cinematic experience, making it one of the most well regarded GTA games. However a lot more adult content was added in the game from its predecessor GTA III. This time, your character actively participates in the game's narrative rather than just acting as a henchmen for criminals. You are Tommy Vercetti, a middle age man who intends to work his way up the criminal latter. Tommy is ruthless force, doing anything to gain power. Once he has used a person enough for his advantage, they are as good as dead to him. It's clear that Tommy is a twisted person, and the game intends him to be portrayed this way. The violence has risen slightly. You can now shoot heads offs enemies, leaving a stump behind. Various guns and melee weapons are used to attack Tommy's enemies. Dead enemies will spill a pool of blood around their body. Because there is nearly unrestricted freedom in the game, Tommy can also kill innocent civilians, have sex with hookers, and destroy vehicles; however the cops will be on your tail. In addition to the sex with hookers (note that you cannot see the sex, but you can hear the sounds made in the car), prostitutes have a bigger role in the game. During a few missions optional missions later in the game, you can do tasks for a porn studio. This may include driving the stars to filming locations. One of the stars named Candy wears very skimpy clothes and talks suggestively. You do not see any of the porn footage though. Language is much more frequent and a lot more explicit words are used from the previous GTA game. A majority of known swears will be used. You are a little more actively involved in the drugs. You will transport drugs and fight drug lords, but you will never use these drugs throughout the course of the game. There's a lot more to cover, but these seemed to be the most prominent or important issues to address. You can play the game just to explore the islands of Vice City, but you will need to play through a couple of missions to unlock all of the islands and some vehicles (such as helicopters and tanks).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude68683 October 26, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What I think

This is my favorite of the old grand theft autos why because of the story it's awesome take scarface and Miami vice and Sean penn when he played david kleinfeld and it's a stress reliever if you ever had a bad day play this and you will feel like a million dollars