Parent reviews for Tik Tok - including musical.ly

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 100 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 182 reviews
Adult Written byKraftster February 4, 2016

**Warning....this app contains Adult Video Content!**

I allowed my daughter to put this on her iPod, not putting nearly as much time into looking it over as I should have. I thought it was just an innocent app where you can lip-synch and make music videos. She does not have access to the Internet on her iPod, so I figured it couldn't be that bad. About a week later I took a look at what she had done, and there were some music videos that had inappropriate language in them. After watching a lot of other videos that were on there by others, the majority of them were inappropriate and had suggestive language and dancing. On top of that, I realized that even without Internet access, anybody in the community could view her videos, and she could view their's. There is a setting to set it up that only her friends could view her videos, but it still really bothered me. So now comes the really bad part… After I started exploring the app, I realize that at the bottom of the video people could put hashtags. I clicked on a hash tag, which took me to another video with a different suggestive sounding hashtag at the bottom that I clicked on, which then took me to videos that were Adult content. I am not going to get any more descriptive than this, since children have access to these reviews....but trust me, it's there, and it's bad. I can only pray that my daughter didn't get that far into it to see it!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byKitsmom February 22, 2016

Caution! Very fun but not for Tweens!

This app is so easy to use and allows the creative juices to really flow. It seemed potentially much more desirable than having the kids stare at the TV for their downtime entertainment. My kids had worked together and used our pets, stuffed animals and even we parents got in on making some pretty hilarious music videos. The BIG problem is that a lot of the available music and sound bites contain all the very adult language and innuendo you hear on the radio. So when left to her own devices, I found my 10 year old lip syncing to suggestive lyrics she didn't even understand. And dancing and gesturing the way a rock diva does- not the way I want her spending her free time. What's worse is that the rating system becomes addictive (see the reviews by the kids) She and her friends kept pushing the envelope to see how many "likes" they could get. What originally was supposed to be a private account became public for the thrill of getting the approval of strangers. Definitely started off sweet and innocent, then due to these unsavory lyrics, went down a bad path when I wasn't watching. Family decision was made to delete the app tonight amid lots of tears and even I was sad to see our cute videos go. Wish there was a version of this app for kids with say, Radio Disney pop songs and sound bites only.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDY19 February 9, 2016

Hard to Protect Kids

While this is really fun for the kids and you can have a "private" account, there is a Search Icon on the home page which opens them up to any and all adult videos. In addition, when they open the App, adult videos come up unprompted. This is not an App that parents can fully supervise. Very disappointing.
Parent of a 4, 10, and 12 year old Written byJoelT 1 March 24, 2016

ADULT CONTENT!!!

If your child searches the hashtags, they WILL find pornographic videos. It took me less than a minute after I installed the app to find it. The hashtag that brought it up was #adult

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMissy999 May 3, 2016

Report Inappropriate Use to Musical.ly

Hi - When used the way it should be (and with parents using it with the younger kids or at least within eye/earshot) this app is great for kids! I contacted musical.ly about the concerns on pornographic and other inappropriate issues raised in some of the comments below. These instances can be reported to them via email at [email protected] and / or through the app itself so the company can take action.
Adult Written byStselectric April 27, 2016

Definitely not for kids

We have young kids and their friends have this app. After being begged for it we installed on iPads. After reading reviews on here and doing a little investigating it is coming right off. Yes you can make a private profile but that only allows your child not to be seen by others without permission. It still allows them to see anything they want on there. Music.ly claims to not allow explicit or sexual content on there. They even go as do far as to say they will not allow key words like sex or the F-word to bring anything up. Well go to a search and put the first three letters fuc and see what comes up. Complete the word and its blank but just the first 3 letters brings up a whole menu if explicitness. Type in masturb and you will be disgusted as I was and see the app should be shut down for child pornography. Teenage girls and possibly younger showing everything. The proper authorities should be notified. There's also kids that can't be more than 10 years old cursing, dinging curses and singing about oral sex. At TEN!! This is absolutely disgusting and horrifying and not even appropriate for 18 year olds in my book. Do not let your child on

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byIsaderb February 9, 2016

I Like The Idea But...

