Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 128 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 209 reviews
Parent Written byantalinar May 15, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJen P. August 24, 2016

Great app!

Personally I think this is a great fun easy to use app for kids and teens. My 12 year old daughter has it and loves. Yes there are many songs with inappropriate lyrics but if your child is mature and knows what to watch out for they should be fine. Also you can make your account private. My daughter has a private account so only her friends can see her videos. Overall I would say just check your child's profile every now and then to check on the songs they are lip syncing to and listening to.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byAnn H. December 29, 2016

Musical.ly Rating With An Actual Concern.

I have read parental reviews regarding this app. I am appalled over the minor concerns voiced while the actual red flags are left to the wind. I cannot flip a commercial radio station in the car without hearing every single song offered in this app. Therefore, the "explicit suggestive material" is a moot point because our children hear it and see it every day. And if a parent is so strict that they can prevent their child from listening to even the radio, it does not matter because we even hear the garbage in tv commercials. The songs are not the problem. Any minor's expression of these songs are not the problem. And those parents who focus on these issues as problems will only experience a life of secrecy and rebellion with their children through their childhood. THE REAL PROBLEM AND ACTUAL RED FLAG are the hidden pedophiles. My 9 year old daughter received a message from "chester0000" with a sexual exploitive. Because I am a mother who does not focus on controlling my children, my daughter IMMEDIATELY came to me and showed me. This user "chester0000" had 1 video with at least 5 minor boys expressing violent acts with an undertone of inappropriate sexuality. Now, there is an option to block the user and to report the user's abuse. However, we are only given 140 characters to explain the abuse. Congress is finally creating a Bill of Rights for sexual assault survivors. How can a parent explain what the abuse is with only 140 letters?!!! Well, I did my best and I posted on my daughter's main page that it is supervised by me. This may or may not deter other pedophiles, but at least I taught my daughter the true meaning of appropriate and inappropriate. I am posting this review in hopes that parents will prioritize their concerns so when mothers like me turn to sources like this for answers, red flags are are discussed and appropriate initiative is taken.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byshelli b. November 21, 2016

I'm amazed

what I don't understand is,,,when you sign up for the app, it plainly asks HOW OLD YOU ARE.....AND PARENTS LET THERE KIDS GET THIS APP...now what concerns me is if you say that you are under 13 , it won't let you have the app. my 11 years old comes home from school wanting it, and we go through the same old spill...questions. ..how old do you have to be? she knows that if she has to LIE about it, then she can't have it. PLEASE someone tell me how all her classmates (most) have this app. Do parents really tell their kids "it's ok to lie about your age? I just really can't believe that our society has gotten to the place where we allow our children to tell a lie to get something they want. IF IT SAYS YOU HAVE TO BE 18, THEN SHE WILL HAVE TO WAIT TILL SHE IS 18
Parent of a 14 year old Written byBarbra T. February 3, 2017

FRAUDELENT BILLING PRACTICES

PARENTS BEWARE. SOMEONE IN THIS COMPANY MAY OVERCHARGED YOUR CREDIT CARD. THEY HIT MY CARD ,22 TIMES INSTEAD OF 2!!!!!. CONSEQUENTLY MY ACCT WAS CHARGED OVER $500. MY PAYCHECK WAS TAKEN BY OVERDRAFT FEES. IT'S A SIN AND A SHAME THERE IS NO PHONE NUMBER LISTED FOR YOU TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE. ONKY EMAIL ADDRESSES. WATCH YOUR ACCOUNT SO YOU DON'T GET YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY STOLEN FROM YOU. I WILL BE CONTACTING THE POLICE FRAUD UNIT IF SOMEONE DOESN'T REFUND ALL MY MONEY TO ME MINUS THE COUPLE OF BUCKS I OWE. I AM DONE WITH MUSICALLY I WILL SPREAD THE WORD TO EVERT PARENT I KNOW AS WELL AS TO THE NEWS MEDIA. SHAME ON YOU MUSICALLY...PORNOGRAPHY N KIDS DON'T MIX PARENT'S BEWARE!!!!!!!!!
Parent of an infant, 10, and 12 year old Written byDanielle F. February 7, 2017

Be cautious of targeting

My 12 year old daughter loves this app but it fostered an unhealthy desire to 'get likes'. I never saw and objectionable content in the app. She was able to follow friends from school but also had the control to switch her account to public so she could get more likes. This lead to more exposure to people we didn't know and she was targeted by a stranger to share her contact information. I won't get into the details but she was victimized and it resulted in a police investigation. Please be ware of the potential vulnerability if your kids are using this app. It provides a perfect platform for trolling.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bym g. December 29, 2016

It became a teen sex site.

