Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 130 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 211 reviews
Adult Written byMotatakubum November 4, 2018

The most toxic and offensive app on the planet.

This app was shown to me by one of my friends, and now I can say I have seen the true face of evil in society. Many of these memes include: -Making fun of a starving woman of indian or middle eastern descent by eating food in a duet and making faces, as well as using a sign to say smug things. -Telling other people to kill themselves over duet -Making fun of LGBTQ and racially stereotyping and hating. -Insensitive commenting through signs, things like 'Dunked on' or 'die' I will admit there are some genuinely funny things on here, but most of the people on here are merely here to make fun of and hate on people, which is not okay.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJUSTIN ARFIN August 14, 2018
Parent of a 11 year old Written byAvery N. April 8, 2018

Lets be real...

It depends on your kid. If your kid is mature and understands how to be safe on social media, and not to do anything crazy that people do online, its ok. Because girls are typically more mature, you could probably be ok with letting them on at 11. I let my daughter on at 10 but it really depends on if your kid is ready for it. Make sure they dont hit any hashtags though... if they hit ones like #adult they could run into you know what... Lastly, if you hate swearing, dont even think about getting the app

This title contains:

Language
Parent Written byFaith L. March 31, 2018

Great, but somewhat inappropriate

This is somewhat inappropriate, but it's okay if you monitor. I mean, "bad words" as kids call them nowadays, are heard all the time on the radio. I mean, at the age of five, your kid probably knows them all. The real thing you have to watch out for, as someone said above is the stalkers/predators. But that's simple. PUT THE ACCOUNT ON PRIVATE. When it's on private, you can monitor who watches the videos, follows your child, and who messages them. What if they say they want everyone to be able to view their videos? You can just monitor who follows them. Now, there's a "followers" button that you can click and see who's followed you. You can also check messages and see who's been messaging you. At least watch your kid over their shoulder, and if something you don't want them seeing comes up, just get them away from it. My child likes the series "Warrior Cats", "Survivor Dogs", and "Seeker Bears", so she makes videos of them. Apparently, their called "edits". Most of the time, it's okay as long as you watch for language. These are children's series so for the most part, other people doing these are children. The only bad thing I have come to notice, is that some people make edits with "bad words" in them. Then, as I've said, almost every child knows them at an extremely young age. She never shows images of herself, as her fans are all watching for her normal videos, and she says videos of herself aren't interesting anyway. For the most part, I think my child is in a safe-zone.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMolly M. March 19, 2018

Definitely not for kids

My 10 yo begged me to put the app on my phone, as she had already accessed it at my mother-in-law's, who claimed it was wonderful for kids. I agreed, but made her have a private setting, and insisted that she only friend kids her own age who she was friends with in real life (school, dance, etc.). She was also required to access the app *when I was in the room.* Occasionally I would hear a stray bad word or phrase I didn't like, and would insist she change songs immediately. Then the suggestive moves (lip-licking, gyrating, etc.) started. We talked about why those moves weren't appropriate, and she was confused because she learned them from other Musical.lys made by children her own age. Recently, videos she made on the app have been used as a source of bullying by other kids. She was hysterical and physically ill with shame. We made the decision we should have made at the outset and made her delete the app. It's so much fun, and such a good idea in theory, (and yes, everyone her age IS on it), but there are NO restrictions. Disgusting and offensive songs are easily searchable, pornography exists, and the age restriction of 13+ seems far too low (and obviously not really intended to be used, as Musical.ly merchandise and clothing is marketed to kids at stores like Target). Glad we decided to get rid of it once and for all. Now to convince my mother-in-law...

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 year old Written byElleLovesAnime 1. March 16, 2018

DO NOT let your children download this garbage

So my 11 year old had this app for a few weeks without telling me, and I saw it on her phone one day. At first I was thinking it wasn’t that bad, because she was following popular kid- friendly people. Then, as I looked for a while, I saw some people she were following that were swearing and things like that. I told her to unfollow those people, and I made her account private. Then, a few weeks later, saw that I had some money charged to my credit card, and she said no. So then when I got home that night, I checked to see if she was right, and it turns out she lied and had bought coins and started lip- syncing songs with VERY bad words in them! She is now grounded for 2 months for spending $208 on coins and she said that it said all you have to do is watch an ad to get coins and she there was no “are you sure” or anything like that. Please let you’re kids stay healthy and don’t let them get this app
Adult Written byKris R February 27, 2018

Very inappropriate content

I thought this was a fun app for my 10 year old. I made it private, only allowed her friends, friended her with my own account, and instructed her to only watch her friends’ videos. I thought I covered all safety issues. However, Musically does not allow you to control what pops up in your newsfeed, and every time I opened the app it would show a random person’s video, with no control over age appropriate parameters. More damaging is the fact it is very easy to click on a link at the bottom of a video and move into highly inappropriate and addictive material, some times involving innocent children. Tragically, I discovered a year after the fact, that this was my now 11 year old’s path to a secret addiction. So devastating that this child’s innocence has forever been marred, stolen by Musically’s inability to set parameters for a kid friendly audience. It’s complete lack of regard for our youth, not only the exploits in the videos but for those watching, should be criminal. I vehemently recommend against Musically!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGeena S. December 26, 2017

Are kids even allowed to access Musically?

I'm a former muser of over a year and recently in 2017 a few things happened that was highly inappropriate and disappointing. 1. There was a fellow celebrity *not saying names* that posts videos in clothes that are not suitable to the viewers if they are under 18. 2. i was harassed relentlessly by a former friend and her sister i reported it to the guidelines when it happened. and it took the site 9 MONTHS to finally do something about it. the filters are buggy as all hell. doing transitions with filters became a chore instead of something creative and fun. Kids are getting the wrong idea that u have to dress in a inappropriate matter in order to be valued for likes. Some songs use words like B**** P****y mofo and on occasions the N word. 3 is unnesssacary consumer stuff. U have to pay a median range of around $22-$23 dollars to buy coins so the yougins can go LIVE and stream gaming. Totally not worth your money. The most problematic issue with musically is over a course of almost a year of being a muser people quit musically. Yes you heard right. Quit musically. They ran out of ideas. Ever since the #DontJudgeABookByItsCoverChallenge they went downhill. One teen girl put toxins in her mouth*shampoo* some girls cut their hair with sisscors and most drank a tube of lipgloss so not OK. Some users stated that the main reason some kids quit is because of bullying while the rest got bored and left. There was one instance where musically deleted accounts where some people were accused of absolutely nothing. in a few videos i saw a few musers smoking and using pot *underage* which i find completely disheartening. I care about the future of our generation and what they listen too. Musically's time is nearly up at this point.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byanonymousanonymous August 7, 2017

NOT FOR YOUNG KIDS!!

PARENTS BEWARE! This app is not for kids under 14. I allowed my two grandkids ages 7 & 9 to download and use this app. As I began to monitor them, I found very much wrong. First, they have access to the entire internet because of the search bar on the home screen. Then, some videos made by kids their same age, are in bedrooms with no parents around and making inappropriate videos on beds, in beds. They hashtag vids which kids can access inappropriate content. Lots of sexually explicit music lyrics, and girls sticking their tongues between two fingers (meaning to "eat out"), which they have no idea what they are doing. One song called "molly purple sticks" (means to give head to a guy), they are singing these words and don't know what they mean. Many girls of all ages, even adults, are singing and dancing in lude outfits, and in sexually suggestive ways. Adults are friending kids and spamming them with commercials with inappropriate content. Also they can message any of their friends, and give out personal and private info. They have access to your facebook and email accounts as well. Once you open the account, there is no way to delete it, so musically has access to your email and phone number. No one on this site monitors any content either. Although you can set your account to private, it does no good. You have to make sure your devices location setting is off, and like I said, they have access to 'talking to strangers' due to message feature with their friends. I just think its dangerous, and Im sorry I allowed them on it, and potentially to things they shouldnt have seen, heard, or participated in. All I can do is warn others. I took all their videos off, changed their names, and profile photo, deleted every message, friend, follows, and fans. Deleted the app altogether. This is a great idea, however. If someone could create this kind of thing for young kids, and have moderators, and even volunteer moderators (something other sites have like 'Storybird', which I have been a volunteer at), that would work. My grand-kids love to sing, and it really does allow them the creativity, and the freedom to see if they really are interested in singing and dancing. Plus it gives experience making videos and all the computer technology as well. THIS APP HOWEVER, IS WAY WRONG FOR YOUNG KIDS. BEWARE! Its really sad to see how many parents dont monitor what their kids are doing on here, and many are young like my grand-kids. It easy to see that they have made video after video after video, of age inappropriate content, that obviously parents are unaware, or just dont care. Watch who your kids are friends with; you can block profiles.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 4, 7, 9, and 12 year old Written byJemma L. July 26, 2017

JumpyJemma - Musical.ly

Musical.ly is a great app for kids who KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING. Kids over 12 should be using this app as there have been multiple privacy concerns, there is slightly sexual songs, and many 'famous musers' swear while lipsyncing. Overall, my 2 eldest have this app and I am OK with it. This app is fine. People have also said if you search #adult rude & sexual things come up. This is simply not true. I have spent over 5 hours looking for sexual content but I never found any. Rating: ••••• Kid Safe Rating: •••

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 10 year old Written byDuncan K. July 3, 2017

The idea/concept is good, the attention to security is a flaw

My daughter first showed me this application. At first glimpse wow. this is great considering her interest in music, and making some changes to make a song somewhat her own, though I can't find myself ever agreeing to make somebody else's artwork your own because you painted a moon in the picture, which is besides point, this is what it is.... She was enjoying herself making friends, doing duets etc, only to get invited to a live show by some pervert who thought she might better prefer a masturbation scene. Luckily my daughter being the person she is, comes to her parents with things out of the ordinary duet, considering it was some middle aged fella, obviously deprived of something in his adolescence, like parents with common sense demonstrating things you would normally find on an adult site... Fine, she is 12, but what started as something that she could use to demonstrate her talents, and associate herself with other people with the same or similar goals all over the world is something I would have definitely enjoyed myself at her age, has been shaken by some crazy/deranged less than human excrement with half a brain cell, who gets his rocks off with teens, or pre teens, or what ever the case may be. anybody else out there with the know how of creating something like this, let me know. I'll be security. when you're at helm of something like this, tracing the trash back to their routes, isn't a problem. At my daughter's age in my hay day... I was playing lead guitar, and filling the role of lead vocalist, until I opened my eyes and found myself in the living room with headphones on... So much more available, only to be ruined by some sicko, that I can't have my way with because they apparently have rights???? Disappointing really, as previously suggested this idea is good, it started off as a really good intention I'm sure, only to be ruined a couple single brain celled individuals.... whom I would enjoy exposing to those where common sense isn't as elusive as what you may think...
Parent of a 13 year old Written byJudy B. June 3, 2017

Customer service

I think this site is fun for the kids, but I think that they should monitor closely what they are allowing g children to post. The videos should be viewed by your staff before it goes live. Come on folks these are children and they do stupid things sometimes that they do not know can harm them. If the video is in approbation you should not allow it to go live. I think it is ridiculous that there is no way to get in touch with someone about a video and emails are not snswered. This site needs to be more parent oriented. Protect these children please.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byEmma R. May 27, 2017

Parent supervision needed for under 16's

I have used it and love it but have concerns with children under 16 using it without supervision. I explored musical.ly to check it out for my children who wanted to join as friends were using the app. Parents need to be aware of privacy settings. I was able to see my child's friends who had private pages but had sung duets with unprivate friends. Lots of children are posting while wearing their school uniform too. If your child is under 16 and you can't check their postings and their use of the social aspect of this app, if they are not aware of internet safety practices, then I would be concerned but otherwise it is such a fun app.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byCarmella O. May 27, 2017

Good for the brain.

This app is great for teens only. Believe it or not 43% of 4-18 year olds have ADHD. This is a lot of teens and children. This app involves motion. My 16 year old son and my 14 year old daughter have musical.ly and they both have ADHD. I was shocked to see how movement stimulated their brains. For any parent who has a child or teen with ADHD I would recomend this app. Just don't let them use it too much because it can get addicting. I would recommend it to teens 14-18.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Parent of a 5, 10, and 15 year old Written byGina D April 9, 2017

Good but be CAREFUL

Ok this is a wonderful app. My 16 year old and 10 year old use it all the time, making cute videos. I don't have a musical.ly myslef but like snapchat i checked it out. some sexy stuff and dat but my kids are smart. -Make sure it's private! Love ADoglover5 xxxx

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMarla S. January 25, 2017
I think its so good for kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byEfrain F. December 30, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byShopkins1230 November 30, 2016

musical.ly

Love it! Got it after I made funny musical.lys on a friend's account!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byomgitsolivia October 14, 2018

for kids

My 9 year old daughter has this and she loves it. It is hard to find bad stuff on it without searching for it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byJakey404 October 14, 2018

Some Advice

I would like to point out that some of these negative posts aren't completely accurate. I feel like no one has taken the time to look over the actual guidelines for this app. I can attest to there being somethings that might be a bit much for some people. But, let me also point out. In the guidelines 1. It says do not let anyone under the age of 13 use this app. So, theres the first of some of you guys problems. 2. If you actually took the time to look through the setting of the app. There is a thing called "Digital Wellbeing" that not only limits how much time is spent on the app. But, also limits certain content for those not mature enough to handle the real world. That is all.

Pages