Parent reviews for Kik

Common Sense says

Social networker connects with strangers, bots, websites.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 54 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 87 reviews
Adult Written byCyber Safety Lady June 6, 2014

A Dangerous App For Children And Teens

I've been following Kik Messenger for a while now and reporting on its lack of safety for kids. Kik Messenger is getting very popular with children under 10 years of age. I work with the police, here in Australia on Cyber Safety education and they, educators and cyber safety educators like myself are seeing increased incidents of children being sent porn by predators on this app. Police are reporting that Kik Messenger is the No1 problem app for predator behaviour. The other part of Kik that is incredibly dangerous is the now over 400 apps that Kik Messenger promotes and hosts within its app. These are a mixture of adult "hook up" style apps, games, vote for the cute girl or boy, anonymous confession apps, and snapchat style apps. None of these included apps within Kik Messenger have been verified by iTunes or Google Play. They could contain viruses, spam, and some do contain porn. None of them comes with an age rating either. Any filter or parental control you enable on hour child's device does not work to block any of the very adults apps now available from within Kik. Kik Messenger is designed for adults and that is why it is now rated 17+ on both the iTunes and Google Play store. Kids who say that this app is safe, are still at high risk for being sent porn and nasty messages from strangers, if they haven't already. Many kids are getting sent porn as way of introduction as other reviewers have pointed out, before they even have a chance to block them. My Video which shows how Kik Messenger works, has many many comments from kids and adults complaining about strangers and predators contacting kids and sending porn on this app. The privacy settings have changed now, and messages from strangers now go through to the main chat window they are simply blurred, you are prompted to click on them. You can find out more at my website about this. http://thecybersafetylady.com.au/2013/07/why-kik-messenger-is-unsafe-for...

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDigitaldenny October 11, 2013

Kik is NOT Safe for Kids!

To get an overview of the app, look at the video posted by the Cyber Safety Lady on You Tube titled, "Why KiK Messenger is NOT Safe for Kids".

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byhockeymomuv2 May 20, 2013

Sexual Harassment and Cyber Bullying

This app is dangerous especially if you use it on an android. Some pedophile sent my 16 year old son child porn to scare and harass him into sending pictures of himself back. When he clicked the thumbnail the photo's were automatically downloaded to his device. He told a friend that he was chatting with at that time, of the harassment and that some idiot had just sent him disgusting pictures. The friend asked to see them and he sent them via text message then promptly deleted them. When the police were called for the harassment issues which included threats of rape and battery, they found the deleted photo's and arrested my son, who was in fact the victim of threats and sexual harassment! Please, Please parents no matter how safe you think you are pedophiles can find a way in and KIK is a wide open door! Do Not let them download it. It's not worth the risk!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMARIE1950 October 28, 2013

DANGEROUS SITE

people we don't even know have accessed my daughters cell number they are soliciting nude pics they are threatening her if she doesn't provide the nude photos. they say they will spread all her info over the internet. and we cant even find out who they are. we have no one on friends list on facebook or in our contacts with their profile names. this is very dangerous and we have enough teen suicides over this kind of stuff. this needs to be shut down.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 12 and 14-year-old Written byvigilant_dad March 24, 2013

Dangerous app

Don't be fooled by the innocent sounding name -- this app is a prime vehicle for sexual predators to locate targets. Within hours of installing this app on his phone, my child was receiving random explicit invitations for photo sharing. Predators pose as teens and try to seduce kids into sharing nude "selfies". Volumes of nudes and pornographic screen shots are being shuttled around on this app every minute. There are plenty of other ways for a kid to text another kid -- keep them away from Kik!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written bykatherinem August 23, 2014

Be wary if your child has this app

This messenger app is not for kids or teens. This is an adult site. In a span of 24 hours, my teen was solicited my approx 20 or 30 people asking her to do inappropriate things, and using sexual language.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bypcbbeachbumnaz January 17, 2014

Parents beware...

My 12 year old son was approached by a "15 year old girl" in Washington claiming to be "Alex". Her main conversations seemed to be sexual in nature and commented constantly about cutting herself and committing suicide if he didn't respond. Sent 20 messages in less than 2 minutes trying to get a response. App has been deleted.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCogafam5 March 24, 2015

Don't be fooled

my 13 year old recently told us that his friend who is also 13 recently told him that he had confessed to his parents that he had been going thru porn sites because of kik. He said that he was offered free porn then declined the add on services for a credit card but he kept being offered free porn so he went from one click to another click then another click, before he knew it he getting into free sites every night. I'm very saddened by this. People don't realize how much damage porn does to the mind. Children and adults mind. He told my son that because of porn he now saw women in a different way. Not a good way. But he saw them in a perverted way. not healthy on the mind at all. It's very damaging. People don't understand that pornography is very very unhealthy. Please keep an eye on your children's phines. Monitor their use .

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byshauna3 July 12, 2013

Not for Kids

It is another untraceable anonymous use predator site primarily used for sexting. It fosters fake identity and promotes risky conversation. Not for kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 3, 6, and 12-year-old Written byBuzzKillMom March 26, 2013

NOT SAFE.