A predators dream place! Nothing more than a undercover sex site. Keep your kids off of this site! It's horrible!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 6, 11, and 13 year old Written bySKUDGY July 23, 2016

Beware of X-Rated Content!!

This app seemed really fun. The kids loved making their own videos. I didn't like the fact that you can upload them for all to see, but I didn't allow the kids to do that anyway. However, as I sat browsing through the app myself and watching other videos, I came across very sexually inappropriate content! I had no idea!! I'm just grateful I was browsing alone, without the kids watching over my shoulder. Now, I must admit, I don't know if there are any settings in which you may be able to block your kids from watching the videos of others... I deleted the app immediately, I was so shocked. I did click on 'report the video', however, it was not immediately removed, just marked as 'being looked into', so there is the opportunity for these types of things to be up for quite a while. Really, though it's kind of fun, it's really not worth it for the risk it carries. If your kids really want it, my recommendation would be to help them make lip-syncing videos of themselves, with you holding the camera, and definitely do NOT let them watch videos of others - not even over your shoulder as you never know what will come up!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byToni J. September 23, 2016
Parent Written byHeather A. September 15, 2016

Disgusted

My 12 year old daughter who has been on musical.ly for some,time. Tonight she has searched the Leaderboard for top viewing and discovered there was a 'muser' that had pornographic Images. It was images that were confusing and confronting even for me as a adult to view. I M so disgusted that this can happen on a App that is promoted towards young people.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byMonica B. December 22, 2016

Mature content. Not appropriate for kids!

My daughter was using this app on her phone. At first it seemed harmless, like a fun app for her and her friends to play on. Looking further into it, I read reviews about mature content, so I explored the app further. There is a lot of explicit language and sexually suggestive material. Definitely not something I want my daughter exposing herself to on a regualr basis. On top of that it is extremely easy to get to pornographic material through the hashtags. I understand you can report this, but if my daughter has already seen it, it's too late and reporting after the fact does no good. Also, we found out that you can't delete the account! They don't have that feature yet. The best you can do is make everything private and delete the app. The best thing to do is not even get it in the first place!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRaye N. December 9, 2016

DANGEROUS FOR KIDS UNDER 16

My niece who is 11 has been using this app - as her step mum thought it would be safe for her daughter and my niece to use. When my brother found out that they could be seen and heard by other people he had a look on their account and discovered that two older men were "following" them or however it works. My niece also disclosed to him that the men had asked my niece to take off her clothes. A number of reasons this app is a danger to young kids is it allows people to gather information about your children, (from school uniforms or things in the background). Technology makes it more difficult for parents to protect their kids, so if you're allowing them to use apps like this make sure you are monitoring what they are doing! There have also been reports on their being pornographic content as well.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byCarl C. November 14, 2016

Beware - Privacy settings do not always work!!!

My daughter has an account, we set it up with her to ensure only agreed friend could view her videos. We monitored who she followed & who was accepted as a friend. Then a friends mum advised that our daughters account was open to anyone & we should turn on the privacy settings , I was shocked I knew we had turned them on from the setup. So I signed in to her account & yes there they were all selected. Next I setup an account & searched for her & yes just as our friend had said her account was available for anyone , all videos could be watched, she could be privatley messaged & followed by anyone. We chatted to her about it she wasnt happy either with this & all agreed to close the account. A quick google found I couldn't close her account, so next best thing I deleted all videos, personal details followers, following & changed her username, on saving the profile it looked good. I own a co. that tests app's so I didnt leave it there. I signed out & went back into my own account & searched for my daughters account again & yes I did find it in tact with all videos, personal details etc... literally everything. I searched for the new account name & also found this which had no info accept the comments from her friends which were also on the old account. So now my daughter has 2 live accounts. I signed back into her account but I can now only access the new one it has setup & am unable to access the original one which has still got here info & videos on it & is available to all. I have contacted Musical.ly via email allegedly a guy called Ronnie, I've had no explanation of what is happening, they have tried to delete both accounts but the original account is still available to anyone that was following the account. I have pointed this out so lets see if they fix it . Please Please Please check your children's privacy settings with a separate account!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGreg C. October 13, 2016

Pay attention...

I decided to reward my approaching-tween-years daughter with a smartphone over the summer. She immediately asked me if she could download Musical.ly, as many of her classmates had this. I didn't see an issue with it at first while we were familiarizing ourselves with it...but quickly realized the inappropriate songs and lyrics that can be accessed. Not to mention the user content! Soon enough, I noticed the first thing she'd do upon waking up in the morning is log onto this and carry on frequently until bedtime. I feel that as parents, we cannot attack this app because it's up to us to monitor our children's usage of the internet and such. But in my opinion, the borderline to child exploitation territory is crossed once you let a child under 18 use this. I'd be mortified if my daughters as teens, were posting material such as the ones I've seen from teenage girls on this app. Parents, beware.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byRosemary A. September 4, 2016

Just be aware

My 9 year old granddaughter downloaded this app, unbeknown to her Dad, she uploaded a clip of herself and got some very unwelcome responses. The app is now deleted! I'd want to keep an eye on it, even for 16 year olds, it can be an unsafe world.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byJennifer L. August 27, 2016

Not for kids

I thought the app was okay until I realized my 10 year old stepdaughter is fans and had fans much older and that she doesn't know. In one household she is allowed to post videos with cleavage or her bra hanging out of too small clothing. At 10, this is not appropriate because you can never know who's a pedophile or not. And the saddest part is she puts this app before her basic needs of food, water, and hygeine. Children should not use this app because it acclimates them to an unrealistic sense of acceptance and attention. A vast majority of the songs have sexual content, drug/alcohol content, among other things that a child just doesn't know the meaning of. Unless a parent is keeping tabs on the child's activities, it should be left for teens.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byZania M. July 8, 2017
When you child install this App everything is open in Setings and open to all People! It can be very late when you descover it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byGMCCAC June 7, 2017

NOT for young kids or Tweens!

Recently, my daughter (11) begged for this App. I decided it seemed innocent enough, boy was I wrong. At first, her and her friends made cute little innocent videos. I liked that I could control that her account was private and what friend requests we accepted. Within 6 months this went bad fast! I randomly looked at videos that her friends were making, no longer so innocent, lots of pro active dancing, sexual innuendos and even one girl singing about "sticking it in her mouth". I was shocked. The problem is you can't control the content that they see from users who have public accounts, you also can't control the song choices which contain inappropriate lyrics for such young kids to view and then lip sync too. When I looked at my own daughters account I found she has literally over 100 videos. Clearly, not a good use of time. I found Musically to be addicting, contain ADULT content that you can't filter and another social media app that allowed we'd kids to be mean to one another. Making fun of videos made, leaving other kids out of the videos etc... Dont make the mistake I made, just take a look at the trending videos that anyone can open and you will see the content.
Adult Written byMelissa J. June 1, 2017

Terrible

I saw my own child lip syncing to a song that says "hell" and "idiot" in it. Those are words that can not be said at anytime! She is not allowed to sing to any songs that are featured. I made the account private and she can only sing songs like the theme song to MAYBE the thundermans. Only kids bop and songs with no words.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byM M. April 26, 2017

Not as bad as I thought!!

Ok so my 11 year old has been bugging me for this app, all her friends have it. So I started reading the parent reviews and immediately said NO WAY. Adult material, adults posing as kids etc etc, why would I put my child at risk!! It was not until I read a review on the kids side that said I wish my parents would download it and see for themselves, which I thought was a very valid point, so I did. I created an account, made sure location service was off and made it a private account, I did not add a picture and did not give my real name just a username. You can post music to your own account or post it publically. I then down loaded it on daughter's phone. I got her to search for me and she tried to message me from her phone but as mine was a private acc It would not let her contact me as a non friend, which was good. When we became friends on the account, she could view what I posted to my own account but it would not let her share it either on musical.ly or instagram as it was a private acc. Anyone can ask you to be their friend, you get an accept or decline option. Obviously if you post anything publically anyone can comment or share. I have a sensible 11 year old so the rule is she can post to her account not publically, she can only friend those she definitely knows are her friends. The profile stays private. In regards to the music, yes there are songs with swearing, but there are plenty of songs that are not. Yes she may listen to them to check and she will hear swearing but she knows not to sing to those. In regard to the #, some people say if you keep clicking on hashtags you will eventually get to some adult content. I tried and unless doing something wrong I could not find anything!!! So the rule again is not to go clicking around which again she is not bothered about. We talk openly about internet security, grooming etc etc so she will talk to me if any issues, hence why I think this is appropriate for age 10 presuming they are savvy with internet usage.

Pages