This app was a genious idea. The app does not review over musical.ly's sounds so there are MANY MANY MANY SEXUAL SONGS. There is also no way to avoid the bad songs. The features are neat, and this is a great social media platform but there are many 5-8 graders who are singing about sexual things and dont realize. Also, when you join you are immediately public. No big deal right? BIG DEAL. As I had my account public I would get follows for accounts with nude profile pictures, or usernames. There is NO WAY to get the user to unfollow you unless you block them. GO PRIVATE. LOTS OF SEX LOTS OF SWEARING LOTS OF DRINKING, DRUGS, AND SMOKING.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bygriffaccord April 9, 2016

Dangerous

My 12 year old has been using about a week and showed me some cool sports related videos he made...something prompted me tonight to look a, little closer. Found that others could view and request to follow (didn't even know it was a social app). TEN "people" messaged him asking for him to "follow"... Obvious attempts to lure him to who knows what. These were professionals, without a doubt. Beware!
Parent Written byWillow Green May 15, 2016

Fun

I love this app. Okay, so, you've heard of stalkers. Guess what? On musical.ly, you can create a private account so that you get to make sure nobody bad is following you. Plus, only the people following you can watch your videos if you have a private one. There is a bit of swearing in the songs, but you can always choose a different song.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTriple2004 April 18, 2016

Mature eyes only!

My 11 year old son downloaded this app and within 2 days we made a decision to delete it. I think a kid version would be a great way for kids to be creative and sing and dance to, let's say, Disney or Kidzbop songs, but THIS version is anything goes! What we have here is unlimited access to explicit lyric songs, and tweens copying all the highly suggestive dance moves that accompany these unedited videos. Pair all this with hashtag "ratings" below each video that lead to even more explicit material, and your tween could really see some eye popping material!! I can see why this app is immensely popular amongst the tween set, because it's an easy way for them to start communicating/sharing with members of the opposite sex, but it's too hard to monitor- What's more, you can't filter the content that other kiddos are uploading- lots of bored girls and boys locked in their rooms bumping and grinding and trying all this "latest" moves to sexually charged songs. Some of these kids didn't even know what they were lip syncing- I saw a sweet girl from my son's class lip syncing about "lighting a reefer." There are privacy settings available, but the default setting is open to ALL. Too much too soon.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bymom2threekids June 6, 2016

BEWARE - Lots of Pornography on Musical.ly App used mostly by kids

I was horrified to have my 13 year old daughter show me a video she came across of a man masturbating under a dancing hashtag she searched. After clicking that persons account I saw there were hundreds of similar and worse pornographic videos of underage children, women and men including some sexual acts. I was horrified. A local new stations will be doing a news story on this and I am trying to alert as many parents as possible. It is impossible to contact anyone at a high level at musical.ly. All I got was a customer service person that said the account was taken down. When one is taken down, another pops up. I have never seen anything like it. Just look up one hashtag, for example naughty and you can see for yourself. Absolutely horrifying! This is probably the number one app out there for kids ages 9 and up. No children should ever be exposed to this. Parents are not aware!! Something needs to be done!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byAmy S. July 31, 2016

Parents beware!!!

Ok my two girls aged 7 and 9 have been using this app for a few weeks along w all of their friends at cheer. I told them that they r not allowed to publish anything! And they said they weren't. This is the only social site they have ever used and my husband and I stay away from any social media. I have had talks w them about Internet safety and "bad people" hide behind their screen names. Well I just went thru my 7 years olds iPod and there were people who liked her videos! I asked her who they were and she had no idea who they were. I went into the settings part and there was an option to turn off your location!!!! Meaning all along people can figure out where she was when making her video!!!! I read several comments here and immediately made both of them delete the app. I am going to share this site w the other moms at cheer so they can be aware of what this app is all about!!! Thanks to everyone who posted comments!!!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 and 12 year old Written byKirra R. January 9, 2017

