Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 128 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 209 reviews
Parent of a 3, 7, 9, 10, and 11 year old Written byFrancisco A. January 10, 2017

Not appropriate for younger than 15!!!

First off, I truly believed that this was a harmless app that would inspire my child creative side. And i honestly thought it was pretty genius. Not only does this app has hashtags that link up to not g-rated profiles or videos. If you don't set that account to private, everyone can contact you or comment on your videos. Even those who are older than your daughter. I was very very upset that I allowed my daughter to use this app, and come find out she was dating someone on there that was 15 years old. My daughter is only 11 years old. The messages they have sent back and forth were about love and loving one another. I don't have a problem what so ever with my daughter dating, BUT dating someone over social media is NOT SAFE and NOT okay with me. Call me old fashioned but I rather have a person dating my daughter I can meet in person and get to know better. Cant do that if they are dating through social media. My daughter doesn't have a social media app besides this one, I was giving her a chance to enjoy that kind of this and I failed. I dropped my guard. THIS APP NEEDS TO HAVE BETTER SETTINGS, like only allowing certain aged children on that app. Or maybe only allowing certain content to be viewed according to their age. Not just be open to the public.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 1, 7, 11, 17, and 17 year old Written byBill C. April 11, 2017

MY CHILD HAS NO LIFE NOW

I thought it was a inocent app but when i s2w my childs musiclys i was shocked it was highly inporoprite he spends to much itme on it. IT has b3d kaguange and too much s#xy movements.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bymailiw December 8, 2017

Warning! Do not use this app!

My best friend has this app and she is completely addicted. She is never herself and she is always telling me that I should get it. I did download it, but I noticed that I wasn't as happy when I was using it, seeing as it has things I should not see. Everyone in my ward has it, and they all are very popular. But if that's what it takes to be cool, I don't want to be.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byBeachyMum July 18, 2017

Poor Privacy Precautions / Porn / Refusal to Delete Account

Poor Privacy Precautions : The App is clearly more concerned with keeping their VC's happy w/high user numbers than they are protecting youth. I've reported multiple videos that remain, weeks later. Porn : Plenty of breasts, bottoms and genitalia shots. Be forewarned. Refusal to Delete Account : I've sent two requests already for a teen's account to be deleted. These have been ignored. The next request will be 'old school ' - certified mail, return receipt to the company, investors and the FCC.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byHonors123 October 28, 2018

Not appropriate for kids

My daughter (11 years old) used musics.ly and I monitored her content with few issues. After a small period of not checking in I just logged into her Tic Toc account and was shocked at what I saw. So many clips with swearing, references to drug use and inappropriate sexual references. I didn’t realize there were so many opportunities for chatting with strangers either. She has also changed her account ocoubt from private to public. We had a serious conversation about internet safety and our expectations of her and have deactivated her account and blocked her from re-downloading the app. Completely inappropriate content for children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySm R. January 6, 2017

ADULTS MUST READ DONT READ OTHER BULL

In this app you can lip sync and post videos as well as view others videos. Other parents say there is bad words, racist language, or inappropriate videos or words. So bad and racist words welp they are gonna hear it somewhere and I have heard harsh language since I was born. Now nudity and innapropriate stuff: Music.ly does a good job on deleting innapropriate posts and if your child finds one its because they searched it any popular posts that come on ur feed will not be innapropriate but may have lauguage. I think if you don't allow your child to download this app YOU are too strict or you don't trust your children. There is swearing but if you don't let your children get this app because it's a "bad influence" you are a "bad parent" and shaping them how you want them to be if they know there is bad launguage and they still want it let them. You should'nt choose if your childs religion or who they are dont shape them. "Let children mold themselves, an adult isn't needed to sculpt children."

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byCathy W. August 29, 2016

Musical.ly

I think that musical.ly is OK for a 12 year old (that's responsible) and up. There are some inappropriate songs and musicals on musical.ly but as far for the inappropriate videos, the Musical.ly team is very good and efficient at removing them. There are privacy settings to turn your account private so people can request to follow you like Instagram. As for location based service there is a clearly stated switch to turn them off. I think musical.ly is a really creative place to show your imagination with your friends and to be yourself.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byMilena V. April 9, 2017
Adult Written byelisad1 March 15, 2017
Parent Written bysanti r. January 27, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of an infant and 8 year old Written byParennt1234 July 3, 2018

Its fun, but adults only!!

My daughter and niece have been using this app for a while and I just watched a video about how its inappropriate and regretting not researching sooner. Boys acting out sex moves, licking between their fingers, girls dancing in underwear barely covering anything. Very disturbing. And the music isn't bleeped, very sexual lyrics, its ridiculous because I thought this was a kid friendly app!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bytanner j. November 20, 2016

good to do when bored

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bysampanda0108 August 25, 2018
Adult Written byAndres G. April 23, 2018

Let kids to musiclly

i think you should let kids do musiclly

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 3, 7, and 13 year old Written byjillianh2 March 23, 2018

Disturbing and Addicting

I don’t not recommend this app for anyone under 18. It started out as a fun sharing app, but turned into a child pornography platform. My 13 year old wanted it so I put it in my phone to explore it. A few days later, I came across a hashtag. #ThiccAndWaitingForYou. I placed restrictions in her phone and let her use the app with a private account. Thinking the restrictions wouldn’t let her hear the rap music. My 9 1/2 year old son cam home from school humming a song. While he was in the shower, he SANG the song, which I later found out was Gucci Gang by Lil Pump. MY 3gear old son was saying the words “I f*** a bi*** I forgot her name. Innocent, but disturbing. Don’t let your children get this.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJack W. January 6, 2018

ITS NOT AS BAD AS PEOPLE SAY

Its not as bad as people say its a fun lip sinking app

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byKaren B March 5, 2017

Great for tweeens

My 11 year old and 13 year old both have this app and I think it is awesome! I manage both of their accounts and I have never seen any of those hashtags. Maybe in the update musically block users from searching things like "#sex or #adult because I looked up every single hashtag I could and didn't find anything pornograhic. Maybe an occasional teenage girl wearing a shirt that shows her stomach, but it's not like your kids have ever seen a girl with a crop top before! But I would recomend this app for more mature kids that aren't going to use songs with swears or dress differently than they usually do, because then you'll have a problem. But when i talked to my kids about getting Musically they said "why would i even WANT to see that". Also their is i private setting wear the user only allows who they want to view their content. The only thing i hesitated about when installing this app was the swearing in the songs, but they're plenty without the language

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byWatchdog 1964 December 2, 2018

Parents Beware! Kids Beware

This app is very dangerous for the fact that there are many child predators there. Trust and believe! No brainer! Look at the comments. The girls as well are painting themselves up, wearing skimpy clothes to almost no clothes. Not one to judge, but my daughter will not look like a 25 yo club ho. Better keep tabs on this site parents. Seriously, I see grown men commenting on videos. Dangerous
Adult Written byMinecraftMom444 October 18, 2018

TikTok destroyed my child's brain! (And my marriage)

This horrible app turned my 16 year old sons brain to MUSH! After he got the app, he stayed in his room for days on end, making those highly unchristian videos. He has started disrespecting both me and his father saying "H*eck you!" and "I don't need you! I have TikTok". At first, his father and I thought that a game called 'Fork Knife' was the culprit, we where mistaken... Please do not let your child be manipulated like mine! Heed my warning!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byFaith L. March 31, 2018

Great, but somewhat inappropriate

This is somewhat inappropriate, but it's okay if you monitor. I mean, "bad words" as kids call them nowadays, are heard all the time on the radio. I mean, at the age of five, your kid probably knows them all. The real thing you have to watch out for, as someone said above is the stalkers/predators. But that's simple. PUT THE ACCOUNT ON PRIVATE. When it's on private, you can monitor who watches the videos, follows your child, and who messages them. What if they say they want everyone to be able to view their videos? You can just monitor who follows them. Now, there's a "followers" button that you can click and see who's followed you. You can also check messages and see who's been messaging you. At least watch your kid over their shoulder, and if something you don't want them seeing comes up, just get them away from it. My child likes the series "Warrior Cats", "Survivor Dogs", and "Seeker Bears", so she makes videos of them. Apparently, their called "edits". Most of the time, it's okay as long as you watch for language. These are children's series so for the most part, other people doing these are children. The only bad thing I have come to notice, is that some people make edits with "bad words" in them. Then, as I've said, almost every child knows them at an extremely young age. She never shows images of herself, as her fans are all watching for her normal videos, and she says videos of herself aren't interesting anyway. For the most part, I think my child is in a safe-zone.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages