Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 156 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 245 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byflor flor January 5, 2018

good

its great

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byvkgirl December 21, 2017

Very Good if used properly

I got this app when I was 10 and my mom deleted it. It is amazing for letting creativity flow- I'm a choreographer so it lets me do whatever I want. I would let kids who are over 11 and responsible use this app. Some songs have language but if you make the best choices you're not going to find anything inappropriate.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2017

Very Good App For Kids.

I think that musical.ly is a great app for children. If your child is under 13, you can create a private account and then you can decide who can see your musical.lys. But, if you aren't over 13, and if you don't have a private account, there are scammers that can see your musical.lys and they say that "you can get free followers by going to this website!" (Such as musicallyfree.com.) Also, some songs contain swear words, so I would only recommend this if your child is mature enough. There is very little sexual content, but if you search deep enough, then you can see sexual content.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old December 16, 2017

Absolutely Fine :)

Musical.ly is absolutely fine! I got it in June and I was obsessed with it for a month or so and now I generally go on it now and again. Some parents say it's the most inappropriate thing ever - it's not. I have not once seen any the proactive or stuff like that at all! If you're worried about that don't be. And the closet thing to 'badness' is in some songs - rarely there is swearing. if you're concerned about privacy, my parents were as well. They let me get in under the circumstances: My account was private (So only people I accepted could look at my musical.lys), I showed them my musical.lys before I posted them, and I would only accept people I knew in real life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2017

Most of the reviews here are outdated

I have been begging my parents for a musical.y account since last year and they said yes! THey said there doing a research to see how the app works they told me some songs had swear words in them and they said they had to check my account to see what i was doing and had to make the account private.well i had it for a year and its amazing. If you think its a stupid app well try it! Trust me this app has no porn and inappropriate things.it has some cuss words in the songs but very light! If u have a responsible kid thats means let them have it! Trust me it will be okay if u have a responsible kid !

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byyungjae December 2, 2017

jae

its great not bad at all for any age its hard to find bad things in this app not that theres anything bad

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old December 2, 2017

Watch out for inappropriate things!!

This app is ok and pretty average I just think it's a bit too open so I would recommend having a private account. You can run into some inappropriate language in songs so you have to be careful about it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunter44 November 27, 2017
Kid, 11 years old November 19, 2017

Eh. Boring and super cringe sometimes.

I used to make Musical.lys, that is, until I smacked some sense into myself. It’s so stupid, and the only reason that I still have the app is to like my friends Musical.lys. Skip this one.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old October 23, 2017

Age 10: Let Me Tell You The Pros and Cons

As a ten yr. old, Many kids in my school have this app called Musical.ly. Musical.ly is an online social networking app where you can lip sync to songs.
PRIVACY CONCERNS:
Yes privacy may be a concern, Personally I just let me friends watch my musical.ly's. If you are age 13 or below, Stick to keeping your account Private (Set in Settings), If 14 or above, I guess if you are responsible enough it would be fine, Keep in mind that if your account is not private anyone in the world can see it
OPINIONS:
Musical.ly is basically like youtube or any other social networking but a little less revealing with info. It really just depends if you are responsible using it! May be a bit laggy but that's not the biggest issue. If you are less than 13, I reccomend not to be "too" revealing with info.
ADULT STUFF?:
By so far everything i've seen is fine except for clothing (Revealing clothes, Crop tops and ect.)
Hope This Helped!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byspicyramennoodles October 19, 2017
All kids 12 and younger should not be able to follow or look at the musicallys of anyone they don’t know. They also need to put their account on private settings.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2017

Well... bad and good.

Musical.ly is a good app, where your child can make music videos. However, there is some inappropriate content, including sexual stuff, swearing, and privacy issues. You can just get your kid a private account, which, by the way, I don't think helps.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old October 7, 2017

Very Good

I think that musical.ly is really fun and creative, because you get to meet new friends and show your talents, but you should also be careful for the sex and swearing in videos. Other than that, I think it is awesome, and I never had any problems so far.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old October 3, 2017

A good app, if your child is responsible.

This app is fun, but it isn't for young children. It has some sexual content, though this isn't really too bad, I think the worst concern is children sharing personal information. There is, however, a setting that allows you to have a private account, which will make it so that only people you approve can see your videos. This app also contains profanity, so it isn't appropriate for young kids. However, this can be a good app for teens, and some 12 year olds if they are responsible and know what content to avoid. However, this is not a good app for any age younger than that. Also, this app can be addicting.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrianna B. September 29, 2017

PRIVACY ISSUES

Ok, parents, listen up. This app has serious issues. While in privacy settings, it's fine, but without those settings, THIS APP SUCKS,(excuse my language). My best friend got this app and we were messing around with it, but she keeps it in private settings. DO NOT GET THIS APP.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old September 27, 2017

Use caution

so basically its a fine app, but you have to make sure that as a kid that you are only making lip syncs to lyrics you understand, are not inappropriate, and that your parent(s) would approve of. have fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old September 17, 2017

Review Of Musical.ly

I downloaded this app when I was 10 and it's totally safe for kids 10+. You should have a private account and don't lip sync to inappropriate songs. Don't do any songs that like have super bad words in it. Note to parents: this app is pretty addicting. But if you follow the steps that I mentioned, your child will be safe.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byLeen M. September 17, 2017

It's fine

Of course there are songs that are inappropriate (depending on your child's age) but if you trust your kid, you should have no problem with this app. Your kid should know what audios not to use and what people not to follow. If you are worried about predators, make your child's account private. Only allowing friends to be able to see their musical.lys. People think everything is childproof. For ffs, they've probably heard worse curse words at school. Stop overreacting and being overprotective. I would be bored to death if I had parents like some of the people in these reviews.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old September 12, 2017

Pointless, stupid, useless

It's stupid. All you do is lip-synch. It requires no musical talent. So sick of watching my friends wave their phone around like idiot while mouthing along to something. They even edit. Don't let your child near this thing. Seems to be addicting. What's it gonna look like on their future job applications? Resumé: Musical.ly-er? (muser. Some people actually do this full-time...)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byMhsrhvid September 4, 2017

Amazing

It perfectly fine no sex the language is not the best but what do you expect!

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages