All member reviews for iWriteWords (Handwriting Game)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Learn tracing with a cute crab and hand-drawn reward pics.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byrpaditya May 20, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

good practice for writing and recognizing letters

my almost 4 year old figured this virtual chalk board (or slate) really quickly, and it not only engages him hands-on but is fun to practice...
What other families should know
Educational value
Educator and Parent of an infant, 3, 5, and 7 year old Written bylspady February 15, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great app!

Great app!
Parent of an infant and 3 year old Written byn-mom September 9, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Definitely recommend

This is a fantastic app. It allows you to practice writing/learning letters, numbers and small words. My 3 yr old is learning and having fun at the same time.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 27, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

iwritewords

the device to make the letters tumble into a hungry vortex. Magic.
Educator and Parent Written bycheflady123 April 17, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Aligns with handwriting instruction research

The research on handwriting instruction says to have a starting point and arrows to help guide letter formation (Graham) and this app follows this premise in a fun way! I also like that kids can "replay" the letters they drew and they show up on a dotted line.
Parent Written byLuvbeingamum August 9, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Fantastic app!

My daughter loves to use this app! I noticed improvement in her writing after the first time she used it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 3 and 4 year old Written bylaribrook February 9, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Great preschool app for learning to write letters.

My preschoolers like this app. It has helped both of them learn to write letters. It actually does a great job of teaching them where to start to form each section of the letter. And kids who are too young to physically hold a pencil properly can still learn their letters. Easy to play and gives a sense of satisfaction when they get it right.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byF-Zero studios September 18, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

this is pefect for small children

iwritewords. that app rocks dude
What other families should know
Educational value