Parent reviews for Tik Tok - including musical.ly

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 103 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 186 reviews
Parent Written byJennifer L. August 27, 2016

Not for kids

I thought the app was okay until I realized my 10 year old stepdaughter is fans and had fans much older and that she doesn't know. In one household she is allowed to post videos with cleavage or her bra hanging out of too small clothing. At 10, this is not appropriate because you can never know who's a pedophile or not. And the saddest part is she puts this app before her basic needs of food, water, and hygeine. Children should not use this app because it acclimates them to an unrealistic sense of acceptance and attention. A vast majority of the songs have sexual content, drug/alcohol content, among other things that a child just doesn't know the meaning of. Unless a parent is keeping tabs on the child's activities, it should be left for teens.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bymailiw December 8, 2017

Warning! Do not use this app!

My best friend has this app and she is completely addicted. She is never herself and she is always telling me that I should get it. I did download it, but I noticed that I wasn't as happy when I was using it, seeing as it has things I should not see. Everyone in my ward has it, and they all are very popular. But if that's what it takes to be cool, I don't want to be.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byGMCCAC June 7, 2017

NOT for young kids or Tweens!

Recently, my daughter (11) begged for this App. I decided it seemed innocent enough, boy was I wrong. At first, her and her friends made cute little innocent videos. I liked that I could control that her account was private and what friend requests we accepted. Within 6 months this went bad fast! I randomly looked at videos that her friends were making, no longer so innocent, lots of pro active dancing, sexual innuendos and even one girl singing about "sticking it in her mouth". I was shocked. The problem is you can't control the content that they see from users who have public accounts, you also can't control the song choices which contain inappropriate lyrics for such young kids to view and then lip sync too. When I looked at my own daughters account I found she has literally over 100 videos. Clearly, not a good use of time. I found Musically to be addicting, contain ADULT content that you can't filter and another social media app that allowed we'd kids to be mean to one another. Making fun of videos made, leaving other kids out of the videos etc... Dont make the mistake I made, just take a look at the trending videos that anyone can open and you will see the content.
Grandparent of a 13 year old Written byJudy B. June 3, 2017

Customer service

I think this site is fun for the kids, but I think that they should monitor closely what they are allowing g children to post. The videos should be viewed by your staff before it goes live. Come on folks these are children and they do stupid things sometimes that they do not know can harm them. If the video is in approbation you should not allow it to go live. I think it is ridiculous that there is no way to get in touch with someone about a video and emails are not snswered. This site needs to be more parent oriented. Protect these children please.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMelissa J. June 1, 2017

Terrible

I saw my own child lip syncing to a song that says "hell" and "idiot" in it. Those are words that can not be said at anytime! She is not allowed to sing to any songs that are featured. I made the account private and she can only sing songs like the theme song to MAYBE the thundermans. Only kids bop and songs with no words.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMilena V. April 9, 2017
Adult Written byelisad1 March 15, 2017
Adult Written bySm R. January 6, 2017

ADULTS MUST READ DONT READ OTHER BULL

In this app you can lip sync and post videos as well as view others videos. Other parents say there is bad words, racist language, or inappropriate videos or words. So bad and racist words welp they are gonna hear it somewhere and I have heard harsh language since I was born. Now nudity and innapropriate stuff: Music.ly does a good job on deleting innapropriate posts and if your child finds one its because they searched it any popular posts that come on ur feed will not be innapropriate but may have lauguage. I think if you don't allow your child to download this app YOU are too strict or you don't trust your children. There is swearing but if you don't let your children get this app because it's a "bad influence" you are a "bad parent" and shaping them how you want them to be if they know there is bad launguage and they still want it let them. You should'nt choose if your childs religion or who they are dont shape them. "Let children mold themselves, an adult isn't needed to sculpt children."

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent Written byBeachyMum July 18, 2017

Poor Privacy Precautions / Porn / Refusal to Delete Account

Poor Privacy Precautions : The App is clearly more concerned with keeping their VC's happy w/high user numbers than they are protecting youth. I've reported multiple videos that remain, weeks later. Porn : Plenty of breasts, bottoms and genitalia shots. Be forewarned. Refusal to Delete Account : I've sent two requests already for a teen's account to be deleted. These have been ignored. The next request will be 'old school ' - certified mail, return receipt to the company, investors and the FCC.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 5, 10, and 15 year old Written byGina D April 9, 2017

Good but be CAREFUL

Ok this is a wonderful app. My 16 year old and 10 year old use it all the time, making cute videos. I don't have a musical.ly myslef but like snapchat i checked it out. some sexy stuff and dat but my kids are smart. -Make sure it's private! Love ADoglover5 xxxx

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKaren B March 5, 2017

Great for tweeens

My 11 year old and 13 year old both have this app and I think it is awesome! I manage both of their accounts and I have never seen any of those hashtags. Maybe in the update musically block users from searching things like "#sex or #adult because I looked up every single hashtag I could and didn't find anything pornograhic. Maybe an occasional teenage girl wearing a shirt that shows her stomach, but it's not like your kids have ever seen a girl with a crop top before! But I would recomend this app for more mature kids that aren't going to use songs with swears or dress differently than they usually do, because then you'll have a problem. But when i talked to my kids about getting Musically they said "why would i even WANT to see that". Also their is i private setting wear the user only allows who they want to view their content. The only thing i hesitated about when installing this app was the swearing in the songs, but they're plenty without the language

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byEfrain F. December 30, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bytanner j. November 20, 2016

good to do when bored

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMichael C. March 24, 2017

Musically Review

I have no reservations about this application Musical.ly My daughter uses this app. You have to point out that you have to take care of what's available in this app. I saw a service where you can get free Musically followers, fans and likes. Http://michael-cashman.eu

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Uncle Written bysanti r. January 27, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byDuncan K. July 3, 2017

The idea/concept is good, the attention to security is a flaw

My daughter first showed me this application. At first glimpse wow. this is great considering her interest in music, and making some changes to make a song somewhat her own, though I can't find myself ever agreeing to make somebody else's artwork your own because you painted a moon in the picture, which is besides point, this is what it is.... She was enjoying herself making friends, doing duets etc, only to get invited to a live show by some pervert who thought she might better prefer a masturbation scene. Luckily my daughter being the person she is, comes to her parents with things out of the ordinary duet, considering it was some middle aged fella, obviously deprived of something in his adolescence, like parents with common sense demonstrating things you would normally find on an adult site... Fine, she is 12, but what started as something that she could use to demonstrate her talents, and associate herself with other people with the same or similar goals all over the world is something I would have definitely enjoyed myself at her age, has been shaken by some crazy/deranged less than human excrement with half a brain cell, who gets his rocks off with teens, or pre teens, or what ever the case may be. anybody else out there with the know how of creating something like this, let me know. I'll be security. when you're at helm of something like this, tracing the trash back to their routes, isn't a problem. At my daughter's age in my hay day... I was playing lead guitar, and filling the role of lead vocalist, until I opened my eyes and found myself in the living room with headphones on... So much more available, only to be ruined by some sicko, that I can't have my way with because they apparently have rights???? Disappointing really, as previously suggested this idea is good, it started off as a really good intention I'm sure, only to be ruined a couple single brain celled individuals.... whom I would enjoy exposing to those where common sense isn't as elusive as what you may think...
Adult Written byMarla S. January 25, 2017
I think its so good for kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byShopkins1230 November 30, 2016

musical.ly

Love it! Got it after I made funny musical.lys on a friend's account!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCrickette August 26, 2018

Upset

Got kicked out of account after hours of drafted videos with my pets and cant get back in so upset.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byEmma R. May 27, 2017

Parent supervision needed for under 16's

I have used it and love it but have concerns with children under 16 using it without supervision. I explored musical.ly to check it out for my children who wanted to join as friends were using the app. Parents need to be aware of privacy settings. I was able to see my child's friends who had private pages but had sung duets with unprivate friends. Lots of children are posting while wearing their school uniform too. If your child is under 16 and you can't check their postings and their use of the social aspect of this app, if they are not aware of internet safety practices, then I would be concerned but otherwise it is such a fun app.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety

Pages