Many of the reviews on here are outdated

I've read a lot of negative reviews on here regarding pronography so I decided to take a closer look (my 12 yr old daughter has had the app for a few weeks). I couldn't find any of the things mentioned on here with regards to easily accessing porn. One reviewer said you only needed to type in adult, masturb or fuc and porn will come up. That is not correct. It may have been the case in the past but it isn't now. In fact despite spending an hour looking for porn I have not seen any. I decided to write this review as an update for parents looking at these other reviews and thinking they need to immediately run off and delete the app. Yes there are songs with bad language and yes if you don't set your account to private strangers will see your videos but don't believe what you read about the easily accessible porn. If it's there I haven't been able to find it.
Parent Written byRhiannon1985 May 23, 2016

Sex, drugs, elementary kids

A lot of elementary age kids lip sinking sexual songs, dancing inappropriately. Gross to watch these little kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bySarah H. August 20, 2016

Musical.ly review

I think musical.ly is a great app for kids to lip sync to their favourite songs and look at their friends musical.lys. My child puts their account on private so only people that she lets follow her can look at her account I honestly love this app as long as her account is private I'm ok. I check her account often to check and if there are any songs with swear words in it there usually blurred out otherwise I make sure she doesn't do a musical.ly do that song. I love this app I think it should be 10+.
Adult Written bynoneofurbusiness.m8 June 26, 2016

Do not allow your children to have this nasty app

This app is filled with very few positives and mostly negatives. For starters your children should not have phones if they are 12 or younger let alone an Ipod with extreme freedom that social media provides. These children will be subjected to extremely inappropriate content at such a young age that it will de-sensitize them and they will think its okay. For instance just look up the name Jacob Satorius and if you are a level headed parent who is seeking the best interest for your child there is no way in the world you will let them get this app. The cons far out way the pros with this app and it is dangerous to subject your children to extremely foul language and dancing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byFaithlynn2016 July 16, 2016
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybellem August 3, 2016

Cool Concept for an App - Content Completely Inappropriate for Kids

The concept of the app really is very cool, and if you are using it along WITH your child and can control the content of the videos they create and the videos they watch, as well as make the account private, it's probably fine. I have seen plenty of parents share cute and silly Music.lys their kids have made. Unfortunately, there aren't any restrictions on access to songs and sound clips about drugs, sex, violence, drinking, etc. It is also possible to have a public account, allowing the whole world to see whatever videos are made. If your child makes a video that isn't appropriate, there is not currently an easy way to delete the account. I was directed by an autoresponse email to send an email to yet another account specifically for privacy issues related to children under 13 after I discovered my 10-year-old had an account against our wishes. So far, nothing. Hopefully they respond quickly. In the meantime all I could do was make her account private, but her personal information, including location tracking, has been out there this whole time. She has also clearly seen a huge number of other very sexy videos, cruel videos bashing others, and inappropriate videos about drugs and alcohol from other people ranging from kids to adults.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMomHero September 2, 2016

Musical.ly Out The Mom Way: A Guide to all the Basics and how you can Control your Kids; Part 1; The Basics

Musical.y is a very confusing app. I would know because when my 11 year old boy wanted to dowload it, I thought it would be easy to control and use. But boy I was wrong. So, today, I am going to be talking about the basics of musical.y. First of all, you can get the app on your Classic Apple Devices, (iPhone, IPad,IPod) and whatever other brand that has access to the Internet and the Google Play Store. But you can't dowload it like you normally do. There's a special website that has a link to the real IPhone version because if you search it up on the App Store, several versions will come up that look alike. You can get that website from people you know that have musical.ly. (My son found this website from one of his friends.) Once you get to the website, just link on the correct link (Apple Store OR Google Play Store) and it'll be dowloading afterward. (This app takes up almost a gigabyte) Once you fully dowloaded the app, click on it and there it will give a small slideshow of photos, These photos don't give you much details about musical.ly but they do let you get a picture on who he might be following or what his musical.ly might look and sound like. Once you get to the end of this, click the sign up button if it's your first time or sign in button if already have an account created. (For this tutorial, let's just pretend we pressed the sign up button) Once you press that button, it will take you to a page that wants you create a Muser Name and a password. A "Muser Name" is like a Username and how everyone else sees your name. You have to be really creative with this.
Parent Written byantalinar May 15, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages