Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 115 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 199 reviews
Adult Written byRaye N. December 9, 2016

DANGEROUS FOR KIDS UNDER 16

My niece who is 11 has been using this app - as her step mum thought it would be safe for her daughter and my niece to use. When my brother found out that they could be seen and heard by other people he had a look on their account and discovered that two older men were "following" them or however it works. My niece also disclosed to him that the men had asked my niece to take off her clothes. A number of reasons this app is a danger to young kids is it allows people to gather information about your children, (from school uniforms or things in the background). Technology makes it more difficult for parents to protect their kids, so if you're allowing them to use apps like this make sure you are monitoring what they are doing! There have also been reports on their being pornographic content as well.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byCarl C. November 14, 2016

Beware - Privacy settings do not always work!!!

My daughter has an account, we set it up with her to ensure only agreed friend could view her videos. We monitored who she followed & who was accepted as a friend. Then a friends mum advised that our daughters account was open to anyone & we should turn on the privacy settings , I was shocked I knew we had turned them on from the setup. So I signed in to her account & yes there they were all selected. Next I setup an account & searched for her & yes just as our friend had said her account was available for anyone , all videos could be watched, she could be privatley messaged & followed by anyone. We chatted to her about it she wasnt happy either with this & all agreed to close the account. A quick google found I couldn't close her account, so next best thing I deleted all videos, personal details followers, following & changed her username, on saving the profile it looked good. I own a co. that tests app's so I didnt leave it there. I signed out & went back into my own account & searched for my daughters account again & yes I did find it in tact with all videos, personal details etc... literally everything. I searched for the new account name & also found this which had no info accept the comments from her friends which were also on the old account. So now my daughter has 2 live accounts. I signed back into her account but I can now only access the new one it has setup & am unable to access the original one which has still got here info & videos on it & is available to all. I have contacted Musical.ly via email allegedly a guy called Ronnie, I've had no explanation of what is happening, they have tried to delete both accounts but the original account is still available to anyone that was following the account. I have pointed this out so lets see if they fix it . Please Please Please check your children's privacy settings with a separate account!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCathy W. August 29, 2016

Musical.ly

I think that musical.ly is OK for a 12 year old (that's responsible) and up. There are some inappropriate songs and musicals on musical.ly but as far for the inappropriate videos, the Musical.ly team is very good and efficient at removing them. There are privacy settings to turn your account private so people can request to follow you like Instagram. As for location based service there is a clearly stated switch to turn them off. I think musical.ly is a really creative place to show your imagination with your friends and to be yourself.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bymailiw December 8, 2017

Warning! Do not use this app!

My best friend has this app and she is completely addicted. She is never herself and she is always telling me that I should get it. I did download it, but I noticed that I wasn't as happy when I was using it, seeing as it has things I should not see. Everyone in my ward has it, and they all are very popular. But if that's what it takes to be cool, I don't want to be.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byBeachyMum July 18, 2017

Poor Privacy Precautions / Porn / Refusal to Delete Account

Poor Privacy Precautions : The App is clearly more concerned with keeping their VC's happy w/high user numbers than they are protecting youth. I've reported multiple videos that remain, weeks later. Porn : Plenty of breasts, bottoms and genitalia shots. Be forewarned. Refusal to Delete Account : I've sent two requests already for a teen's account to be deleted. These have been ignored. The next request will be 'old school ' - certified mail, return receipt to the company, investors and the FCC.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byelisad1 March 15, 2017
Adult Written bySm R. January 6, 2017

ADULTS MUST READ DONT READ OTHER BULL

In this app you can lip sync and post videos as well as view others videos. Other parents say there is bad words, racist language, or inappropriate videos or words. So bad and racist words welp they are gonna hear it somewhere and I have heard harsh language since I was born. Now nudity and innapropriate stuff: Music.ly does a good job on deleting innapropriate posts and if your child finds one its because they searched it any popular posts that come on ur feed will not be innapropriate but may have lauguage. I think if you don't allow your child to download this app YOU are too strict or you don't trust your children. There is swearing but if you don't let your children get this app because it's a "bad influence" you are a "bad parent" and shaping them how you want them to be if they know there is bad launguage and they still want it let them. You should'nt choose if your childs religion or who they are dont shape them. "Let children mold themselves, an adult isn't needed to sculpt children."

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byMilena V. April 9, 2017
Parent of a 5, 10, and 15 year old Written byGina D April 9, 2017

Good but be CAREFUL

Ok this is a wonderful app. My 16 year old and 10 year old use it all the time, making cute videos. I don't have a musical.ly myslef but like snapchat i checked it out. some sexy stuff and dat but my kids are smart. -Make sure it's private! Love ADoglover5 xxxx

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Grandparent of a 13 year old Written byJudy B. June 3, 2017

Customer service

I think this site is fun for the kids, but I think that they should monitor closely what they are allowing g children to post. The videos should be viewed by your staff before it goes live. Come on folks these are children and they do stupid things sometimes that they do not know can harm them. If the video is in approbation you should not allow it to go live. I think it is ridiculous that there is no way to get in touch with someone about a video and emails are not snswered. This site needs to be more parent oriented. Protect these children please.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKaren B March 5, 2017

Great for tweeens

My 11 year old and 13 year old both have this app and I think it is awesome! I manage both of their accounts and I have never seen any of those hashtags. Maybe in the update musically block users from searching things like "#sex or #adult because I looked up every single hashtag I could and didn't find anything pornograhic. Maybe an occasional teenage girl wearing a shirt that shows her stomach, but it's not like your kids have ever seen a girl with a crop top before! But I would recomend this app for more mature kids that aren't going to use songs with swears or dress differently than they usually do, because then you'll have a problem. But when i talked to my kids about getting Musically they said "why would i even WANT to see that". Also their is i private setting wear the user only allows who they want to view their content. The only thing i hesitated about when installing this app was the swearing in the songs, but they're plenty without the language

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byEfrain F. December 30, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bytanner j. November 20, 2016

good to do when bored

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byCarmella O. May 27, 2017

Good for the brain.

This app is great for teens only. Believe it or not 43% of 4-18 year olds have ADHD. This is a lot of teens and children. This app involves motion. My 16 year old son and my 14 year old daughter have musical.ly and they both have ADHD. I was shocked to see how movement stimulated their brains. For any parent who has a child or teen with ADHD I would recomend this app. Just don't let them use it too much because it can get addicting. I would recommend it to teens 14-18.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byMichael C. March 24, 2017

Musically Review

I have no reservations about this application Musical.ly My daughter uses this app. You have to point out that you have to take care of what's available in this app. I saw a service where you can get free Musically followers, fans and likes. Http://michael-cashman.eu

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Uncle Written bysanti r. January 27, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKris R February 27, 2018

Very inappropriate content

I thought this was a fun app for my 10 year old. I made it private, only allowed her friends, friended her with my own account, and instructed her to only watch her friends’ videos. I thought I covered all safety issues. However, Musically does not allow you to control what pops up in your newsfeed, and every time I opened the app it would show a random person’s video, with no control over age appropriate parameters. More damaging is the fact it is very easy to click on a link at the bottom of a video and move into highly inappropriate and addictive material, some times involving innocent children. Tragically, I discovered a year after the fact, that this was my now 11 year old’s path to a secret addiction. So devastating that this child’s innocence has forever been marred, stolen by Musically’s inability to set parameters for a kid friendly audience. It’s complete lack of regard for our youth, not only the exploits in the videos but for those watching, should be criminal. I vehemently recommend against Musically!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 4, 12, and 14 year old Written byB H. July 29, 2017

Eh

It's not the worst. To all those super concerned parents, yes there are some videos with suggestive dancing and language, but what do you expect? We're living in an era where over-sexualization has become a norm, and so has explicit culture. I would rather my 12-year-old not be immersed in it constantly, but she WILL come across it. Music.ally is actually giving her less exposure to the horrors of the world than simply walking down the street or popping downstairs during an adult party. Compared to other social medias, this is probably the most innocent. As for the value of the app, worthless. This is a stupid, meaningless way to spend time, and I regret even giving it to my daughter for that reason only. She is wasting her time and her mind.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byMarla S. January 25, 2017
I think its so good for kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byShopkins1230 November 30, 2016

musical.ly

Love it! Got it after I made funny musical.lys on a friend's account!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety

Pages