Shortly after starting to use this app, one of my daughter's 11-year-old friends was approached by some freak who wanted details about her level of sexual experience (he asked very graphic questions), and wanted to know if they could meet so he could "pleasure" her. This app is NOT safe.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTuxedo2 December 30, 2012

Don't Kik

Kik and instagram seem to go hand and hand with tweens. On a high percentage of instagram posts you see phrases such as, "Kik me at..." Therefore, if your instagram page is open or you've accepted hundreds of followers, they will now also know your user name on Kik. It is a dangerous way to invite strangers into your life and there is no way for parents to monitor Kik messages or group chats. There are no records to review and chats are easily deleted. Additionally many children have this app and their parents do not know about it. It can be loaded on any android or iphone or ipod touch or iPad.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDchandy74 March 25, 2015

DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD USE THIS APP

I spent 2 hours today with my 12 year old step daughter, my husband, the principal and 2 police detectives. My stepdaughter was being trekked for 4 weeks unbeknownst to us, by multiple pedophiles that sent her child porn of little boys and grown men. I cried seeing this images. And my stepdaughter was conned into sharing breast photos with who she thought was a 13 year old girl. PLEASE DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD ON THIS SITE.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bydavidg2 January 1, 2015

dangerous underworld of filth, child inticement, and unsupervised kids.

Kids got tablets for xmas so I thought I would start investegating chat sites to see what I could recommend. Kik seemed most pop, so I logged in as 45 yr old male looking to talk. What I got was a barrage of porn filth, come-ons by unsupervised youth that were up way past their bed times. Stay away from this site and based off its popularity, do not allow under aged child anywhere near it!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 3, 6, 12, and 16-year-old Written byemily_loves June 30, 2014

OK

My 12 and 16 year old have it and use responsibly. They also have to accept a conversation so they cannot talk to srangers However, you cannot censor what other people say.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byZeeBee2314 September 19, 2013

Kik- The pros and cons

Kik is a perfectly fine app for certain users. My child wanted to get this app to be able to text his friends. At first the app seemed sketchy, because anyone can text your child, but I soon discovered that first they have to know your username, which is pretty hard to get, and you can block people from texting you. Some parents may say that is dangerous for kids under 10, and I agree, but if you are at least 11 or 12, this app should be fine

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written byKevB May 1, 2013

Bully's dream app

My 11yr old son became the target of online bullying through Kik. I tried to investigate what logs I could pull up to keep a record of the nasty abusive language being said to and about him, but was quite surprised that NO RECORDS are kept, making it virtually impossible to report this kind of behaviour to the authorities.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byKyle D. March 18, 2018

Kik refuses to cooperate or look in to serious complaints

My 14 year old son was a user on Kik which he was supervised by us while he was on Kik
One day he came to me and said he keeps getting bad and disturbing pictures when I looked in to it it was child porn I contacted the site administrator and all I got was call police and report it to them there is nothing they can about not only that my son was found by adult users pretending to be teen agers and was well the unthinkable happen I contacted the police and they said unless we have names and addresses of the suspect s there is nothing we can do maybe Kik is not something he should be on
And Kik is not taking any responsibility for this
When confronted the would not even listen to my complaint and said if that is what happened it not our fault you son had it coming to him and ignored everything there after note this app and site is run by university students and with university students today they don't care about any one else but themselves and their reputation god forbid you do anything to damage that Kik is unsafe ran by ametures that have Toal disregard for safety

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySean F. August 5, 2017

Horrible

I got bullied a lot in this app. I got banned from chat rooms for no reason. Easy for ppl to lie about their age, full of predators.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCEM201618 March 20, 2016

I Was Stalked,Harassed,and Abused by a Kik User.

I have been on kik for only a year and this guy was flirting with me I didn't think much of it then he started rushing into commitment and was trying to control me I'm like no I'm not into that. He asked for nudes which I said no everytime and everytime I would block him he would make a new account and harass me. Everytime I leave he would threaten to commit suicide. The harassment got so bad that this guy tracked me down and showed up at my house. He claimed that he was 18 but in reality he wasn't 18. He slapped me and tried to force himself upon me sexually I fought back and pressed charges. It is taking me a long time to recover. This morning I uninstalled the app and deleted my account. I will not be using this app again. Looks can be deceiving. Don't use this app the other person may not be what they claim to be.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bybrnsoulsistah February 2, 2016

Very Disturbing

Very, Very, Very dangerous place for children to be. A man posing as a young girl began contacting my 11 year old. She began getting calls from an unknown number...Thank God she didn't answer them and told me someone keeps calling her. When I asked the individual on this site, "Who is this?" he responded in adult language so I began asking several questions that I know only an older person would respond to such as, "Sorry for the inconvenience..." After giving him a serious piece of mind I deleted the app which was recommended to her by her friends and we had a very serious talk again about the dangers of talking to people on line...This site is a predators paradise....Keep your child(ren) away!!!!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages