Parent reviews for Likee - Formerly LIKE Video

Common Sense says

TikTok rival with racy content, ineffectual parent controls.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 88 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 42 reviews
Adult Written byBUGBOY11 October 2, 2018

PARENTS BEWARE!!

I caught my 10 year old using this app without me knowing. When looking it over there is no regard to personal privacy at all. It is way too easy for minor kids to create an account with no agreement to user terms or conditions or privacy. All they need is a phone # to create an account and begin using. When you read the T&C you will see what I mean. You wave all your rights to you personal data and they own and control everything posted and there is nothing you can do about this. You can delete videos posted but not sure if this is kept on their servers or not. All your information is open to the general public and anyone can friend you and you cannot approve any request but only block people you don't like. I have over 5 years of mobile app and IT security audit and privacy experience for a major fortune 500 company and if using this app your taking many risks with minor children. This app can setup your child for cyber bullying issues in a heartbeat. I could find no way to request the company to delete my childs account once established. I had to delete as much as I could under my daughters account manually and I posted a video about how bad this app is and how the company does noting to control access and inforce any privacy laws. This app tricks users so you cannot review or agree to any end user privacy policy before your account is established. The video I posted has asked that this account be deleted ASAP. I will monitor and see how long it takes for this company to delete this account if they ever do. If your letting your kids use this app you better get your own account and monitor everything along with your kids or you could be in store for many surprises. You may be shocked at what you can find out there. Your kids have a right to privacy and they have no fear and are not experienced enough to know how to protect themselves but you should protect them at all costs. The cyber world of today is complicated and tricky to navigate but if you spend time looking over this app it won't take long to figure out how bad this is for our kids. I hope this review has helped some parents out there as I have many years of IT and security/privacy experience to offer in this area so take my advice and steer clear of this app with minors. There are not enough bad reviews here for this app so I was rather compelled to do my part and post a more recent review i have done to help guide parents that don't have time or expertise to know what all to look for.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byThe Netherlands April 27, 2019

Don't Let your kids use this app!!

Is a danger to the kids! There are grown up People trying to take advantage of our kids!I am disgusted!I can not delete the account of my daughter! I hope that this app will be destroyed Because it is full of Child molesters, kidnappers etc. Is on the top of the worst and unsafe apps ever been made!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEricFEast January 18, 2019

DANGER WILL ROBINSON DANGER pedophiles are a lurkin!

I appreciate the higher age of 16 by the writer of this article, but anyone, and I mean ANYONE can download anyone else's videos and reupload them to their own profile or a 2nd or 3rd profile they also operate.

I started tracking these profiles leaving comments on my stepdaughter's videos. They leave copy and pasted messages. "I wish I could do that!" ????? WTF? You wish you could do what? Because I am looking at your profile and all you do is watch and Like videos of little girls. Then you find the worst of the worst ones who upload nothing but videos of little girls.

I have seen child porn on there folks.
Straight up child porn. Usually hidden with effects, but they have the unedited versions and they can share these videos with people that direct message them and according to the comments, they do.

Should I be graphic and describe the sort of things I saw?
The developers know this is going on too.
In fact, I question whether or not the developers had this in mind.
Plausible deniability has shielded many a suspect individual.

This app is a product of Asia’s biggest live streaming APP company, i.e., BIGO LIVE, which has already crossed 200 million downloads since its launch.

I have reported the videos and profiles, as have others, but they stay up and the profiles are not suspended or banned. That is until I got some online friends to help me put more pressure on getting these videos pulled. Anonymous type friends. They are calling us "Sharks."
They will post a video with a screen shot of our profile and say "Watch out, this profile is a Shark". I think they call us this is because, for one thing, sharks are something to be wary of, but two... it also rhymes with narc.

We are spoiling their little party.
I myself don't know anything about hacking but I know a few Anon types and they each know quite a few.

The funding behind Bigo Live!
Look at the funding vs revenue between it and its competitors.
The competitors have margins that you expect to see.
But Bigo Live has had $272 million in total funding thus far with only $5.8 million a year in revenue. It's going to take them almost 45 years to make that money back.

There are only 29 employees! And I think that is combined for both Like and Bigo Live! It is like they have no intention to monitor any of this and I know they know it is a problem. But they don't seem to see it as a problem at all. They leave these videos up and don't ban or suspend the profiles. A video needs to be reported x amount of times before it gets taken down. Any suspension they do is to cover their own bums, it would seem. I have to be careful with my wording and make it not an outright accusation. I'm just saying it seems that way.

I just find it hard to believe that only 29 employees can monitor 300 million users and all their videos. The platform they created is a pedophile collectors dream video sharing platform. You would have to go Deep Web to find these sorts of things.

I warn people on Facebook and it's crickets.
They say their daughters know better and wouldn't watch such videos, or they wouldn't upload a video of themselves doing anything, and they definitely wouldn't talk to no 30-60 yr old man.

But do you think these 30-60 men are using their own pictures in their profiles?
They use profiles of tween boys that look like they do modeling.
THEN they get these girls to send them videos they think will be private.
THEN the predator uploads them to other secret profiles that these girls don't even know about.

So they can think "not my daughter" all they want, but some of those mothers are going to be wrong.
9 ot 10 might be right, but that 1... she is going to blame herself for the rest of her life because I said something and she didn't think it was possible to happen to her own daughter.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byFreddie- December 24, 2019

This app is hell on earth

It has to be taken down ....It is very unhealthy and I suspect that peodophiles have profiles on there. Please don't let your children go on it and let others know that it is unsafe ...it is real shit ...!!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byPatricia Jimenez November 27, 2019

Do not let your child get this app

Sadly, I found my child was connected with a fake friend. asking for challenges pictures and to date him. I am so disgust. My heart is broke. I thought we have a communication and I am very open to her about online danger. But, this people is all over offering kids attention and the must desired like for their videos. She become a easy pray and did not know how to stop on his pressure to continue sending rated picture. Please protect your love ones.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written by123ami123 June 4, 2021
Adult Written byDanilobb May 15, 2021

O app é bom,mas esses dia fui banido pq pensam que sou de menor,mas eu sou de maior

Adult Written byhadiya khan May 15, 2021
Adult Written byGUV March 28, 2021

5 star because they were easy to contact and deleted my little one account quick

Only giving a 5 star for the head developers were really easy to handle my situation to delete my little one account when I contacted them via emails. Just wanted proof then account was erased permanently. Parents saying they can't delete, Yes they can I know for a fact contact them and send a photo of you and your child for proof when they ask. They get down to it quick. Just please keep your little ones safe and ask them to delete like I did. I was also really scared and worried in that time period as well. Not recommended for kids though in general. Such a relief for me thank you Likee developers
Adult Written byLofuu February 26, 2021

amazing

I've seen many comments saying, my daughter got 25 followers with the hour, those are not accounts but bots, they follow you because likee wants the user to feel like they are getting popular, a sense of enjoyment, you can find out if they are bots because they will have loads of followers but no videos

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byBobby A. February 25, 2021

Warning keep your young children away from this app at all costs.

I was playing a game and an ad for this disgusting app appeared several times on me, I am a christian person trying the best of his ability to live by God's standards, I see this as an open window for pedofreaks, the images are sickening, loathsome, and flat out horrific, stay away from this garbage cesspit app.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byjinja one February 11, 2021

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySansarmaa January 23, 2021
Adult Written bymakamrohim January 15, 2021

All most ok

Everybody use it

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bycarmen garcia January 11, 2021

narelin es la niña

que quiero tu casa
Adult Written byeid othman January 2, 2021

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written bySharRae December 20, 2020

Beware of Danger!!!!!

My 9yr old was baited into downloading this app. It required no permissions and no consent and was marketed as a kids APP. I caught it within an hour and she already had 23 followers. Mostly adult males. The APP will not allow me to delete or edit the account u less I provide more information and link other social media accounts. Not sure what to do now.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bymdrobipankhor December 16, 2020
Adult Written byAyaan123 December 16, 2020

Great videos

This app is very encouraging
Adult Written byandreaA89 December 14, 2020

PARENT WARNING!! DISGUSTED

My 10 year old daughter is NOT allowed to have Tiktok because of how much bad language and inappropriate body language etc. So she found the Likee app and tells me it had "parental control" on it so of course being gullible I thought it was safe for her. She loves making videos and its fun for her and I get that. But this went on for a few days until one day I decided to check out what she's been doing to make sure she's not doing what's shes not suppose to. And to view videos from others being posted And what I came across on basically every other video was a SHOCK!! AND IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE ON PARENTAL CONTROL!! Which states " it automatically filters out all over age appropriate videos and content etc" which it CLEARLY DID NOT!! I thought i could trust when they say "parental control" and i felt safe about this at the beginning. But boy was I totally wrong!! I immediately deleted it and my daughter was upset but I'm the parent that actually cares what my 10 year old DAUGHTER sees and hears. I even asked her why would you think this is age appropriate and her response scared me even more, she says "I haven't herd any bad songs or anything since starting " that shows me that these kids are getting immuned and its becoming so normal to them that they don't even realize its bad. Kids today with phones like they are adults already and the things they are being exposed to on a daily basis is becoming the normalcy in today's world. Society has made it so normal and it really scares me. I got her a phone to get ahold of me when she needs to and to play her app games for entertainment. And of course YouTube is a big thing as well. Which I recommend YouTube kids, thats actually age appropriate like it should be. I tried finding the contact info for this company to complain and get to the bottom of this but of course couldnt find it. Im very disappointed in this app and don't recommend it to any child unless 16 and older. Maybe even 18. I cant even put it into words how finding out parental control was a JOKE and false coming from a mother. Disgusted!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages