All member reviews for Kik Messenger

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 48 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byMadisonBiersack January 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Madison Biersack

I LOVE KIK <3 It's completely safe as long as you don't talk to random people. Don't listen to the other reviews, they're probably parents being overprotective. -.- I use this to talk to my friends, so much more easier than texting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeretohelp26 November 7, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

It's fine

It's a perfectly fine messaging app as long as you restrict you're children from oink text the app connected to Kik which randomly chooses Kik users for you to chat with
Kid, 12 years old February 16, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Kik Messenger

Kik Messenger is an interactive messenger that is unlimited and free. It is not at all similar to Facebook or Twitter, it is not an online social network and you choose who you want to add. Also, there is a blocking feature sutiable to block anyone who is causing the user problems, also Kik are very strict and any unacceptable behaviour can be reported to Kik. Kik website provides information about Kik and phones avaliable to download Kik on, it is not a place to access Kik. Kik can only be used on a smartphone (depending if Kik is avaliable to download from the smartphone's application store). On Kik, your details do not appear. You can create a nickname, and you don't have to upload a picture of yourself. Nonetheless, Kik is not to everyone's liking but it is worth trying Kik out. There is so caution to be taken, Kik offers related apps and one called OinkText will send alarm bells ringing, it allows Kik users to chat with total strangers, OinkText does not come with Kik, it has to be downloaded seperately to use, it can be unsafe as unknown people may cause trouble to other users.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

ff

i want a kik cause it gives u time to talk to f
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old August 16, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Brilliant, but NOT for 9 and under

Kik is great! All my friends use it and so do I. The only thing is, strong language can be used whenever, and won't have like them star things (*) unless the person putting it there decides to. Another thing is that anyone who has Kik can find you if they know your username, and they also added a new update recently where you can use stickers, but you have to buy them. Other than that, it is a fantastic app and I love itttt!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byspenguin April 29, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as you think

It's as safe as you want it to be. You can block people if the bother you. You can also block people from ever sending you a text if they are not in your contacts. Everyone else on here is being over dramatic and worrying too much.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old January 28, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Useful app, Lots of bullying!

I got this app because my friends told me to, and i just set up a account. Now we can chat more easily! It's really good, and also pretty cool if you don't have a iphone to text. You can block people, but some people from my school send really nasty messages, just block. The recent update has made it for 17+ users only, which means i can't use it anymore as my parents put a restriction. Now you can search for pictures, youtube videos, etc and now it's unsafe. Plus you have to enter your real name, but mine's fake. It used to be for all ages. Very cool though, but need internet connection of course. I would recommend this app to teens. It got banned at my school, because they got mad at me texting at night, lol. Awesome! It's free! If someone asks for your username online, do not tell them. You can be stalked and IP address hacked.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old September 26, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Seriously

Wow, people are rating this 17+/not for kids... MY 5 YEAR OLD BROTHER HAS IT!!! And well, so do I. Kik is fine. What's next, 17+ for iMessage?
Teen, 16 years old Written byperson12345 July 23, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Kik is okay if you're a good person

Like most internet stuff, kik is a way to connect with other people. There is absolutely no way to keep people from swearing on an app designed to be a copy of classic texting so parents please don't try to control it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byJohnny The Stick December 31, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Useful App Which Can be Used for Unintended Purposes

Functionally, this app works quite well. In fact, this app is nearly perfect in what it does. However, it can be put to a "bad" use. Many teens use this app for "sexting" (or sending others nude photos of themselves). This really isn't a danger unless the user gives their in-app username out to the public (which I wouldn't recommend). However, you can't blame this innocent app for what people decide to do with it. If teens aren't using this to sext, they'll find another way. So, this app is not a problem on its own. The problem is the users. Long story short, this app works perfectly well. The user just needs the judgement skills to use the app responsibly.
Teen, 14 years old Written bytuxdude143 September 2, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kik is an interesting one.

Kik the instant messaging for mobiles is good. Now thats not to say its not without flaws. The app has its fair share of privicy issues such as not being able to hide your last name or first name (Which is why I put my screen name in the name box). Also the app is a prime area of sexual harrasment and targeting. I did some research on kik and found that kik names are distributed a lot on the stranger chat site omegle. I had a look and found that a lot of people will ask for kik names if they either A. wanna keep talking or B. Wanna send something sexually explicit. Thats one of kik's other slip ups. It has no filter or chat bot or anything so anything goes. Photos can be sent that can be sexually explicit and kik will not do anything to stop it. Still, kik does its job and if its keeping in touch with friends at school or someone who you have known for a while then its fine. I HIGHLY reccomend that you use the blocking feature if someone is harrasing you though. For people who you just met, tread with caution. If you exchange kik names with someone you have just met MAKE SURE that your first name and last name is changed to something like your screen name to avoid privicy issues. Also if they ask for something explicit, BLOCK THEM. So, in summery kik is either good or bad depending on how its used. Its a great way of keeping in touch with friends but is also a way for people to bully or harras. In the end it comes down to what you would use it for. I would reccomend kik only to teenagers aged 14 or over and who are mature and have experiance with internet privicy. Otherwise tread with caution. And parents, if your teen does get kik be sure regulary talk to them about it and if anything has happened because if something does happen then you need to take action.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old May 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Kik

Kik is generally good for people simply wanting to talk to friends. As long as people don't talk to randoms it's fine... As for age the youngest is nine? But as long as people are responsible it's harmless.
Teen, 16 years old Written byalynichelle May 3, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Depends on the user..

This app can be used in various ways. Some people would use it wrong in many ways you can imagine or it can be used in replacement of texting, to keep up with friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bylexilooloo October 26, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Kik, close to Facebook sorta

It can be quite inappropriate because you never know fully who you talk to. But it can be a good chat site for friends talking to friends. Not total strangers tho, because it then can lead to bad things. Like stalking, info given away, inappropriate things said, bad pictures sent/swapped... etc
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 20, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Don't listen to the others, Kik is awesome

I know that I'm a kid but still, if you're curious about kik just read this HONEST review of kik. Kik is a great app. Lots of my friends have it, and I have never encountered any sort of inappropiate language or anything sex-related, and I have also never talked to a stranger, even though my kik username is on my Instagram bio. It's 100% safe and trustworthy as I've used it for a long time and never seen anything wrong. The only thing I would definitely recommend is too not get one of the add-on apps called "Oink Text", which puts you with a random kik user. But don't worry because it's a separate app. DON'T LISTEN TO THE PARENT REVIEWS THEY ARE BEING OVER PROTECTIVE! The only reason other people could contact you is if you told everyone on your Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, ect. your username. But as I said, I put it on IG and I have yet to meet a stranger.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bymr_post22 September 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Fun but bad

Kik has good features, like the ability to see if someone has read your message or not, all the apps that come with it, and so much more.I use Kik to message my friends who don't have a phone. But I know people who use it as a form of sexual pleasure. People will share nudes of them selves with other people who they don't even know and never talk to them again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great app...for teens.

I love Kik Messenger. I have it myself. I use it almost everyday, with no problems whatsoever. It is almost completely private, because you have to know someones username in order to chat with them. Some people have issues with it because kids tend to chat with random people and find themselves in "sticky situations." Well, as long as your child doesn't talk with total strangers, they're good to go.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHazel-Beatrice December 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Kik is really fine

Kik is really fine. I mean, of course you could find porn if you decide you're going to chat with someone that has a suggestive username, but that's not the point. Don't be overprotective. Just make sure your kid knows how to block people.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

sweeeet

Its like free texting!!! i have close friends with me or family in chats with me incase somthing goes down
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Its good, I guess

It is pretty powerful, and I just really tried it out. But, it seemed pretty safe if your child knows how to act online and stuff, but otherwise, it was pretty much imessage. I'd say you can start using kik at around 10 or 11, even though it says 16.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages