Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 128 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 209 reviews
Adult Written byBlackRainbow151 August 25, 2018

I like this app a lot, but....

I love this app and I am personally a consistent creator on the app. However, I am 21 and I post cosplay and reenactments on my page. A lot of my videos get flagged, and removed because I am an adult who happens to swear and vape. I don't think that little kids being 12 and under should be on this app because it is really frustrating that the older creators have to "cater" to the younglings of the app. It is an epidemic on the app because a lot of the more popular cos-players who put hours into getting their makeup and costumes on have their videos removed for FAKE blood and FAKE weapons... Other than that, it's an amazing community. If you don't want your kid to be subjected to adult themes, keep them off of this app. Rap music and booty popping are all over on Tik Tok.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJUSTIN ARFIN August 14, 2018
Adult Written byE.A. August 4, 2018

For kids who can handle some graphic violence.

There is some graphic violence in some videos. I also advise your other child who uses this app to put everything on private even comments turned off on every video. Only allow friends they know to follow them on the private profile and also advise them not to search up anything that is adult. Only minimal graphic violence allowed. If its just a rave mask in the video nothing else it would be ok. It is pretty good of an app to have fun with. Also do not let the followers share your videos. And don't make the profile public. Don't let them donate money to the musical.ly streams. (they are money grabs) and just make the child stay away from adult and violent videos on there. (the too much consumerism is because of the money grabbing streams)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Adult Written byLawyermom April 10, 2018

Mature 10 year olds

I think this app is really fun and creative. You can make a ton of creative videos and then post it to show your friends. You should definitely be careful about who you follow and who is following you. There is a feature on Musically that can make your account private. With a private account, only the people that you accepted the follow requests to can see, like, and comment on your musicallys. This app is really great and I would really recommend it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 year old Written byAvery N. April 8, 2018

Lets be real...

It depends on your kid. If your kid is mature and understands how to be safe on social media, and not to do anything crazy that people do online, its ok. Because girls are typically more mature, you could probably be ok with letting them on at 11. I let my daughter on at 10 but it really depends on if your kid is ready for it. Make sure they dont hit any hashtags though... if they hit ones like #adult they could run into you know what... Lastly, if you hate swearing, dont even think about getting the app

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 4, 12, and 14 year old Written byB H. July 29, 2017

Eh

It's not the worst. To all those super concerned parents, yes there are some videos with suggestive dancing and language, but what do you expect? We're living in an era where over-sexualization has become a norm, and so has explicit culture. I would rather my 12-year-old not be immersed in it constantly, but she WILL come across it. Music.ally is actually giving her less exposure to the horrors of the world than simply walking down the street or popping downstairs during an adult party. Compared to other social medias, this is probably the most innocent. As for the value of the app, worthless. This is a stupid, meaningless way to spend time, and I regret even giving it to my daughter for that reason only. She is wasting her time and her mind.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byMichael C. March 24, 2017

Musically Review

I have no reservations about this application Musical.ly My daughter uses this app. You have to point out that you have to take care of what's available in this app. I saw a service where you can get free Musically followers, fans and likes. Http://michael-cashman.eu

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byMinecraftGamerB... November 10, 2018

THIS APP IS SATANIC AND NOT FOR THE CHRISTIAN KIDDOS!!!!!!

MY 12 YEAR OLD SONS BRAIN WAS VAPORIZED AFTER USING THIS HORRID APP AND MAKING INAPPROPRIATE VIDEOS WITH A MINECRAFT MASK ON.... NOW HE CALLS ME A HECK AND A FRICK!!! (this review is obviously a joke and i want to make it clear that tik tok/musacly is not bad unless you look and search for the bad things your kids arent being exposed they are just looking at things they already know. most of the videos on the site are generally harmless teens pretending to have a war of gamers vs furies and thats just them being funny and its satire.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLaurFolkert September 15, 2018

Responsible child

I have checked tik Tok because I monitor my child every two weeks and I also have it . I haven't seen any porn yet but if things get worse I will ask my kids to stop using it , I guess it just depends how much you trust your child. when my daughter asked me I downloaded the app and I didn't see any thing bad, so I let her get it. I just hope these kids on this app make good choices . But one kids should look out for is the swearing I hope she doest not use this language though. And if your child gets this I would suggest getting it to or even have them have an account on your phone. the profanity depends on who there looking up also my daughter knows she can only look up people I know and she knows I would approve of .

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written bythescaredshadow September 2, 2018

You'll be on an FBI watchlist if you download this app.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byMossberry October 25, 2018

Depreesing

It's not worth it. There are alot of people who like to bully other users and I find it very depressing. The creators won't do anything to help out the people getting bullied. People have committed suicide from the bullying and it needs to stop now. Parents do not let your kids get this app.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byAriana S. May 27, 2017

Good for teens and children with ADHD

My daughter was diagnosed with ADHD at a young age. She has a hard time focusing and she gets edgy easily. When I allowed her to download Musical.ly, I found out that she was a lot calmer than before. As I watched her use it I realized the movement involved was stimulating her brain. I would recommend it to teens with ADHD. The one thing that happened was she would move more when she heard a song she would do hand motions to stimulate her brain. As long as my teenage daughter is calm and has movement she will be the happy teen that she is.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bynotictok October 21, 2018

mother whip hard slapping a kid? thats' funny?

Tik Tok's brilliant introduction to their app is just a horrible abusive 5 second shot of a woman (photo shopped...but the effect is the same, because it is supposed to be funny) very hard, whip slapping a young child. It is horrendous. very NOT funny or clever, etc....terrible modeling. I don't care what their app is about. Don't let them join. the kids, that is....jay harms.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byGatten August 29, 2018

FRAUD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SCAM!!!!!!!!!!

We tried to purchase the credits, and despite the fact that they charged me the credits never showed up in my daughter's account. REMOVE THIS APP from your child's device! I have sent multiple messages and complaints and no response from the company. Completely fraudulent entity. If I could give ZERO stars, I would.
Adult Written byCrickette August 26, 2018

Upset

Got kicked out of account after hours of drafted videos with my pets and cant get back in so upset.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byZoey P. February 14, 2018

Just report inappropriate things

If anyone sees things that are inappropriate to children, you’re supposed to report it, also you should be teaching kids not to be looking at these things and keep their accounts private, and crumbly check accounts if you have an issue. But to be honest it’s anyone’s decision so if you don’t want children on this app just don’t let them use it.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byconcerned mother2019 January 21, 2019

Upset and frustrated

My daughter is 10 she downloaded this app it looks harmless but I seen her dancing sexuall cussing and acting like she was an adult, 169 followers mostly men. Please do not let your little babies on this site.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBuckslot January 17, 2019

Wow unreal

I do not know how the creators of this app are not under arrest! It is chalk full of creeps and half dressed children! Dancing around like full grown strippers beware parents beware! OMG I feel like the creators should be in jail!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 year old Written byALIROSE July 11, 2018

NOT FOR KIDS

It is easy to assume this is a cute site for kids, but it isn't. Please read this article before you let your kids get this app https://www.waituntil8th.org/blog/2018/3/9/porn-is-not-the-worst-thing-o...

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byNellie A. March 24, 2018

Fun!!

Musically is awesome. I do musically every day. It’s fun to lip sync to music and learn tricks with the videos. You can meet some awesome people on there, but...there are some accounts that are bad. Musically try’s their hardest to get rid of them and they do pretty good, but obviously it’s pretty hard to do that. But if the age limit is 12+ (the real age limit is 13+) then the musers will be mature.

Pages